We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We stay year after year and are never...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ferryboat Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio and barbeque for al fresco dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The patio and barbeque for al fresco dining
Conservatory views across the garden
Double bedroom with traditional pine furniture
Double bedroom with traditional pine furniture
View of the garden and loch, from double bedroom
Twin bedroom with traditional pine furniture
View of the patio, garden and loch, from twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul H
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We stay year after year and are never disappointed. Home from home.”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in April this year and got brilliant weather. The cottage was, as always, clean and tidy and ready to welcome us thanks to owners, Hilda and Rob. A well equipped kitchen. spacious lounge and sunny conservatory make evenings in pleasant. Beautiful garden facing onto Loch Ken and surrounding wooded areas. Fishing off the jetty is good fun.
We are looking forward to retuning again next year.
******************************************************

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, Relaxing and Beautiful”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I arrived to a very warm welcome. We immediately fell in love with the cottage and it's surroundings. It was like a home from home and there were extra special touches everywhere such as some welcome treats, bubbly and information on the history of the property! We were lucky to have gorgeous sunshine all week long but I'm very sure that the view would be beautiful still in all weathers. There are lots of things to do in the area but we chose to be lazy and just enjoy the cottage and each others company. My favourite part was watching the sun coming up every morning over the loch whilst sitting on the jetty with a good book and a cup of tea! We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temefishe...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“magical”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in March 2014

I have stayed at ferryboat cottage several times,both with my wife and on occasion my fishing buddy.we have found the cottage to be perfect, from the location on the banks of loch ken, to all the amenities the cottage has to offer and of course the owners hilda and rob who greet you when you arrive,show you round and then leave you to enjoy your holiday,we cannot recommend ferryboat highly enough, as I said,PERFECT

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect peaceful retreat we cant resist returning to again and again.”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our first visit to Ferryboat was back in 2006 and we have re-visited for a further seven holidays, so yes we love this place.
Rob and Hilda are lovely people who go out of their way to offer a really warm welcome and provide everything you could possibly need in the cottage, which is beautiful and surrounded by fantastic views and abundant bird and wildlife. Quite often we would spend the whole day in and arround the cottage just watching the wildlife, with Rabbits Hares, Stoats in the garden as well as Deer close by in the woods. The bird life is amazing, we have even fed Red Kites in the garden on occasion. You can fish on the Loch a few foot steps from the cottage door, or visit the numerous nature reserves in the area. We had always visited the Highlands prior to holidaying at Ferryboat, not knowing what the area had to offer, but now we are definitely converts to Dumfries and Galloway. The area has great woodland and moorland areas to explore as well as miles of coastline and coastal villages to visit. There are many historic places to see and plenty of good places to eat while you are on your travels.
All in all a fantastic location, but what makes it is the cottage and the setting which is stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location setting and wildlife
Liked least: nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pops777
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Idyllic Hideaway”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a magical place, a truly idyllic hideaway - we really loved every moment of our visit !
We have stayed in numerous self catering cottages in Scotland and Ferryboat Cottage is definitely in a class of its own ,everything about it is perfection from the cottage itself including the exquisite but homely furnishings to the lochside location with its breathtaking garden. A haven for wildlife we never tired of watching the enchanting visitors and having a private mooring for our boat was the icing on the cake !
Hilda & Rob were so welcoming ... the lovely touches & the attention to detail all contributed to making it such a very special place.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home and stunning garden .
As you will remember we found it impossible to leave & it will be of no surprise to you we can't wait to come back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,078
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing