We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
229
143
31
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
143
31
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding underfloor heating donkey cart log cabin tennis courts swiss village bowling green table tennis squash court away from the road hiking trails swimming pool beautiful surroundings peace and tranquility family holiday cango caves hot water
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our visit to South Africa.
Loved the huge grounds and the many activities on offer. I even played bowls on the well looked after bowling green for the first time in my life! The setting for this hotel was beautiful and was within easy reach of Mossel Bay which we visited on the one morning. Loved the bell ringing for Morning coffee, afternoon tea and dinner. We thought that the hotel was a throwback to the 50's/60's, but in a nice way. Our room in Rose Court ( although not the most luxurious of our vacation ) was clean and perfectly adequate for our stay, with tea, coffee, normal toiletries and a safe provided. Parking was free and there were plenty of amenities to keep you occupied. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The food at both breakfast and dinner was very tasty.
If I had to pick on one thing it would be the sandy residue left in the bath after we had showered. It hadn't come from us and was a bit concerning. Didn't have the problem of a wait for hot water as some reviewers have stated, ours was almost immediate.
All in all we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lesley999Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

We appreciate the fact that you decided to stay with us on your South African visit and that you took the time to review us. Thank you for the kind words and expressing your honest opinion. Your review perfectly describes our offering and we are pleased that you found everything to your liking. Our water does come from a spring on the property and is filtered. There is no reason for a sandy residue but I will certainly investigate the matter. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We returned to stay at this lovely hotel after four years and found it as wonderful as ever. We stayed in cabin 4 with views to die for!
The cabins are wonderfully equipped and furnished and have large comfortable beds.
The pool area is excellent....sparklingly clean pool, plenty of sun beds and we spent a lovely afternoon enjoying the sunshine, before an early evening stroll down to the dam.
The staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you....always smiling and we recognised many from our previous stay.
The breakfast and dinners were excellent and served with grace. We love this hotel...tradition at its very best! Please don't change...we shall be returning...thank you.

Room Tip: The cabins have the best views of the mountains
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for again staying with us and for your positive review. We pride ourselves on being a traditional Country Inn and it is encouraging to hear that everything was to the guests satisfaction and that they appreciated our offering. We will endevour to continue on this basis and trust that your next visit will be soon and as pleasant as this stay.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Stayed here for one night after leaving Cape Town. Had asked to stay near Mossel Bay, which this isn't.
Beautiful location up in the hills. If you love horses, then you won't be disappointed.
Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Pool area wasn't up to standard. The pool looked very uninviting. The water was green!
The restaurant was like going back in time. It was stated in the directory in the room that men should wear long trousers, which my husband did, but nobody else bothered.
Food was adequate. I had a chicken curry, but the chicken was very over cooked.
The hotel was very quiet and lacked any atmosphere. None of the guests talked to each other and we were the only ones in the bar.
If you want a very quiet location then this is for you.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bj_webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are situated 35 km from Mossel Bay at the foot of the Robinson Pass. As there was stormy weather the night before your arrival the pool may well had a green tinge to it as it does sometimes happen and we apologise for that. I am however somewhat surprised that you found the pool area to be uninviting as we have just completed a pool renovation with a new fiberglass lining with new loungers and cushions. As a traditional hotel our restaurant still uses crisp white tablecloths and napkins and genuine silver cutlery and we do ask all gentleman to wear at least long trousers to dinner. Although most guests comply there are unfortunately some that do not. Our chicken curry is normally a popular dish but accept that it may not appeal to everyone's taste. On the night of the guests visit there were ten other rooms occupied and it is surprising that he considered it to be quiet. We cannot prescribe to guests to mingle with other or visit our pub and apologise that client found this to be a problem. Let us hope their next experience will be more satisfying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Stopped for tea and cake. Very disappointed that the choice of cake advertised was not available; we were only notified some time after we had placed our order.

The gardens are spacious and the venue seems to be a working farm.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kuzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thank you for stopping for tea and cake at Eight Bells. I understand your disappointment that your choice of cake was not available after it was ordered and apologise for this oversight. I have now left strict instructions with all our waiters to ensure that they are always aware of what is available and to remove the items not available from the display board. Thank you again and hopefully your choice will be available when next you decide to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Based on earlier reviews here on Tripadvisor we decided not to stay in Mossel Bay, but to tavel some more miles north to Eight Bells Mountain Inn, And how happy we are for this decision -- a wonderful place in a great mountain landscape. Very nice rooms, excellent food, a safe dirt road for running, tennis court, pool, hiking tacks... you name it. It had almost everything you can ask for. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anders N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

We thank you for deciding to rather come to us in the mountains than staying in town and are pleased to hear that you were happy with our offering. We always try our best and appreciate this type of feedback. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews