We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent place for Sitting Still”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lusta Cottage

Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge
Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Pink sunset of Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Exploring Lusta Croft
Our favourite picnic spot on the croft!
Sue and Craig under Lusta's biggest waterfall!
Lusta Waterfalls
Seaview to Outer Hebrides and gate to croft from righthand side of garden
Angus enjoying the bottom of the croft
Christmas at Lusta Cottage!
Sunset over Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Sheep with lambs at the top of Lusta croft
Lusta Family bathroom
Double Bedroom with Ensuite
Twin Bedroom 1  in main house
Twin Bedroom 2 with separate access and ensuite
En-suite Shower room with Twin Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Lounge
Sunset from Lusta Cottage
Snowy view taken from inside conservatory (Xmas 09)
Snowy Beach! The Beach at Lusta Christmas 2009
Winter wonderland at Lusta - Chritmas 2009
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mark_jeff...
Brisbane Region, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent place for Sitting Still”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Being Scotland, the rain fell and and the wind blew. Some days we used Lusta Cottage as a base for walks on Skye and doing touristy thing. On other days we did nothing but sit reading our books and staring out across Loch Bay.
It was absolutely beautiful. Be sure to make the most of the property extending down to the water as a means to get to the fabulous restaurant and pub down in Stein, and leave your car behind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The relaxing view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Darby20...
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in Skye”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Lusta Cottage and it remains our favourite family holiday destination in Scotland. Stunning views from the cottage, with the protected bay looking out over the Outer Hebrides. We again spent days just playing in the river and on the rocky coast at the foot of the croft (loads of shell fossils here). Exciting to walk through the stream in places, and play in the secret canyon near the cottage - bring wellies! Perfect to walk to Stein Inn for lunch, tea or just for a drink. Stunning wildflower meadows on the croft, wild irises and ragged robin in all the marshy areas.
About an hour's drive to the Quiraing, which is a great day out followed by Staffin Beach to look for fossils or build sandcastles. Coral Beaches and Dunvegan seals also brilliant and are a short drive from Lusta.
Cottage well-equipped and comfy, and now includes Wi-Fi. Hope to visit again next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Playing on the croft.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your second visit to Lusta Cottage and look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish A
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing views and a wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Lusta cottage with our friends and the views from conservatory are breathtaking. The cottage offers a very comfortable accommodation with its 3 double rooms. All the rooms were tidy when we arrived, there was enough space for parking. I will highly recommend this cottage and will use it again without doubt for my next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely comments We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marguerit...
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“A screensaver view”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in September 2013

The location and views were outstanding. Nearby restaurant great. Close to good hiking. Furnishings were basic but adequate. We really enjoyed our stay and will return some time in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We just wanted to let you know that for the new season we have just had the whole interior freshly redecorated, replaced the futon sofa mattress with a sumptuous, double depth, leather covered mattress and added lots of cushions. There is a newly fitted kitchen floor to complement our relatively new electric stove/oven. There is also a new picnic bench on the front lawn for all to enjoy the views - weather permitting! We look forward to welcoming you back to Lusta cottage soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARTIK18
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
“the location and situation is 'OH MY GOD'”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were 3 couples ,all aged above 55 yrs,the location ,and situation of Lusta cottage is AWESOME,it is home ,used by the owners,so it was pretty homely .The owners were quite responsive .Except the TV ,not working ,its a lovely homely place.A bit cramped/small for 6 adults ,but still we enjoyed ,the kitchen had 100% utensils, and coffee/tea ,sugar ,oil etc ,toilets were small but Good.Sadly due to clouds,except one evening ,we saw a great sunset.Beds ,as in UK ,were a bit small ,but OK,no complaints.Overall ,would visit again ,for the location ,and homely atmosphere.Kindly note ,mobile networks is v v erratic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the conservatory
Liked least: no tv
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
We were so pleased that you enjoyed Lusta Cottage. We are so sorry there was a fault with the TV reception. We immediately called a Sky TV Engineer to investigate, which resulted in a new replacement satellite dish and connections being fitted and both TVs are now working 100%. The mobile signal all over Skye is unfortunately eratic, however there is a landline payphone at the cottage. We also plan to provide WiFi Internet by January 2015. Thank you for your kind and constructive comments. Best wishes Craig and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing