We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
123
86
29
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
86
29
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep hill sea view public areas best view in town lovely hotel large bed evening meal and breakfast full welsh breakfast fresh fruit board games fabulous views lick of paint power shower breakfast was excellent room number first morning few minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We chose this hotel for a two night getaway this week, to take advantage of the marvellous weather. And boy, were we glad we did! Situated up a steep but mercifully short hill about 5-6 minute walk out of town, the hotel commands some of the best views in town.

We were warmly greeted on arrival and shown to our room which was airy, spacious, high-ceilinged and decorated in the contemporary white and cream theme which runs throughout the hotel. With the breeze blowing gently through it, it was quite reminiscent of a colonial villa! Even with temperatures in the high twenties the room was quite cool and pleasant.

The view over the bay from the window has to be seen to be believed (see attached photos); Barmouth Bay is breathtakingly beautiful on most days, but never more so than when the sun’s shining in a cloudless sky, and this must be one of, if not, the best view in town.

Beds were clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was splendid, and looked recently refitted; indeed most of the décor had a recently redecorated feel to it. The shower is remarkable, too! So often in showers at the top of Victorian houses half way up a Welsh hillside you have to run round to get wet – not here!

It turns out the place changed hands last year and the new owners are in the process of renovating it – but that said, such a lot has been done already, it really is in great shape. There’s still a few bits and bobs that haven’t been attended to yet, but nothing major - Rome and day and all that.

The only real disappointment was that the restaurant only opens at weekends at present and we were there mid-week (hopefully next time!), which is a shame, because judging by the exceptional breakfasts, it’d be a winner. The food itself was fine, and service was prompt and friendly. You can’t ask for more.

Very sad to leave, but we’ll be back!

Room Tip: Room at the front for the view!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed in room 12.
Me, my wife and my 2 year old son enjoyed our stay very much. Room was clean and big the bed was very big. The bath soon fills up with very hot water. The lamp next to the bed had a bit of a loose wire in the plug, i forgot to tell the guy at reception, cant remember his name but he was a nice and friendly guy.
Also the room was at the top and had awesome views.
Breakfast was very nice, we moved ourselves to a 3 seat table when a family of 4 came in behind us, we was very happy to help.
We would love to stay there again.
Tony

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Super location! Huge car park. Beautiful hotel, and views. Close to Cadair Idris, Snowdon, and lots of other hiking. Breakfast good, but not superb (we are picky though...). Staff friendly, and helpful. We had room 14 on top. Very nice, but I understand room 12, and rooms on floor 2 in front has even better views. Rooms to back have view up mountains. Common areas very stylish, with nice bar. Very quiet around hotel, but walls paper thin. Could be an issue for shy couples :) We did not care :) Only thing missing in room was a small fridge to keep beer and cider cold, however we got buckets of ice from bar to fix that. To my mind, best place to stay in Barmouth!

Room Tip: Room 14, 12 and rooms on 2nd floor towards bay.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truls J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We had a distrastrous start to our week in wales but was lucky to find this alternate accommodation.The holtel is a very traditional old house with a lovey modern interior.The staff were welcoming and could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and memorable.The room was fabulous,the breakfast was excellent quality and plentiful.
The view from the garden was stunning .. There was some traffic noise from the wagons going past the hotel up to a new hotel build but nothing to complain about ..We kept the window open due to the very unexpected hot temperatures so this contributed to hearing the traffic .I would still stay at this hotel in a heartbeat.
Barmouth it's self is a lovely seafront village with lots of restaurants and pubs and llittle shops with a warm welcome ... we will definitely be back to visit this fabulous part of Wales

Room Tip: Ask for room 3 on the first floor ... excellent room with great views
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This is our second visit to this fantastic independent hotel in Barmouth. Everything about this hotel is terrific, location, views, food, rooms, atmosphere, staff. And views. Which are frankly unbelievable. Barmouth is a five minute walk away with loads of bars and restaurants. All in all a great weekend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JeanneAlbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie L, Manager at Bae Abermaw Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for such a great review! I'm glad you had such a nice time and that you love Barmouth as much as we do :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews