We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure English Delight”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bridge Cottage

A romantic cosy cottage situated beside the beautiful River Barle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A romantic cosy cottage situated beside the beautiful River Barle
The view of Bridge Cottage garden from your bedroom window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
A romantic cosy cottage situated beside the beautiful River Barle
The view of Bridge Cottage garden from your bedroom window
The Classic 1950's Petrol station in the heart of Withypool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Withypool, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DTSTOKIE
SATFFORDSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pure English Delight”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

After a nightmare journey on the M6/M5 this lovely cottage is just what we needed with its wonderful location in the quaint village of Withypool. The cottage and its location are outstanding, to walk out of the sun room into a very pretty garden straight down to the river is a pure delight. We had a lovely time 'fishing' in the river with our daughter and she particularly enjoyed playing with Amy and Suzanna (our hosts delightful daughters) and we were made to feel very welcome by Tony and Anita. The village shop is run by Tony and Anita so it is nice to have that contact just in case you need them for anything and they also live in the village. We visited Exmoor Zoo and the Big Sheep which were both excellent and the Woolacombe beach is very good with some nice tea rooms in the area, the beach is very large so a great place to take kids or just relax. We enjoyed ourselves so much we have already booked for next year, this cottage and its location need to be seen to be believed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly hosts
Liked least: Parking a bit tight
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris N
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Found the sound of the river very therapeutic.
Wonderful walk & delicious cream tea at Tarr Steps & the cliff top walk at Valley of the Rocks in Lynton is thoroughly recommended.
Really good food, fabulous service with a warm & friendly welcome was had at The Exmoor White Horse Inn in Exford.
The lovely garden was enjoyed by all but especially by our border collie.
Lovely week that went far too quickly.
P.S. Extremely comfy beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden & river
Liked least: Parking access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful homely cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Ideal central location for the heart of Exmoor. The cottage is full of character and charm, which will make you feel instantly at home. Bridge Cottage is in a peaceful location with a wonderful garden and picturesque views of the river and beyond. Tony & Anita (owners) are very helpful and will do there upmost to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Great walks from the village, check out The Royal Oak for great food and chat. Village tea room opening soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gvsuk
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Cottage in an Idyllic Spot”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Both my wife and I stayed at this cottage recently along with our small dog Pedro.
We cannot rate this place highly enough! We wanted somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of the City and somewhere we could go for walks and to meet new people. We were not disappointed, the owners of the cottage were very welcoming and actually own the General Store which is only 20 yrds away. The cottage is ideally sited on the bank of the river which is without doubt the best spot in the village! We cannot recommend this place enough!
Thanks for a wonderful stay, Alan & Helen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Original features
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenellaB7...
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best holiday cottage EVER!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Wonderful welcome; picturesque cottage; immaculate; extremely well equipped; idyllic riverside frontage; friendly village pub with great food; village shop and post office; cafe (yummy ice cream); central location in the heart of Exmoor! What more could you want for a relaxing break or very comfortable and practical base for walking/country sports? I am booking again right now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect in all ways!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing