We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't ask for better”
other travellers have booked this property
Located at the gateway to the Shropshire Hills, within An Area of Outstanding Beauty.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Located at the gateway to the Shropshire Hills, within An Area of Outstanding Beauty.
Arden House a fine Arts & Crafts country house with period details. Lounge with gas fire, plasma TV & DVD, dining table, desk and comfortable sofa and chair.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Located at the gateway to the Shropshire Hills, within An Area of Outstanding Beauty.
Arden House a fine Arts & Crafts country house with period details.
Lounge with gas fire, plasma TV & DVD, dining table, desk and comfortable sofa and chair.
Lounge with plasma TV, & DVD, dining table, desk and comfortable sofa and chair.
Dining table with a view of the Caradoc and Shropshire HIlls.
Fully fitted kitchen with dish washer, washer/dryer, microwave, fridge/freezer.
Can be taken with super king size or twin beds
Ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Arden House offers a warm wecome
Entrance hall to Darwin apartment
Entrance hall to Darwin apartment
Garden terrace overlooking the renowned Carding Mill Valley,
The perfect place to enjoy the garden.
Arden House gardens in full bloom!
With sensor lighting for nighttime walks.
Arden House gardens with wonderful views across the Long Mynd.
The historic market town of Church Stretton with fabulous restaurants, country pubs and tea rooms.
Carding Mill Valley - Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - is outside the front door.
Luxury holiday apartments, with far reaching views, finished to the highest of standards .
Perfect for watching the sun go down.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MatAndMai
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Before even getting to Arden House itself, anyone who enjoys the country shouldn't pass up the opportunity to visit Church Stretton. The valleys around it offer up an amazing view from the quaint little village and especially Arden House itself, and they make for a wonderful daytime walk, too. Arden House sits right at the foot of Shropshire Hills; you couldn't possibly get closer to where you can go for a lovely walk through them.

The House is just as idyllic as it's surroundings - a beautiful building run by the helpful and ever delightful couple Julie and Ian. We stayed in the Darwin suite, the smallest (but still spacious) suite available, and attention was paid to every tiny detail. The rooms and furnishings are cozy, tasteful and impeccably clean, and just added to the atmosphere of Arden House feeling more like a second home than a hotel. The bathroom and kitchen were kitted out with everything you could need and more, and to say the price for all this is reasonable would be an understatement. I know I'll be going back some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic value for money.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay – we feel privileged to live in such a wonderful location and love sharing ‘the hidden gem’ with our guests. Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write such a glowing review. We love Arden House and feel it is a very special place - it is so rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We hope to see you both again very soon. Very best wishes, Julie & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne K
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fabulous as ever!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Another great time in my favourite place! Church Stretton and the surrounding hills are simply out of this world and Arden House is too. Loved everything about it. Can't wait to go back and show more of my friends and relatives this wonderful place. Keep up the good work you two.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your glowing review - we are so lucky to live in such a beautiful place. It was great to see you again and meet your wonderful daughter. We are so pleased you had a relaxing break together and as a regular guest, we are delighted you liked our new self-catering apartments.

All our very best wishes and hope to see you again soon! Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatodeElC...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

To describe the experience at Arden House as exceptional is probably an understatement ! From the warm welcome at the car door when we parked to the wonderful attention to detail in their magnificent house and not forgetting the bespoke breakfast, Ian and Julie and their family provide the perfect setting to explore Shropshire - England's hidden gem! I thoroughly recommend Arden House - you will not be disappointed! Guy & Irene

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2014
Guy / Irene

What a magic weekend and we so enjoyed your company and the time we spent at the Blues Festival in town.

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments and your very kind words, it is very much appreciated. See you again soon I hope.

Ian Julie & Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail B
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent our honeymoon at Arden House and couldn't have wished for a nicer place to stay.
Ian and Julie were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The accommodation is of a high standard with a homely feel.
There are plenty of walks right from the doorstep and Ian can provide information on things to do.
We found The Bucks Head an excellent place to eat, although there are plenty of other options.
Would definitely recommend this,
Dave & Gail

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Both

It was a pleasure to have you both here on such a happy occasion and thank you for your comments. We are also very pleased you felt it had a homely feel as that's always our intention as we share the benefits of Arden House and Church Stretton. So many corporate establishments have become so impersonal from our experience and we wanted a different approach which is more natural for us and your feedback helps to inform we are offering what people want.

Thank you for taking the time and we hope you have a long and happy marriage. Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
950RobS
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“MTB Weekend”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Great weekend, House and Rooms.
Ian, Julie and Joyce couldn't have been more welcoming and hospitable!
Great location at the bottom of the valley
We would definitely recommend Arden House.
Rob & Darren

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2013
Both

Thanks very much for your comments. Its was quite incredible to see your energy with three long days on your bikes. Also lovely to have a chat over a beer on the Friday night. Well done with your race on the following Saturday and not sure how you did that with jet lag. Lovely to see such a nice friendship and best wishes to Darren for the wedding.

Sincerely Ian Julie & Joyce.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing