We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Trip of a Lifetime-Guides Claire & Henney & Captain Noah deliver numerous whale encounters!

Everyone on our boat had remarkable whale encounters all 7 days on the water with Whale Swim... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2018
Kris H
,
Bozeman
The Ashlee G and Crew were great!

We spent 4 days on the Ashlee G. Villi the skipper and William the whale guide were great. They... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2018
surfbabysurf
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 65 reviews
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
55
6
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
6
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales bucket list whale swim life changing experience heat run an amazing experience the tongan beach resort boat crew deep ocean day tour choppy water tour leader beautiful creatures fantastic job mothers and calves whale experience finding whales
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is an adventure holiday with a capital " A "!! I swam with humpback whales and their babies several times every day we were on the water.They are so big and gentle and beautiful that nothing will prepare you for your first time you jump in the water and swim towards them. Scared, excited and exhilarated all at the same time are words that come to mind.
Then there are the beautiful islands of Vava'u, the wonderful and strong Tongan people and ther families and easily some of the best snorkeling I have done, let alone the whales!!
A must experience to do is to go to the Catholic Church on Sunday above the Tongan Beach Resort and hear the singing of the local people. I still haven't stopped crying , I was so moved!
I can't say enough about Rae Gill and her team of committed and passionate helpers. Totally professional and easy to be with, everything organized down to the last detail. You come home with an amazing video of the whole experience which you will treasure for the rest of your life.
I am booked again this year and may well do every year for as long as my body is up to it.

Date of experience: September 2011
4  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I had my fourth tour with Whaleswim Adventures in September last year. I can not recommend them highly enough and would not book with anyone else. The team's knowledge of Tonga and what to do is unrivalled. The boat skipper seemed to know exactly where the whales were and we had fantastic experiences close-up with these beautiful beings. If you want the most comfortable accomodation, good food and great company, I recommend Whaleswim adventures.

Date of experience: September 2011
1  Thank laurenAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

2011 will be my third trip to Vava'u Tonga to join Whaleswim Adventures. The isalnds of Vava'u are just beautiful and there are many, habited and uninhabited. Whaleswim Adventures takes a boat out every day of the trip to visit the whale nursery. Here you are allowed to snorkel with the humpbacks. The trips are safe, well organised and the boat Captain Cam certainly knows his homeland and where to spot the whales. The trip is fully catered for and there are no hidden costs. After an amazing day swimming with the whales we go to a quiet coral reef to snorkel or dive in caves. I can thoroughly recommend this experience to anyone who loves being on the ocean, snorkelling and of course the precious humpback whales.

Date of experience: September 2010
12  Thank hellandhighwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews