We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“even better than expected !!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sonas Cottage

Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bedroom Cast iron roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bedroom
Cast iron roll top bath
Cinema room
North Harris
View from the lounge
Sauna room
Fishing trip
Lounge
Kitchen/diner
Winter Beach
Sonas Cottage
Recliners in cinema room
Traditional Helo Sauna
Sonas Cottage
Cinema room
Bedroom
Traditional roll top bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
1967sxs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“even better than expected !!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It was our 1st time to Harris. We found the cottage only 5 minute drive from the ferry at Tarbert.

The cottage itself was fantastic. It was better than expected, and had every gadget & comfort you could wish for. The cinema room was great for the dark evenings,(we went in Jan ) & the cottage was very well equipped. The views from the lounge were like a fresh painting by the hour !!

The bed was so comfy & big we slept like logs !! The attention to detail was superb. The bath was amazing,the large walk in shower,and not to mention the sauna.

It is ideally situated for travelling the island and exploring the south of Harris & the north to Lewis.

We loved the place and were sad to leave. I would truly recommend Sonas,We have stayed in many cottages & this has been by far the best, with attention to detail & quality.

.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodeCam
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Words cannot justify what we experienced at Sonas Cottage. We are still raving about it to anyone who will listen more than 2 months later. If you are the kind of person who loves to get away from the rush of life and immerse yourself in luxury touches and nature - this is the place for you. Angus made the booking process a joy with his immediate replies. As soon as we arrived we spent about 3 seconds deciding we needed to extend our stay.

Every bit of effort that has gone into this cottage has paid off - the floors, the fire, the lounges, the kitchen (with amazing mountain views), the appliances, the (absolutely insane) cinema room, choice of 3 luxurious bathrooms, sauna, the BEST shower you have ever had. As if that wasn't enough Angus leaves fluffy slippers, a Scottish rubber duck (already been sent back to Aus), and chocolates, biscuits and a bottle of Sparkling Elderflower water. He gave us the extra night for a huge discount and was very flexible with payment. The value for money here is ridiculous.

Could not fault this property at all, if we could chose somewhere to live permanently, we would have no problems settling down right there.

6 out of 5 Stars from us. Thank you so much, we literally had to drag ourselves away when we left

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Winter Break”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to get away from it all whatever the time of year,this is the place for you. The specifications of the accommodation are second to none. If you've been out for a bracing winter walk, as we did during our first ever visit to Harris, then have a sauna!, or a bath in the enormous roll top bath, or have a hot shower (there are two to choose from; no need to fight over who goes first.)

The cinema Room is superb.

The sound system which caters for even the most discerning of techies.
Our week there was just too short. Harris has a lot to offer just remember it is in the Hebrides!
Lastly there were nice little touches set for you by the owner that helped to make our break special (Big fluffy dressing gowns with slippers,a plastic duck for the bath!! Chockies for the movies and lots more)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shelter and comfort”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a cold week in June. The cottage is in a lovely location with views across to South Harris. The bay is the site of one of Lord Leverhulme's initiatives - a whaling station that failed in the early 1900s. The remains of it - one tall chimney, are oddly moving. While that makes Sonas Cottage not quite a sylvan retreat, it also makes for very interesting birdwatching. The starlings swooped en masse each evening before cramming themselves onto the top of the tower.

The cottage is recent - and well weather-proofed (which we appreciated in the wet and windy/cold part of June). The heating is wonderful. The cottage is advertised as luxury - with a sauna, separate bathroom and a cinema room. We never used these and in fact there is more than sufficient comfort in the house without these city-like features. Maybe they would be good for winter visitors but were not a selling point for us.

The location is good for walking the hills and is not far from the track up into eagle country. Tarbert is close enough (5 minutes by car) that the good food at the Harris Hotel and Ardasaig House means there is no need to cook. It is good for South Harris but it is a trek up to Stornoway and the north west of Lewis. The local eggs left by the owner's mother-in-law were the best I have ever eaten!

Do:
If staying for a week, go to Croft 36 on the south of the island and buy prepared meals - they are excellent.
Buy black pudding in Stornoway
If coming north from North Uist, buy MacLean's smoked salmon and scallops before you take the ferry to Harris.
Book dinner for a Sunday well in advance (if not cooking at the cottage)
Read the entries in the journal left by previous visitors when you arrive. I only looked with one day left and found I had missed out on useful advice.
Pack slippers (sorry - sounds very middle-aged but it makes sense here) - the floors are wooden and they like to keep them in good condition.

Don't:
Don't rely on the food shop in Tarbert.
Use Tescos in Stornoway. Go to the big Co-op there instead - it sells local produce of a speciality kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heating and the location
Liked least: The space wasted by the sauna and the cinema room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottrave...
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst thing about staying at Sonas cottage is having to leave”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I visit Scotland every year and have spent time on Harris each of the past 5 years, we found Sonas cottage on the Internet and thought it sounded like the perfect place to relax and leave the stresses of our daily life behind. We were not disappointed, this place is fabulous with all of the modern amenities and is surrounded by stunning scenery, you can almost feel the stress flowing out of your body. This was in June of 2012 and I really cannot give a more wringing endorsement than to say we will be staying at Sonas again in June of this year. My wife and I have travelled to many beautiful places, however, I can truly say that no where we have visited has captured our hearts the way the Isle of Harris has and I can not imagine a better place to enjoy the majestic scenery and plentiful wildlife than Sonas cottage. For those who love to golf there is a great little golf course between Tarbert and Leverburgh the course is challenging and well maintained with the views spectacular. Well after a day of golf or sightseeing guess what you get to go back to Sonas and enjoy your own movie theatre or maybe a sauna or maybe both. The cottage is superb and really is an ideal place to stay and enjoy the magical Isle of Harris. This is a special place and if you stay you will not be disappointed, we are already planning June 2014 at Sonas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,amenities,movie theatre,sauna,scenery
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing