We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy”
Review of The Frigate

The Frigate
Ranked #18 of 24 Restaurants in Ullapool
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

I had apple juice and chocolate fudge cake - it was tasty and a must! Definitely a must when you are in ullapool and want a snack.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Bibcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2021

We were waiting to board our boat with Shearwater Cruises and thought we would pop in for some hot drinks while we waited. We found the service really disappointing and very slow. When our hot drinks did arrive my cappuccino wasn't very hot.
We watched two members of staff approach a table adjacent to us that needed clearing and neither of them actually cleared it completely or cleaned it down. There didn't seem to be anyone in charge and it all seemed a little chaotic.
Even when it came to paying we were left at the till for ages.Not a great example of hospitality especially if you want customers to return in the evening for dinner!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amidlifeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

Amazing dinner: best of the NC500. Had the mussels as a starter and honestly some of the best mussels I have ever had. Great service and great cocktails. Staff were so friendly and up for a wee chat. Had a pizza for a main which had a lovely tomato base and good thin and crusty base. Couldn’t recommend enough for a no fuss tasty evening meal

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Curiosity15160232823
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stop! We stopped here for lunch and enjoyed a Cullen skink, goats cheese pizza with a bowl of chips. The food was excellent along with the service from the young staff who were busy but extremely friendly and polite. Food came quickly. The only thing that let the restaurant down was the lack of table service for outside seating, this would have definitely made the visit 5 stars. Saying this I hope we have the pleasure of stopping here again in the future.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank the_trout_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

Food decent on reduced menu but we finished and plates were cleared. No one approached us. 15 mins later we asked for desert menu. This did not materialise so we paid and left. Awful service.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 631kieranr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Frigate also viewed

Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Frigate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.