We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic find in the Borders!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Holidays

Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Relax in the cottage garden. Admire the rural views over the Eden Water to the Cheviot Hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Relax in the cottage garden. Admire the rural views over the Eden Water to the Cheviot Hills
We supply lots of wood for your log burning stove. Each cottage also has central heating throughout.
Relax in front of your wood burner, we supply lots of home grown wood.
Spacious living room with smart TV and fast reliable fibre WiFi
Bright kitchen with large window. Welcome tray awaits your arrival with homebaking.
Mungo's Well and Begrum cottages can have twin beds.
Level access from carpark to each cottage.
Easy level access to the front door from the carpark.
View from patio. Come and walk in our fields.
Come and BBQ while admiring the magnificent view
The lockable cycle shed for your bikes, fishing gear, golfing equipment.
Early morning view from patio
Thairn cottage conservatory and patio overlooks lovely cottage garden.
A warm welcome awaits you whatever the weather
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheilamag...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in the Borders!”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have visited Burnbrae many times and always marvel at the wonderful accommodation and surroundings as well as the terrific welcome we receive. The cottages are all superbly furnished and equipped. Beds extremely comfortable. Wifi now excellent. This time we stayed in Begrum and our young labrador had a wonderful time in the surrounding fields. The porch and heated cloakroom made wet walks manageable! Thank you Yvette and boys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. The drying rooms, efficient central heating and wood burning stove makes a stay at Burnbrae a warm one, whatever the weather. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic T
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“In the country 3 miles north of Kelso, it was comfortable, warm, & peaceful.”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If you're looking for a small place in the country, as a base for touring the Borders, these cottages are worth serious consideration. We booked at the last minute and were lucky to get the last available cottage. Although sited within yards of the main road, we heard no traffic. There was plenty of space for 5 or 6 cars. The view from the conservatory over the paddocks, with the occasional horses, was so relaxing. The cottage was ideal for two, and while we entertained without feeling squashed, sleeping more than two would have been difficult.
We definitely recommend Burnbrae Holidays, and would welcome the chance to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thankyou taking the time to help others by writing this review. We think that Burnbrae is located ideally for exploring the many towns, historic houses and majestic abbeys in the area.
We have had 13 cars parked in the car park, with organised parking, when we hosted a textile workshop here at Burnbrae.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allandot
Inchinnan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Mungo's Well is ideal for a couple. We were fortunate to get particularly good weather but I don't think it would matter when you visited. The cottage has everything needed for a quiet break. The conservatory and patio have beautiful views over countryside. The cottage is very well placed for visiting places of interest. A comfortable bed, good shower and large towels add to the pleasure. The WIFI is the best we've had on a country holiday. Kelso has a Coop store in town and just outside there is a Sainsburys so no problem picking up food. I would recommend Burnbrae Holidays to anyone who wants a peaceful retreat in comfort. Many thanks Yvette for your hospitalitity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thankyou for taking the time to review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed a relaxing week and yet to visited so many historical houses, all a short drive from here. It was lovely to meet and chat with you. We'd love to welcome you back any time. Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHG_12
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delightful holiday cottage”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We recently stayed in "Mungo's Well" for four days and were delighted with our accommodation. The house had a living room with dining area, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom - all very comfortably furnished and immaculately clean. There was also a small conservatory with superb views of the adjacent countryside.
The owner was very friendly and helpful. She had obviously given considerable attention to providing everything that you could possibly need on a self-catering holiday. A nice touch was the provision of home made scones and tea and coffee on our arrival.
The countryside around the cottages is beautiful. We also enjoyed our visits to Kelso (5 mins by car) and Melrose (20 mins). Eating places that we could recommend in Kelso are the Cobbles Inn and Pharlanne.
So a thoroughly enjoyable holiday with accommodation that we recommend highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Delightful cottage in pleasant surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially the home baking on the welcome tray. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back to Burnbrae Holidays soon. Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our annual getaway”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment Yvette helped with unpacking the car, and the welcome tray with those fabulous warm scones, butter and jam we knew we were in our second home. It must be good, this is our fifth visit in four years, and the same high standard of accommodation has changed, for the better. The views from the conservatory are what keep us going in the dark winter days at home.
There is so much to see and do in the area, with good restaurants near by, but if the weather is poor watching the bird life just a few feet from the conservatory windows is great entertainment.

Look our Yvette, we will be back.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and calm and those sunsets
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments its a pleaseure having you to stay. I ensure that the bird feeders are filled up as I also enjoy watching the birds so close to the coservatory windows. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing