We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LondonEmmaLondon
London
Hidden Gem!!!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jul 2023
Beautiful property, you’d be hard pressed to find a better remote location anywhere in Fiji - matched only by the incredible scenery are the fantastic hosts, Christine, Sam and the wonderful team.

The property is reasonably basic but perfectly suited for the environment, it’s not trying to be a major hotel chain, and, in that sense, we loved it. If you want a 5-star Fijian type hotel this isn’t the place for you, but it’s in a 6-star setting, with 6-star hosts.

The bures/cottages are beautifully simple, clean, light and comfortable and all have hot water, solar power and new mosquito nets and coils (just in case) – everything you could need. The gardens are delightfully maintained with hammocks and sun loungers to relax and watch the world go by.

The food is fresh and home cooked with love and tastes amazing (good vegetarian options). The meals are served at a communal table allowing you to share stories with other guests, which is a real joy!

The hosts actively participate with guests and are present around the beach house to give that personal level of attention you’d never get at a hotel chain.

The hosts are doing a fantastic job of protecting the house reef/marine protected area, making the snorkelling outstanding and the beaches clean and great to roam.

We also did the Beqa Village stay (Naceva) for 2 nights, which is located 10 minutes by boat from Lawaki – the place where Sam was brought up. What an amazing experience and one I would recommend to any visitor. The family we stayed with couldn’t do enough and the interaction with the villagers/children was one we will never forget.

Come and enjoy the delights of Lawaki Beach House, you won’t be disappointed!
Date of stay: June 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The main dining area & bar
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Lawaki Beach House
Pool
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$315
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
17.2 km from Lawaki Beach House
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $88
  • Agoda.com
20.6 km from Lawaki Beach House
Tripadvisor
$1,044
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,044
  • Priceline
18.4 km from Lawaki Beach House
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $184
  • Agoda.com
18.7 km from Lawaki Beach House
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $257
  • eDreams
32.1 km from Lawaki Beach House
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$128
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
32.6 km from Lawaki Beach House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Beqa Island
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
74
12
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
12
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sam and christine marine protected area fish felt like home generous hosts cane toads high tide four nights an exceptional experience great snorkeling local culture vinaka vakalevu marine life suva reef fiji fusion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2023 via mobile

Love little island experiences then this is a cool place to chill and go snorkeling.
Food was on point and host lovely.

Water is warm and the boat ride across cool fun. Coral is bland but were some cool fishies about.

Wasn’t flourishing in fish but enough to go wow about

Room tip: Take a warm top for journey home and make sure you have cash for lunch.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank PaulP5733
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2023 via mobile

Lawaki Beach House offers an isolated paradise to relax, snorkel, kayak, and eat gourmet food, among other things. My adult son and I spent three nights with Christine (Swiss) and Sam (Fijian) at the beginning of May. We stayed in Bure #2 which contained all the essentials, was comfortable and very clean. The mosquito nets were in good condition and I didn’t get a single mosquito bite! There was always a breeze so we didn’t need the provided fan. They use solar power so we were mindful of charging our phones and not keeping lights on if not needed, but we don’t use any other electrical appliances and always had what we needed. Our private bathroom had hot water in the sink and the shower.
The food was outstanding and prepared and served with delight. They combine traditional home grown organic fruits and vegetables in unique and creative recipes with healthy gourmet results. The only downside of this was, I probably ate more than I should have which meant I had to take afternoon naps, which took away from the beach activities! They provided filtered water for drinking. All the people who work at Lawaki Beach House were friendly and kind.
They have all the snorkelling equipment and two kayaks and they offer various excursions as well. We were the only guests for the first 2 days and felt like we had a private island to ourselves most of the time. We spent most of our time snorkelling the populous reef at high tide and at low tide we walked the private beach and saw a sea snake and a small octopus as well as several shore birds.
Christine is very knowledgable about the local culture and the flora and fauna. With my rudimentary descriptions, she was able to tell us exactly what fish we had seen when snorkelling. They also have a small library to consult if needed.
I recommend making sure you have a small flashlight for walking through the yard at night to avoid kicking the cane toads which come out at dusk and stubbornly (and very cutely) stand their ground!
Thank you Christine and Sam for an exceptional experience in you home.

Room tip: The boat transfer is arranged by Christine. I do suggest the charter boat and the waves can be choppy.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sherc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2023

We (2 adults) stayed here for 5 nightst and loved it. Well maintained resort, individual solar in each bure, hot water in shower (not a given at many remote locations), good fan in room, comfortable beds. All hand cooked meals (Indo-Fijian) were excellent. Very good snorkeling right off shore at the 'house reef', free kayaks, nice sandy beach for hiking at low tide. Friendly, knowledgable hosts! Recommended!

Room tip: If taking bus, get off in Navua Town... Boat dock right across street from bus terminal.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2022

If spending hours snorkelling marvelling at the marine life at high tide, walking along the beach looking for eels and octopuses at low tide, enjoying the bird and insect life and generally chilling out in the peace and tranquility of a place with lush jungle slopes as a backdrop and beautiful ocean views in front of you - this is the place for you! Add to that mix the wonderful food - both Fijian and European - and relaxed conversations with the lovely owners and staff, and the the result is an unforgettable escape. Owners Sam and Christine have created a wonderful retreat for nature lovers with a Marine Protected Area a few steps away where you can snorkel off the beach with ease. Despite the warm water, we decided to pack our spring suits for snorkelling and did not regret it as we were then able to snorkel for 2 hours at a time for maximum enjoyment. We were very glad to take the Lawaki boat transfer with Sam, especially as one of the crossings was somewhat rough and the small local boats were quite full and not covered. Sam and Christine are generous hosts who are happy to share their considerable knowledge and life experiences. It was a privilege to be present at Sam's birthday celebration and share the delicious food from the traditional lovo, and to hear the beautiful voices singing a Fijian hymn. Big thanks to Mela, Buna, Miri, Saeni and Senekau for taking care of us and especially to Alumeci and Serema for the delicious food that they prepared for us. Serema also kindly shared her knowledge of Fijian culture and traditions and also gives great massages.

Date of stay: September 2022
1  Thank JanineandAndy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2022 via mobile

We simply enjoyed every minute of our 6 days stay. The Bungalows are simple but comfortable with ensuite bathrooms and hot showers, and there are only a few of them. So you can have as much quiet and privacy as you like. It is a little slice of tropical paradise right at the beach. You can just walk straight into the ocean for a swim or snorkel along the really nice house reef. We've seen our first nudibranches ever here.
The food is out of this world and a perfect Fijian-Swiss fusion.
The hosts, Sam and Christine, and their staff make everyone feel welcome and well looked after.
Christine and Sam also have a lot of knowledge about Fijian history, way of life and the natural environment, and we found it really enlightening talking with them and listening to their stories.
A real gem of a place. We are so happy that we found it!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank EvaEngling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 18 September 2022

Bula Eva and Rama, thank you for your review. We love to remember your visit at Lawaki and hope to meet sometime again. We are happy You received the camera and hope the memories from there are still available for you!
Loloma to you both, Christine, Sam and the Lawaki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews