We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful way to stay in the Borders”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
First floor bathroom- the bath has a view of the stars!
Welcome to Kersmains Cottage....
The grounds of Kersmains...
Kersmains Cottage...private entrance and secluded garden
Cosy up by the log burner...
Large walk in power shower...
Guest Reviews...
Private garden for picnics or lounging in the sunshine....
Floors Castle just minutes from Kersmains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George A
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful way to stay in the Borders”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage was in immaculate condition, supplied with tea and coffee essentials and fitted with an excellent cooker and efficient wood-burner. The hosts were very welcoming and gave us a quick tour of their working farm. The cottage is set against fields with a peaceful rural view and only a short drive into Kelso. On previous trips to Kelso we have stayed in a hotel, from now on the cottage will be our fist choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful and private location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
It was a pleasure to have you all to stay at Kersmains for your fishing trip and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes for a lovely Summer, Ashley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesdr...
1 review
“Fabulous accomodation”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for the weekend. On arrival there was milk in the fridge and essentials we may need during our stay. Cottage was cosy,clean and tidy. Hosts were tremendous and made the stay an extremely enjoyable one .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review- it really does make a big difference to our little business and we really do appreciate it. Hope to welcome you back to Kersmains again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icklefrek...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant farm cottage break for new year!”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a great time with our friends for a new year break. Fabulous farm cottage with plenty of space for everyone travelling in our group.
Ashley and Simon were so friendly and helpful even though they were going away for new year as well. We felt very at home at the cottage and loved sitting by the log burner whilst listening to the wind and rain howling outside on new years day.
We only wish that the weather had been nicer to allow us to get out and explore the local area and blow away the cobwebs after a great night partying.
We would definitely recommend the cottage to anyone who would like to get away from the day to day grind, and wanting to get back to nature without cutting themselves off completely (Kelso is very close by for any supplies)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we loved the size of the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you all enjoyed a lovely New Year break at Kersmains. We hope to see you back again sometime!
Best wishes,
Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo_Sca...
Shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant cottage in a beautiful part of the world - top notch.”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from our second visit to Kersmains and wanted to say what an amazing place it is. Been with out two young children and our friends and their son. It's a lovely place, really nicely decorated, clean as a whistle and has loads of rooms downstairs! Very well stocked kitchen (no scales though!) and the owners couldn't do enough to help. Ashley helped out with some rainy day ideas for the kiddies whilst the daddies were fishing and even popped in to a local countryside place to get us details of a music class they had on for preschoolers. We will be back for our annual October holiday :) Thank you

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
Thank you Paula! Look forward to welcoming you all back in October and kitchen scales have been added so thanks for the feedback! Best wishes, Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyB848
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great, well equipped cottage. Lovely friendly people. Beautiful part of the country. Will be back.. soon. A++.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing