We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding in every single aspect – so good we...”
other travellers have booked this property
Green Pastures Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Green Pastures Cottage
View from Green Pastures Summer view from cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Green Pastures Cottage
View from Green Pastures
Summer view from cottage
View from cottage autumn
Kitchen
Bathroom
Lounge
King Size Bedroom
Twin Room
Cosy lounge at night
Breakfast with a view
Dawn view from cottage
Winter View from cottage
Deer on the croft in front of the cottage
View from cottage
Dawn view from cottage bedroom
Huge rainshower in bathroom
Kitchen in the evening
Dawn view from lounge
Dawn view from lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Elaine_Mi...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every single aspect – so good we plan to return later this year!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

The location of the cottage is perfect – peaceful, away from it all and fantastic view from the comfort of the living room or the garden. Communication with the owner is really friendly and efficient. The cottage itself was “home”! Clean, comfortable, homely and contained everything you could possibly need or want. Well equipped kitchen, tremendous shower and bathroom. Comfortable bed with great views to wake up to, likewise the living room is a really comfortable place to relax. Use of PC for internet should you need it. Great place to base yourself with so much to go and see or to simply stay and enjoy the location itself…. I can’t list everything here suffice to say we’ve had a fabulous week and are booking up another week later in the year! I can’t recommend this place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and property.
Liked least: There's nothing not to like!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine308...
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in June 2010

I spent a lovely 5 day stay here with my family including two teenagers. The cottage looks exactly like the pictures and was cozy and comfortable with a nice, modern kitchen and bathroom. The views from the cottage are lovely and we enjoyed many hikes and walks right from the front door. The location is very quiet and quite remote but the rest of Skye is easily accessible by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There were no towels provided. I think the owner may now provide those to visitors.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob P
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a location!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

High expectations of both location and cottage were exceeded, we enjoyed being a bit off the beaten track. We were blessed with 3 to 4 perfect days of weather and on the less good days enjoyed watching the contrasting lights and colours.
The cottage was an ideal base for our daily clifftop walks and we found plenty of good food to replace the calories, the highlight being the Old School House. A particular highlight was watching the seals off Waternish Point.
The kitchen and bathroom are highlights of the cottage as is the comfortable lounge with its well-stocked dvd library.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views & homely feel
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mockle
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect piece of Skye”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Green Pastures for 1 week in mid May. Sadly we did not get great weather, in fact when we arrived late at night on Saturday it had already started blowing a severe gale which did not subside until Monday. This did not ruin our holiday. We loved sitting in the living room with the log fire on Sunday, watching the scenery and sea change in matters of minutes. Very dramatic. The cottage was very homely and made us feel welcomed straight away. Beautiful stunning views over loch Snizort, with sea eagles hovering over it.
The cottage is well located in Waternish peninsula, away from everything with no sound, well except the sheep in the morning and the cuckoos. It has everything that you could need and more, very comfortable and warm.

Away from the cottage, you can easily drive to Stein, Portree and anywhere else around the island. There are plenty of walks to do too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maddy_bro...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A homely and well appointed cottage, overlooking beautiful views and with plenty to do - it was awesome, we will return.”
Reviewed 17 May 2012 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Green Pastures Cottage for a fortnight in summer 2010 and could only tear ourselves away by promising that we would return again soon. The cottage was very well appointed with everything we could need, from DVDs and board games to binoculars and brochures. The atmosphere was homely and comfortable but with a newly fitted kitchen and bathroom it also had all the modern conveniences. The owners were really friendly and helpful when we contacted them, and the photos and ornaments around the cottage as well as notes and recommended walks and activities made us feel like we were staying there as friends of the family. The weather being varied, meant that although we only had a few days when we could explore the beautiful island, we also felt more than happy just staying home. There was so much to see from the large picture window overlooking the sea - we saw deer in the croft several times and also 4 Golden Eagles all out at the same time. On dry days we took advantage of the forestry track by the cottage to walk to the local pub in Stein - a short but very scenic walk, and also took a boat trip from there to watch the nearby seals. We even ventured on some of the longer walks, finding we were fitter than we thought! We took several day trips around the island and to the mainland, taking advantage of the beautiful scenery of Skye whilst visiting some of the attractions recommended in the many brochures and leaflets provided. The cottage was large enough for us to comfortably accommodate our family of 4, but would also be ideal for a couple. This was a perfect base for exploring the area, visiting attractions further afield, as recommended by the many brochures and leaflets, or just staying in and gazing out at the flora and fauna. If you love the rugged scenery of Scotland, the wildlife, walking or even driving, then we would definitely recommend this lovely cottage as a great holiday home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the deer and eagles from the cottage, walking along the forestry track
Liked least: The weather, although rain was to be expected in Scotland!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing