We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Irfon Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Irfon Cottage
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hellie24
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional accomodation”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage exceeded our expectation in many ways . We travelled to Mid -Wales for the 1st time and had anticipated days out using the cottage as a base.
However the delightfully finished accommodation with spectacular views was all we needed for the 1st few days The cottage had everything , the bed was large & very comfortable , good & powerful shower and other facilities excellent .Lovely outdoor patio area ,sun loungers & wonderful views The Hot tub was better than we'd imagined ,spending several afternoons & early evenings in it .
We did go out driving & found some wonderful places to visit but would have been happy to spend all week just chilling out.
It was 1.5miles from Builth Wells where reasonable supplies could be obtained in the shops & about 8m to larger retail supermarkets I would suggest unless your an avid walker you would need a car or bike to get about
Claire's welcome basket of eggs ,marmalade & bottle of wine was a lovely surprise & I was able to buy more free-range eggs to bring home
We plan to re book for this cottage so that in its self must be a recommendation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views & quietness
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula-IT...
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in spectacular surroundings”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Welcomed onsite by the very friendly hotess, Claire.
Scones, marmalade and fresh eggs as a welcome gift waiting in the kitchen.
Only meant to stay for 4 nights, but extended it to 6, to take proper advantage of this delightful apartment
Extraordinarily good value for money, even better than i'd expected.
2 large, comfortable sofas, a huge, comfy bed, modern kitchen and bathroom and overall very high level of furnishings and decoration
The location is very central in Mid Wales, and an excellent starting point to go sightseeing in any direction. The local town is just big enough to have everything you could need.
Brilliant holiday, gutted it's pretty much booked solid until mid october, but not at all surprised!
Would love to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View out the back and dining al fresco
Liked least: Wireless only available in the kitchen area
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boo529
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Irfon Cottage just has to be the most tranquil & relaxing places we have ever been.
The whole family were outside as we arrived & even had a lovely greeting from Max the dog.
Once inside, the cottage didn't disappoint, Welsh cakes on the table,which were very much appreciated after our long ride on the motorbike. Sparkly clean kitchen & lounge & the bedroom...well, the biggest bed we've seen & stunning views from the window.
Once settled in & having a bite to eat we sat under the stars in the jacuzzi.....a perfect end to the day.
We would like to say a big Thank you to Claire & Adrian for a warm welcome. You are very lucky people to live in such a stunning place. You will be seeing us again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
241cwll
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just spent a wonderful short break here, the cottage was perfect and the family so welcoming!
Our little boy loved the trampoline and the animals.
We will be back again very soon I cannot recommend this place enough, the cottage and setting are lovely don't change anything it is worth 5 stars :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idealic cottage for 2,with a Welsh welcome.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Claire and Adrian were very welcoming.The walks around the village were enjoyed, especially by the dogs. Everything was accommodated for, even a towel to dry the dogs. The cottage was idealic, we really enjoyed our couple of days in Mid Wales. Diloch yn fawr.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing