We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
229
143
31
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
143
31
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding underfloor heating donkey cart log cabin tennis courts swiss village bowling green table tennis squash court away from the road hiking trails swimming pool beautiful surroundings peace and tranquility family holiday cango caves hot water
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay over. Very friendly staff. Service with a smile. Very orientated towards families with children. The mountain walks although not well posted are enjoyable to do. Relaxing atmosphere. From a food perspective their roasts were great but any meals with chicken were rather disappointing and not all on offer on their menu was available. Having said that will I go back ? Most definitely.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank billyvanzyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

All reviews are appreciated and we wish to thank you for your positive response. We will certainly check on the signage of our walking trails and thank you for highlighting it. Our chickens are sourced from a nearby farm applying free range principals and having had great praise in the past I am somewhat surprised at your comment. Will certainly check on the matter to ensure consistency in taste and availability. Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed drinks and a light snack in their beautiful garden. Lovely setting and friendly service. Their menu could use an upgrade (been the same for years) but the food is of a good, consistent standard.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mabalingwe, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear Tonia
Thank you for your feedback, our food is of a good consistent standard and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your outing to Eight Bells Mountain Inn (Hotel).
Due to the high number of day visitors frequenting our tea garden and patios, and having a full hotel, our outside Patio menu was limited for the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

One of our favourite places in the Garden Route turned into one of our don't know if we want to go back places. Yes it is season and yes we understand it is busier than usual and that we were going to wait a bit longer for our food. A couple of waiters passing our table without taking our order was a bit irritating but the cherry on the cake was that after we finished our meals we waiting about another 30 min for one of the meals we ordered that had not arrived, just to be told that our waitress forgot to order the meal and that if we do not want to wait a long time they suggest we cancel that meal ... so one of us had to go home hungry ... very dissapointed in the service!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank StellaJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mabalingwe, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

As a local Mossel Bay resident the writer should have been aware that this is the time of year that hotels are fully booked and that the overall emphasis will be on looking after their in-house guests. With limited staff resources and a constant flow of day visitors frequenting our tea garden and patios it is very difficult to maintain our usual high service levels. We specifically do not take any reservations during this time as we know that it becomes too difficult to cope with the high numbers.
We apologise that their experience was not what was expected and that the waitress perhaps did not handle the situation as well as she should have. Please accept our apologies for this mishap and do visit us again during another time of year when it is not so busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

A must stop when travelling the Garden Route. Comfortable accommodation and excellent food. Attentive and efficient staff coupled with spotlessly clean rooms give a very comfortable stopover. Good location on the Garden Route to use as a base for visiting the many attractions nearby.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the car park - rooms at rear of lodge have the best view.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you for making Eight Bells a stopover during your Garden Route visit. As you say we are well positioned to be an ideal base to visit the many attractions on offer. Also a big thank you reviewing us and for your kind words, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

From Oudtshoorn towards Mosselbay you come along this beautiful place located in the mountains. We booked a Swiss Chalet and had the one at the end which gave us a spectaculair view. With a welcoming and friendly staff and a great restaurant for either breakfast, lunch or diner it is a perfect place to stay. And do not forget, when the bell rings at 16.00 it is teatime :-)

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank petra974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

As a traditional Country Inn we still serve complimentary morning and afternoon on the Patio giving our guests the chance to meet each other. And yes, the bell rings eight times to announce tea time. Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words, next time you visit the bell will ring again for tea time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews