We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nutkin Cottage - Nr Newton Stewart”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nutkin Cottage

Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden
Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Bruntis Loch, a short walk from the cottage through the forest alongside Bruntis Burn.
Red squirrel in cottage garden
Separate dining room with door leading to lounge
Spacious double bedroom next to bathroom
Nutkin Cottage garden in Autumn
Magnificent Loch Trool in the Galloway Forest Park
Spacious twin bedroom with en suite shower-room
Nutkin Cottage kitchen with views from 3 windows
Rear hall
Rear side of NUtkin Cottage facing East
Nutkin Cottage garden with topiary in June.
Woodpecker in the cottage garden
Back out to enjoy the nut
Nutkin Cottage Garden
Squirrel lifts lid and helps himself
This is just outside the patio doors at Nutkin Cottage
Red squirrel feeding on the garden patio 3 feet from the patio doors.
Kippford Beach
Red squirrel on Nutkin Cottage patio
Red squirrel on Nutkin grass
Zac taking a leap into Bruntis Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alangore1
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nutkin Cottage - Nr Newton Stewart”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The best weeks holiday we had in years! Jenny and Vince are wonderful hosts and the property is immaculate. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and services offered.
Liked least: Had to return home too soon.
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your review it is very much appreciated. Also thank you for leaving the cottage so clean when you left. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you choose to visit.
Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomthegre...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC COTTAGE IN GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

If you are looking for somewhere to relax and chill out with plenty to do on your doorstep with a great welcome on your arrival.

THEN THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU...

JENNIE was there to show us around on arrival with home made cake to have with our cuppa, brilliant just what was needed after our long journey.

WE THEN SETTLED INTO THIS WELL MAINTAINED COTTAGE WITH EXCELLENT GARDEN ON THE EDGE OF GALLOWAY FOREST.

Soon we got acquainted with all the bird life that visited nutkins lovely garden and later in the week with the red squirrels racing around.

COTTAGE IMMACULATE AND VERY COMFORTABLE and all equipment needed for the week.

Walks straight into the Galloway forest from the cottage
KIRROUGHTREE CENTRE about a five minute walk away with good food available..

All areas of Dumfrieshire easily in reach on pleasantly mostly quiet roads..


MOST PUBS had good food
STEAM PACKET ISLE OF WHITHORN EXCELLENT

LAIRDS INN on the nearby caravan park although pleasantly sited at present not a place for food ore to be missed sorry to say.

GLENWHAN GARDENS not to be missed when in area a real treat!

IF returning to Dumfries NUTKIN COTTAGE would be the only place to stay.

CAKE AND HOMEMADE BREAD SUPPLIED BY JENNIE CERTAINLY WILL TAKE US BACK THERE!!!!!!

THANKS JENNIE AND VINCE

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. We try very hard to get it right and it is good to know that it is appreciated. Thank you also for leaving the cottage spotless. We would love to see you again soon.
Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian H
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My father and I needed somewhere practical to stay in the area for work purposes. Nutkin Cottage was the best solution for us in terms of location and affordability. I'm pleased to say that the accommodation was exactly as described - comfortable and clean accommodation in an idyllic location. The only regret we have is that we didn’t have more free time to enjoy the abundance of wildlife and beautiful scenery on the doorstep of the cottage. Also, a big thank you to the owner, Jennie, who made us feel very welcome and for finding my lost watch!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you for choosing Nutkin Cottage. Hope to see you again when you have more time to enjoy our little part of Paradise! Pleased I found your watch. Regards, Jennie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane1111...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here at Nutkins cottage, warm friendly welcome from Jenny, we loved the cottage, home from home, bread cake and tea for our arrival. Loved the area with being right in the centre of the Galloway Forrest Park, lovely walks, good weather, plenty to do around, Newton Stewart only 5 mins away in the car. Loved watching the red squirrels coming into the garden, we will be returning, thanks Jenny x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quite and the red squirrels in the garden and the walks
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely in every way.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just had a week in this lovely cottage. It is spacious, clean, comfortable. Lovely rural location with walking from the door, but less than a mile to the main road. Many hours can be spent just watching all the birds on the feeders - top up bird food was provided, and needed! Jenny welcomed us with the table laid for tea and a lovely fruit cake. Fresh flowers in the lounge. Modern, bright kitchen which is well equipped. Only negative comments are: a shower over the bath in main bathroom would be welcome, and more ovenproof dishes or casserole type dishes. Overall a very thoughtfully equipped and furnished cottage with plenty of space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing