We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property and owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Mill

Burnbrae Mill Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae Sandyhills Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae
Sandyhills Beach
Sledging at Burnbrae
Mountain biking in Dalbeattie Forest
Red Haven Beach
Loch Ken Aqua Park
Badgers photographed by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae Mill April 2017
The night sky by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae April 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
watsonson...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely property and owners”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked property based upon the reviews and location ( wanted to mountain bike in several of 7 Staines located near to property). We had a fantastic week - mill was large, very well equipped and extremely clean. Allan came and chatted with us on our arrival, gave us some top tips for cycling and offered for his 3 boys to play football with our two. Soon it was almost a nightly event that their boys would call to ours to ask to play; we would sometimes all go round to their garden in the evening ( midges allowing); they were very welcoming!
We will keep lovely memories of this holiday. It was all I had hoped for and more due to the warm hospitality, perfect accomodation and even good Scottish weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality / spacious clean accomodation
Liked least: A little chilly downstairs in bedrooms
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryj50hn...
FORFAR, ANGUS
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family break in beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Have just returned from a few days at Burnbrae Mill. This is an excellent property in a beautiful part of the country. It was spotless, comfortable, spacious, and the view fro the upstairs lounge was lovely.
The weather was beautiful which added to the enjoyment of the mill. The kids particularly liked the out door toys which were available and the slide in the garden.
There is a lot to do in the surrounding area. A particular favourite with us was the cocoabean chocolate factory where the kids took a workshop and made some chocolates. Cannot praise this place enough - very good value for money.
Only drawback was the lack of service for,our mobiles - but maybe that was a good thing!!
Thoroughly enjoyed this break and would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Poor internet connection
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl W
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A lovely cottage in a stunning location, a memorable holiday”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

You would be hard put to find anything better than this cottage. It is in a truly rural setting but with every comfort, and very close to many places. The bedrooms are charming with extremely comfortable beds, all mod cons in the two bathrooms and kitchen. Spacious and airy upper floor lounge (wonderful view) and kitchen with quality equipment. It was so peaceful too, an ideal place to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the sheer comfort
Liked least: poor phone signal
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bleschu
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable home from home”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This property offered everything you could possibly need for a weekend break. The bed and the sofas were so comfortable I didn't want to leave! Lovely to sit in the living room watching the sheep and goats in the field and the dramatic thunderstorm we had on our last evening, while the night before we had entertained guests on the BBQ! Convenient for 7 stanes mountain biking at mabie forest, dalbeattie and kirroughtree all within a short drive. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and well equipped
Liked least: No champagne flutes! :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic getaway”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This has to be the cleanest house we've stayed in, and we've stayed in quite a few! We travelled as a family of 4 and all of us, kids included, commented on the quality of the sleep we had, the beds are super comfy! The house is well equipped and there were lots of welcoming extras provided. We were very impressed by the owners' attention to detail and would not hesitate to recommend the property to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing