We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Irfon Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Irfon Cottage
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa M
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

An excellent cottage very relaxing and warm welcome on arrival , the cottage was very clean and had everything you needed for your stay. The hot tub was a great feature and the fire pit was used none stop. Great veiws very quite just what we were looking for . Would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of every day life.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Irfon Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Booked a 2 night stay to relax and get away from things.
Wow! Arrived to be greeted by Adrian who was very welcoming and friendly. The cottage is perfect. Well equipped and modern yet very cosy. The selling point for me was the hot tub. What an experience to sit in there while the sun sets. The courtyard is beautiful and the chickens were fab. Greeted by a welcome basket of goodies which was a lovely touch!
Everyone who has seen the pics loved it and a few friends are going to go there in the future.
Definitely recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Irfon Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RondyDond...
Peterborough, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing and friendly...”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a couple of days in Irfon Cottage and found the location and setting really peaceful and quiet. Claire and Adrian were the perfect hosts and left us some essentials in the cottage (eggs, tea, towels, etc) and, after showing us around, left us alone throughout.

The hot tub was an excellent addition and really added to the trip.

Builth Wells is a quaint place that has all the essentials. The local Chinese was ok but a trip to the Seven Stars Inn was something I'd give a miss as it wasn't really worth the 30 mile round trip to.

If you're looking for peace and quiet, and a hot tub, this place is ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Settees could have been fresher.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussiechi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the perfect place for a peaceful and relaxing break from city life”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our first time visiting mid-Wales and we were very lucky to stay at this superb and cosy cottage. Penrheol Farm offers two self catering cottages of which Irfon is the smaller one, with one bedroom, which was perfect for a couple such as ourselves. It is located just out of town and up on high ground so that the views from the back garden of the cottages are just spectacular - you can see beautiful green fields and rolling hills for miles.

The cottage was very clean, tidy and was equipped with everything you need to have a comfortable stay. The heating warms the whole place up in no time which was much appreciated by us not being acclimatised to such chilly weather! Communication from the owners when booking was fantastic and then we also met the owners when we arrived who welcomed us and were just lovely people who were happy to help with anything.

Overall, we had just the peaceful and relaxing break we were looking for, and this accommodation was the reason for that. We headed out during the days but were very happy to arrive back to the cottage and had a BBQ and a soak in the hot tub every night of our stay. On that note, Builth Wells is a great central location from which to explore Wales, lots of things to see and do just a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tub and the spectacular view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellie24
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional accomodation”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage exceeded our expectation in many ways . We travelled to Mid -Wales for the 1st time and had anticipated days out using the cottage as a base.
However the delightfully finished accommodation with spectacular views was all we needed for the 1st few days The cottage had everything , the bed was large & very comfortable , good & powerful shower and other facilities excellent .Lovely outdoor patio area ,sun loungers & wonderful views The Hot tub was better than we'd imagined ,spending several afternoons & early evenings in it .
We did go out driving & found some wonderful places to visit but would have been happy to spend all week just chilling out.
It was 1.5miles from Builth Wells where reasonable supplies could be obtained in the shops & about 8m to larger retail supermarkets I would suggest unless your an avid walker you would need a car or bike to get about
Claire's welcome basket of eggs ,marmalade & bottle of wine was a lovely surprise & I was able to buy more free-range eggs to bring home
We plan to re book for this cottage so that in its self must be a recommendation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views & quietness
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing