We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and comfortable accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lochside Apartment

Balcony view across Lochside Park, Carlingwark Loch and the hills of Screel and Ben Gairn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony view across Lochside Park, Carlingwark Loch and the hills of Screel and Ben Gairn
Balconies from Lochide Park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Balcony view across Lochside Park, Carlingwark Loch and the hills of Screel and Ben Gairn
Balconies from Lochide Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Weekendtr...
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and comfortable accomodation”
Reviewed 16 June 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is really well furnished; light and modern. Everything you need for a comfortable break is there. We were really lucky with the weather so we used the balcony, with folding doors off the living room, every day. The location is great for access to some of the 7stanes bike parks although the secure bike store could be a bit taller so that bikes can be stored upright. I would definatley recommend these apartments!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony with folding doors from the living room
Liked least: Cycle store could have been taller
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KCodd
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, superb location. Highly recommend a visit!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my two teenage sons (15 and 17) and we could not have been more pleased that we chose Lochside Apartments as our base.

The pictures on the website and on Trip Advisor accurately represent the accommodation which was immaculate.

We arrived late evening (10pm) and Sarah was on hand to show us around, welcoming us with treats of chocolates, fresh bread, ground coffee, local biscuits, fresh milk and even a Victoria sponge!

Everything we could possibly have needed was available and the furnishings were wonderfully comfortable. The boys were particularly impressed with the ipod docking stations in the living room and both bedrooms and the free wifi connection was a very welcome bonus.

We were staying in the area until Sunday afternoon and we were able to leave the apartment around 4pm with no hint that this was inconvenient and with no excess charges.

I have already recommended Lochside Apartments to family and would not waste any time considering staying elsewhere should I visit Dumfries and Galloway again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camdor
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - we've booked the next trip!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We were lucky to be the first to stay in Apartment 2 in April. We were welcomed by Andrew who has overlooked nothing in equipping the apartment to make our stay enjoyable. Lochside is very convenient for Castle Douglas for shopping and eating out and being on the edge of the park the views from the terrace are great.

We found Castle Douglas a good central location for exploring the area and enjoyed trips to Threave and Kirkcudbright. Would recommend a visit to the biscuit factory shop - not a good idea if you are watching your weight!

We and were so impressed we returned in September and have already booked for 2012.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful accommodation within walking distance of town.
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing