We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fairmax
Tampa, Florida

Top notch experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2024via mobile
I traveled with a dive group from Florida to this wonderful island. It was a spectacular experience. Everything from accommodations, food, diving, entertainment, and spa were well run. Our dive team was outstanding and took great safe care of us from Brandon, Nix, Navi and others. The soft coral and fish life is spectacular and we saw a Tiger Shark on our shark dive which had been rare due to rainy season. We enjoyed the cultural experiences- visits to the village and school. Every single person we encountered was kind and welcoming. Flo is a delight and keeps all things guest wise well run.

Yes it is a long bus ride from Florida. I wished I had booked a second week in Fiji or headed to Australia but THAT is on me. The beverage and internet is very reasonable - it is a resort! I also bring my own hot spot to all international trips. I understand they will have a second week dive boat option in the near future. I hesitate to tell everyone as I plan to go back :).
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oleksandra Chuvilova, Sales at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this review
Responded 12 Apr 2024
Bula!

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic experience at Beqa Lagoon Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit, from the diving adventures and cultural experiences to our accommodations and the warm hospitality of our staff. It's always a pleasure to know that our team members, including Brandon, Nix, Navi, and Flo, made such a positive impact on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any requests or need assistance in planning your next trip, especially with the new dive boat options coming soon!

Thank you again for choosing Beqa Lagoon Resort, and we can't wait to host you on your next adventure.

Best regards,
Oleksandra
Reservations
Beqa Lagoon Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$302
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
14.4 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $855
  • Booking.com
14.4 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $82
  • Agoda.com
17.3 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Tripadvisor
$195
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $195
32.2 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Pool
ZenHotels.com
$302
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
37.0 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$311
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • IHG
    $312
42.7 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$335
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    $336
42.8 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $190
43.1 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    $96
  • Agoda.com
43.2 km from Beqa Lagoon Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Beqa Island
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
435
171
55
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
435
171
55
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews filo beqa lagoon dive staff shark dive plunge pool koi pond lunch and dinner dive shop non divers fish bull sharks fire walkers great diving secret island garden bure dive group fire dancers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2024

We really loved our stay at the resort. The food and the staff where amazing. The group did 14 dives, and cannot speak high enough praise for the Dive Team. Loved the trip to the school and village, and the feeling at the resort that we where family. We have decided to another visit in 2026.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oleksandra Chuvilova, Sales at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Bula!

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, the diving adventures, and the warm welcome from our team. It truly sounds like you became part of our Beqa Lagoon family!

We are excited to welcome you back in 2026, and we promise another unforgettable experience. If you need any assistance planning your next visit or have any special requests, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Until then, take care and keep the spirit of Beqa Lagoon in your heart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

We traveled to Beqa Resort with out dive club, Southern Maryland Divers. The trip was two years in the making and the club got a very good rate for those staying one week or two.

The accommodations were spacious, the beds comfortable, and the food prepared and served very well…we had a waterfront villa.

The head of the diving unit, Dive Master Paige, did a terrific job managing our dive operations during our two week stay, 3 dives/day with unlimited shore diving and all his dive masters were competent and very helpful…

What was most unique about the resort is that there are no cars on the island….no bicycles, no trucks, no buses, no automotive conveyance of any kind…the evenings sipping our cocktails in the “Adirondack Chairs” just yards from the water’s edge were extremely quiet…very enjoyable and relaxing…

Although our package was “all inclusive” as far as meals, alcoholic beverages were not and were a bit expensive…the internet was spotty if you didn’t get the upgrade …and that was expensive….

Would we go there again….well….I looked into 4 weeks in 2025, January and there were no waterfront villas available…same in 2026..what was available was roughly $325/night for one week…there was no option for an extended month-long stay at a better per-night rate…

To travel from the east coast of the US for roughly 20 hrs including layovers is not worth it for one week…

The answer to your original question is a modified no…we would like to visit again but it’s just too expensive ….We’re looking into other options..

FBA

Room tip: Pick up your favorite alcoholic beverage at the duty free shops and just purchase a mixer from the Resort…
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oleksandra Chuvilova, Sales at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Dear FBA,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Beqa Lagoon Resort following your visit with the Southern Maryland Divers. It's heartening to hear that after two years of planning, you found our resort to be a quiet gem, and that our accommodations, cuisine, and the serene, vehicle-free environment contributed positively to your stay. Paige and our diving team are thrilled to receive your commendation for their efforts in making your diving adventures memorable.

We understand your concerns regarding the costs of alcoholic beverages, internet services, and the challenges posed by long-haul travel for a short stay. Your feedback is invaluable as we continually strive to enhance our guests' experiences and offer competitive packages that cater to diverse needs, including longer stays.

We regret to hear that our waterfront villas' availability and the pricing for extended stays did not meet your expectations for future visits. While we are currently reviewing our pricing structure and availability to provide more flexible options, we recognize the importance of making our little paradise accessible to those who cherish it as much as you do.

Please rest assured, we are actively exploring solutions to offer more appealing packages for extended stays and better rates, aiming to welcome back cherished guests like yourself. In the meantime, should your plans or our availability change, we would be honored to discuss how we might accommodate you and your dive club again.

Thank you once again for considering Beqa Lagoon Resort for your diving adventures. We hope to find an opportunity to welcome you back under more favorable circumstances.

Vinaka,

Oleksandra
Reservations
Beqa Lagoon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

About to leave this beautiful island. The Staff is fantastic and a special shout out is needed for Junior (Ju Jioji) one of many dive masters on Thresher, for going above and beyond in taking care of my family. Memories made that will not be forgotten. Recommended to all divers for an amazing dive destination.

Room tip: Bring your heart and mind to be touched by these amazing people
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oleksandra Chuvilova, Sales at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Dear Robert,

Thank you for choosing Beqa Lagoon Resort for your diving adventure and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. It fills us with immense joy to hear that you had an amazing week of diving and fellowship on our beautiful island.

Our staff strives to provide exceptional service, and it's heartening to know that Junior (Ju Jioji) and the team on the Thresher made such a positive impact on your family's experience. We will ensure that Junior receives the special recognition he deserves for his dedication and care.

Creating unforgettable memories for our guests is what we aim for, and knowing that we've achieved this for you is truly rewarding. We're honored by your recommendation and delighted that you consider Beqa Lagoon Resort an amazing dive destination.

We hope to welcome you back in the future for more incredible diving experiences and to create even more lasting memories.

Best regards,
Beqa Lagoon resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

We went to Beqa Lagoon Resort from Jan 13 - 20th and had an amazing time. We were traveling with a group of 12 people which were all divers except one couple. After the trip and listening to all of us discuss our dives they are going to learn to scuba before our next dive trip. We had requested the 6 Bulas on the beach each with a personal plunge pool. The staff at this resort are all the most friendly resort staff I have ever met. They all act like you are the most important guest and do everything to make your stay the best. Our group of 10 divers were all on the boat called Mako and had Amazing Captain and Dive Masters including Junior, Sivvo and several others that I can't remember their names. The weather for our first 3 days was a bit rainy and caused some really big waves and current. On our very first dive we jumped in and had 3 or 4 good sized sharks swimming around us the entire dive. I have only ever dove with Nurse Sharks and once saw a Hammerhead in Cozumel. When I first saw the sharks and at least one was a tiger I was a little worried but quickly realized the sharks didn't care about us at all and I was able to relax. The second day of diving was our day for the famous shark dive. The DM and Brandon (I think he said he is a marine naturalist) gave us a very thorough briefing. Once we got to the site they told us the current was really strong but as long as we held onto the ropes all the way down we would be protected by the reef at the bottom. We are used to Cozumel current but this was crazy, we felt like flags on a pole in a hurricane. When we managed to get to the bottom they were right and the rest was great and there was so many fish and sharks I was just mesmerized. We heard from the other groups that when they went the current was gone. The diving the rest of the week was awesome and the colors of the reef was something I have ever seen. I would recommend this resort to any divers and our friends that came to relax and didn't dive said they had an amazing trip as well.

Room tip: Make sure you declare anything you have that is on the lists. I wrote down all food etc that we brought and they never looked at the form but we had it in case they asked.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aleksandra Chuvilova, Sales at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Beqa Lagoon Resort!
We're thrilled to hear that you and your group had an amazing time, both underwater and above.

It's heartwarming to know that our staff made a lasting impression on you with their friendliness and dedication to making every guest feel important. We'll be sure to pass your kind words to the entire team, especially to Junior, Sivvo, and our amazing captain and dive masters on the Mako boat. Your acknowledgment means the world to them.

We're delighted that your diving adventures, including the encounter with the sharks and the famous shark dive, were exhilarating and memorable. It's great to hear that even the non-divers among you were inspired to learn scuba diving for future trips. The beauty and diversity of our reefs are indeed something special, and we're glad you could experience it firsthand.

We appreciate your recommendation and are so pleased that your friends who preferred to relax also enjoyed their stay. It's our goal to ensure every guest has an exceptional experience, whether they're diving or simply soaking in the tranquility of our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Beqa Lagoon Resort for more incredible diving and relaxation. Until then, we wish you safe and exciting adventures wherever you go.

Best regards,
Beqa Lagoon Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2023

We booked our honeymoon at Beqa Lagoon resort so we could dive with sharks.

I read several reviews, good & bad but decided that the location and shark dive experience outweighed the potential negatives.

Diving: We did 15 dives in 5 days. The reef dives were fantastic, even though the team said the viz wasn’t great. The dive team were the highlight of this trip, they have a laid back style but help you with everything. I barely lifted a finger but they want to make your diving as enjoyable as possible.

Free Shore Dives: The reef is directly in front of the resort. The boat reef dives and shark dives are incredible but we had one of our best diving experiences 50m from the resort. We dived with 2 octopuses

Shark Dives - this is one of the main attractions at the island and it did not disappoint. My mind was blown and the dive team were exceptional at making us feel safe and shepherding the sharks underwater. This experience is definitely for experienced and confident divers. Yes, they protect you but you do have very close encounters with Tiger sharks and bull sharks.

Rooms - we stayed in the cheapest room and it was brilliant. Air conditioning was great, we were greeted with flowers and a fruit platter. There were no locks on the room but each room at a safe for valuable. The water pressure was low but manageable.

Food: Excellent - we are both vegetarian and the food was just fantastic. All meals were heathy, freshly cooked and each day you got to decide what to eat the next day. We were never hungry. We did bring our own snacks for when out diving and for in between lunch and dinner.

Staff: Beqa offers something that is special. It is like a big family, within a week we knew all the staff by name. Every one of them was friendly, caring and treated you like a friend.

Activities: Each day there are 3 activities. These range from reef snorkel, fire walkers, village visit, waterfall walk etc. It’s an opportunity to learn about the people who live on Beqa. There is plenty to do even if you don’t dive.

Overall: Most of the problems I read in reviews about the cleanliness, food and air conditioning have obviously been fixed.

I’d 100% return and recommended to anyone to go to Beqa Lagoon resort.

I will be forever grateful to everyone on the island who helped make our honeymoon so special. Thank you

Room tip: Bring a water bottle to fill up and use throughout your stay. Buy snacks before you arrive on the island
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andythementalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aleksandra Chuvilova, Sales at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024


Bula!

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Beqa Lagoon Resort! We are thrilled to hear that you chose us for your honeymoon and that you had such a memorable experience with us.

It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the diving, including the reef dives and the incredible shark dives. Our dive team takes pride in ensuring a safe and enjoyable experience for all guests, and it's great to hear that they made you feel comfortable and facilitated your encounters with the sharks.

We are glad you appreciated the accommodations, food, and the friendly atmosphere created by our staff. It's truly heartwarming to hear that you felt like part of the Beqa Lagoon Resort family during your stay.

Your feedback about the cleanliness, food quality, and air conditioning is much appreciated. We are constantly striving to provide the best possible experience for our guests, and your positive comments reinforce our efforts.

We are honored to have been a part of your special honeymoon, and we would be delighted to welcome you back for another visit in the future. If you have any friends or family looking for an unforgettable experience, please don't hesitate to recommend us.

Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much) for choosing Beqa Lagoon Resort, and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Oleksandra
Reservations
Beqa Lagoon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews