We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
The Mission Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mission Hall
Crovie, The Mission Hall Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Mission Hall
Crovie, The Mission Hall
Dining room
Dining room
sitting room with kitchen
double bedroom
twin bedroom
shower bathroom
terrace
terrace
view from door step
Crovie
evening dog walk
sunset
sunset
sunset
sunset
wildlife
wildlife
wildlife
guest, just 5m from the door step
wildlife
Crovie, December
winter
winter
New Year celebrations
New Year celebrations
New Year celebrations
New Year celebrations
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Crovie, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keith M
Runcorn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for many reasons”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We’d stayed in Crovie in 2014, always wanted to go back. The Mission Hall popped up on a search as pet friendly. So glad it did. We needed a complete get away from it all for a few reasons and we got it. The two of us and our two Border Terriers loved it.
What a great well equipped unique place. We liked the old, the new and traditional. The “lounge” with the open fire kitchen and comfy leather suite was perfectly warm and cosy. The kitchen was very well equipped, the bed was very comfy. The use of the old church pews throughout the Hall as panelling ands bed heads was a good touch; as was the use of glass panels in the main bedroom floor to let light through to the kitchen area. The large entrance room with a big table, which we didn’t use as just the two of us.
Crovie itself is unique with the sea literally feet away, the constant sound of the sea was brilliant. There are plenty of places along the coast; fishing villages of Portsoy, Whitehills amongst a few. Pennan just down the coast was the location of the film Local Hero - worth a visit. The gannets at Troup Head are excellent.
Shopping for food is best at Fraserborugh Asda and Tesco, or Banff Tesco and big Coop.
A bit further away is Cullen, great beach taking in the Bow Fiddle Rock and walk back along disused railway is worth a day out. Would recommend the Cullen Skink in The Rockpool Cafe on the square as well whilst you’re in Cullen.
In summary a great week in a fantastic cottage in the wonderful Crovie. Thanks Gisela for looking after us and the wine when we arrived !
Keithand Tracy Mason

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quiet & Quaint, lovely lovely lovely”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were here for quite a sad visit, as we had brought our mothers ashes up to where she was born, ic Crove. It was great to see relatives some who are the last to have houses in Crovie one was our Grand dads. We stayed in the mission hall which I remember as a child. The place has been nicely renovated and converted into a habitable house, the beds are unusually made from the old pews. Good cooking facilities, great views out to sea and sit at the end of the village or walk around the north pole!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsScrims
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just the most relaxing time imaginable. Lovely comfortable property in the most idyllic of places.cannot wait return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R
Linslade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks in September here. Honestly, it is one of the most magical places I have stayed at. Crovie itself is in a location that defies belief. Set at the bottom of cliffs, it faces slightly west for the most glorious sunsets. You can just spend all day sitting outside watching the sea, the fishermen, boats, birds and the odd seal.
The Mission Hall is a well equipped, cosy, warm, lovely place to stay. We couldn't fault it at all. Gisela- the owner- is an amazing lady, so hard working and friendly!
We celebrated our Silver Wedding Annivesart there and I couldn't imagine anywhere more beautiful to spend it.
It was the most restful, tranquil holiday I have ever had, and we will be going back as soon as possible!
Please visit there, you won't regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing