We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Pickle House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Pickle House
Dining Room/Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Old Pickle House
Dining Room/Sitting Room
Kitchen
Downstairs Shower Room
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 with Adult Size Bunk Beds
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace  Fantastic Views over Kelso
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wjamiewil...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My friends and i booked the old pickle house for our annual golfing trip to kelso for the second year , the house itself was lovely and ideally situated just of the town sqaure so you are not far from shops restaruants and pubs !. Also the town itself was really nice, people are friendly and a few good "meal deals " at kelso golf club and the hirsel golf club as both are within a short distance. I would recommend the old pickle house to anyone, there was six of us staying and would say this was ideal.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billylaff...
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay great town house great location”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at old pickle house and I would highly recommend this accommodation, which coming from me is a compliment as I am the most fussy guest you could imagine. I have to say we could find no faults with this house .I have never been in a rented house that made me feel so much at home everything from decor to bedding to cutlery was first class and the location in center of town was ideal for us. I will most definitely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and facilities
Liked least: The Stairs (but no big deal)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June E
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage, home from home, excellent location.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Myself and my family spent five nights at The Old Pickle House and it was just everything you could ask for, first class accommodation. It was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and spacious, and had everything we needed, down to the soaps, shower gel and shampoo, a nice added touch. You could not ask for anything more.
Kelso was a lovely little town, peaceful and pictureseque, with The old Pickle house being in the centre of it all, everything close to hand.
We will definitely come back to stay again in the future. Thanks again. JE

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortableness and homeliness of The Old Pickle House.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the old pickle house with my family. the house is lovely and provides everything you need even down to shower gel and bath foam.Very central location with pubs restaurants and shops minutes away.Kelso is a little market town and the locals are very friendly.Beautiful town clock which chimes on the hour.Didnt meet mr and mrs darling but spoke on the phone they are really people.I will certainly be returning to this lovely house xx Only one complaint went for lunch at a local restaurant on New Year's Eve and ended up with sickness and diiahorrea so won't be going there again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
660Dot
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped house”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Comfortable, clean and well equipped house. Nice and quiet away from the sound of traffic yet very central for shops. Central for touring borders and North of England

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing