We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic experience”
Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Back of House Twin Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Front of House
Back of House
Twin Room
View from Twin Bedroom
Double Room
View from Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Stag
Decking at front of house
Living room
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2888alex
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with my family during the first week of August.
This is a wonderfully decorated and equipped house. The Isle of Harris is an ideal destination for a family vacation for those wishing peace and quiet. Overall we had a fantastic experience in an unbelievably stunning location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJandNJ
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent house”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at the beginning of June, we loved the house, everything you could wish for. The kitchen was well equipped and a pint of milk a delicious cake was left for us, also a lovely bunch of flowers - so welcoming after a long drive. A beautiful location, wish we'd had longer to stay and explore more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_and_TS
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Old Post Office last month on our first ever trip to the Outer Hebrides. This hadn't been our first choice when looking at properties but I can't tell you how glad I am that it worked out we stayed here.

The house is very remote but worth the extra drive. There was me, my husband, our 2 year old son, my mum and dad and our 2 dogs. The dogs crates fitted very nicely into the front porch (or back, a debate point all week in our family! Anyway the room closest to the water). So it meant no soggy, sandy dogs in the house.

The house has everything and the welcome tea and biscuits are fantastic. We loved nipping down to Husini's beach and my husband and I climbed the hill behind the house with the dogs a couple of times. The rest of the family used the binoculars from the single room to watch - a change from bird and wildlife watching out the front (or back!!)

This was a trip I will never forget and I can't thank The Old Post Office enough for making our stay so great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house has everything you could possibly need - home from home
Liked least: road to the house is a bit winding but you get used to it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie H
Ash Vale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surpassed all our expectations”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We wanted a remote getaway somewhere completely different to celebrate our anniversary and from the website this property seemed to fit the bill. The previous reviews perfectly describe the facilities in the house but nothing can describe the warm cosy atmosphere of sitting in front of the open fire on a wet and stormy night or waking to sunrise over Taransay. The sight out of the window of sheep grazing on the grass on the shore of the loch welcomed us every morning and we saw a seal bobbing about near the shore on most days and even a glimpse of a golden eagle.
The road to the cottage is as previously described - single track with passing places but we saw some hilarious sights - sheep standing in a bus stop sheltering from the rain and cows running towards us over the brow of a hill. Every day was different. We were very sad to leave such a perfect cottage and location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character, views and location.
Liked least: Having to leave to go home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_B...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Exceptional”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

The care and love put into this property by Tina and Lena, and their dedication in ensuring that visitors feel at home in the 'Old Post Office' is above and beyond any other self catering property I have stayed in, home and abroad.
The location of the property may be remote to some (20 minute drive along an 'interesting' single track road) but to us the location was idyllic with the superb views, occasionally interupted by Golden Eagles.
The furnishings and cleanliness of the property were to a very high standard and the homemade scones and local fruitcake were just super.
Thank you so much Tina and Lena for helping us so much in having a wonderfully memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, comfort of the propoerty and the thought put in by the owners.
Liked least: The winding road leading to the property may be a challenge to some but to us was part of why this property is great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing