We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Glentrool Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
front
front of house
Living Room
Living Room
wood burner
Kitchen
dinning room
Double Bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
back Garden
Access to forest at rear
Forest at rear of cottage
Beside Loch Trool, Glentrool
Loch Trool
Bruces Stone, Loch Trool
Hills beside Glentrool
Rear of cottage in snow
Loch Trool
Wood Of Cree
7 Stanes Glentrool
Loch Trool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarolD07
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were delighted with the cottage, spotless, comfortable and spacious. Everything is provided, even books and games and games for children, garden is well kept and secure with the the forest just out back. We couldn't have asked for more. We were lucky with the weather and got to see the stars. It really is idyllic in Glentrool and we hope we will go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. Really glad you had good weather and enjoyed your time in Glentrool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Dec 2013
Thank you for your stay and your review - I'm glad you found everything you needed at the cottage and had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alison H
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfy and very relaxing”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a great holiday at Glentrool Cottage. The house itself was really cosy and homely and had everything we needed. The children were well catered for with lots of games and books - I especially appreciated the fact that there were plastic cups and plates for them. We enjoyed lots of lovely walks, great mountain biking and were lucky to have lots of clear skies to enjoy the stars! The children really enjoyed being able to go out the back gate and explore the forest. Overall a lovely relaxing time was had by the whole family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location in Galloway Forest
Liked least: quite far from local shops
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
Hi
Thank you for your stay at the cottage and your review. Really glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and had good weather to appreciate the dark skies.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review - I am really pleased that you had a good time and that you enjoyed your stay. We have now installed a washing machine for our guests convenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clareo888...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why No washing machine!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Although the location is great the lack of washing machine is bizarre - it is sitting unused under the stairs - we desperately needed this as were on a 2 week stay working for the Forestry Commission so needed fresh clothes each day x 2 people after long hard days outside working in the heat ...- I am sure walkers and mountain bikers would need the same!!! The cottage description v cleverly omits whether or not there is a washing machine (you assume there is as it has everything else) & we feel it should be made clear as this is a basic item not a luxury ! Also the cooker and fridge need a good clean - oven so full of dried fat etc that the smoke alarm went off every time we used it! So Assume other reviewers didnt do any proper cooking! A few other key items missing eg. no weighing scales so had to guess amounts for making pastry and scones! Sorry but overall the cottage is reasonable not fantastic.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review. Just to clarify - you stayed at the cottage for one week and not two as your review would imply.
We prioritised installing a new dishwasher over a washing machine as we felt that guests would not want to spend their time washing dishes. However we have also bought a new washing machine and intend to find a suitable location and instal as soon as we can, as we know guests would also like this facility. We did not try to hide the fact that there is not a washing machine at the property - it is simply not listed as one of the facilities available - you can just list what is available and not what isn't available! If a washing machine was essential for your stay it may have been an idea to enquire before hand.
I thought I had supplied everything necessary in the kitchen but you are right there were no kitchen scales - we have now added these to the kitchen equipment available.
Oven - the oven was thoroughly cleaned with oven cleaner before your arrival as it is before every guests arrival - I can only assume that there was a little cooking fat splashed on the grill elements which may have caused it to smoke a litte - so sorry about that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing