We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Irfon Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Irfon Cottage
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Boo529
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Irfon Cottage just has to be the most tranquil & relaxing places we have ever been.
The whole family were outside as we arrived & even had a lovely greeting from Max the dog.
Once inside, the cottage didn't disappoint, Welsh cakes on the table,which were very much appreciated after our long ride on the motorbike. Sparkly clean kitchen & lounge & the bedroom...well, the biggest bed we've seen & stunning views from the window.
Once settled in & having a bite to eat we sat under the stars in the jacuzzi.....a perfect end to the day.
We would like to say a big Thank you to Claire & Adrian for a warm welcome. You are very lucky people to live in such a stunning place. You will be seeing us again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
241cwll
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just spent a wonderful short break here, the cottage was perfect and the family so welcoming!
Our little boy loved the trampoline and the animals.
We will be back again very soon I cannot recommend this place enough, the cottage and setting are lovely don't change anything it is worth 5 stars :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idealic cottage for 2,with a Welsh welcome.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Claire and Adrian were very welcoming.The walks around the village were enjoyed, especially by the dogs. Everything was accommodated for, even a towel to dry the dogs. The cottage was idealic, we really enjoyed our couple of days in Mid Wales. Diloch yn fawr.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptcg07
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I cannot recommend Ifron Cottage (and Penrheol Farm) enough!!!! It is truly a perfect hidden gem that offers a generous slice of tranquillity!!

The only two things that could have been improved on are the internet access and a television in the bedroom (But that is just nit-picking!!). The internet was very slow and we couldn’t get a connection in our cottage, but that’s probably got a big part to do with the fact that the cottage is so rural (which is no bad thing!). I thought I would start with this so that I can focus on trying to put down all the great things about Ifron Cottage in the rest of the review.

So firstly I would like to mention Clare (the owner/manager) and her Family who are all genuinely lovely, welcoming and hospitable people, it was a pleasure to meet them!!! It was our first holiday as a couple and we were quite nervous as to the reception a same sex gay couple would have. But we felt right at home and incredibly comfortable around Penrheol Farm which was amazing (Definitely gay friendly!)

Now to the main part, the cottage. The most noticeable aspect is the sheer beauty of the place. The decor, furniture, gardens and views where all stunning. It really felt like the perfect country retreat. The cottage was spotless when we arrived and looked very well kept. The bathroom had a lovely bath and a very nice shower. The kitchen looked brand new and had everything we needed to cook and bake all our meals. The best part had to be the huge bed which was fabulously comfortable and smelled amazing!!! The patio and gardens where all beautiful. The chickens, ducks and turkeys were great fun to watch and feed and we enjoyed walking around the gardens throughout the day and night.

The Hot Tub was incredible. It barely stopped raining all week but there was a glorious pleasure in sitting in the hot tub while the rain fell on top of us. A late night dip under the stars was also well worth the trip!!

We had a lovely welcome basket on arrival with half a dozen fresh eggs, welshcakes and the most delicious homemade apple and mango marmalade!! There were eggs, potatoes, beetroot and an assortment of jams, jellies and honey (all at bargain prices).

So a HUGE thank you to Clare and Penrheol Farm for an amazing first holiday and we cannot wait to go back again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Internet Access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well-equipped accommodation in beautiful location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Smart barn conversion with all mod-cons. Everyone mentions the hot tub on the patio with good reason. Suited these two pensioners perfectly, but we guess it would be great for
children too. Arrangements made without fuss. Recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Liked least: Getting to it through the rain in my bathing costume (lovely once in though)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing