We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Treasure of a Find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beas Cottage

Beas Cottage Frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beas Cottage Frontage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Beas Cottage Frontage
Lounge 1
Lounge 2
Lounge 3
Lounge 4
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 3
Master Bedroom 4
Master Bedroom 5
Dressing Room
Master Bedroom 6
Single Bedroom
Landing Area
Bathroom 1
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Kitchen 3
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
harris111...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Treasure of a Find”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A beautiful cottage in the heart of a lovely village. The cottage was very comfortablle with everything for a home from home feel. Sally was so helpful and provided a lovely welcome basket which was much appreciated. My husband and I would love to visit again but during the summer so that we could take a few more of the lovely walks that are possible right from the front door! A super bus service also runs from just outside the cottage to Ludlow and Shrewsbury.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paddleboa...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely first-rate accommodation”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I stayed here in September 2014 for a long weekend. This is an immaculately clean and well-presented two-bedroomed cottage in the heart of Church Stretton. Bea's Cottage is tastefully decorated [no eye-watering patterned wallpaper or psychedelic carpets] and superbly equipped with a nice lounge and a simple-to-operate TV and DVD player combined; it is both homely and comfortable . The cottage has one double bed and one single. The bathroom has a large corner bath/shower and soft, fluffy towels. Sally's 'welcome pack' of wine and nibbles was much appreciated and a typically thoughtful touch. The cottage is very conveniently located at the start of some wonderful walks in this relatively undiscovered area of England. We had warm and sunny weather whilst we were here and my wife, who had never been to or even heard of the Long Mynd, was stunned by its beauty. If you get the chance, do the classic Cardingmill Valley to Pole Bank walk and also ascend Caer Caradoc for some spectacular views. There is so much do do and see in this locality apart from the Long Mynd: Ludlow, Much Wenlock, Stokesay Castle, Wenlock Edge, Bridgnorth, Clun and Clun Forest - the list is almost endless. Staying at Bea's Cottage is the perfect place to stay. We cannot recommend this cottage too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition and the cleanliness of the cottage and the
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firsttime...
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Town and Country”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A well equipped cottage ideally placed for lovely walks, with good restaurants and delis nearby. Quiet location even though it is on the main road.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3Swaffham...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy little cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We, a family of 3 adults, had a very enjoyable break at this lovely cosy little cottage. It was one of the nicest holiday cottages we have ever stayed in. It was nice and clean, warmly decorated and felt homely the minute you walked in the front door. We were warmly welcomed by Sally's friend Denise. There was a lovely basket of goodies from Sally in the kitchen, milk in fridge plus tea and coffee for that first cuppa after a long journey. I met Sally and David during our stay and they were both lovely and helpful. The shower did stop working during our stay but it was replaced the following day by David with a brand new one, so no complaints - these things happen.
We found the location perfect for our needs. Parking was easy on the road around the corner. There was a bus stop outside with an hourly service to Shrewbury or Ludlow in the opposite direction which I took advantage of one day. Although the cottage is situated on the High Street, it is very quiet with not a lot of traffic passing by, so no problems sleeping with the bedroom window open.
The garden which was accessible from the kitchen and also the main bedroom was a good place to sit in the late afternoon with a drink.
Location of Bea's Cottage was ideal for our needs. About a 20 minute walk away was Carding Mill Valley- National Trust -which became a favourite place to visit during our stay.
We had a lovely weeks break at Bea's Cottage, the weather was hot and sunny. A beautiful area with stunning scenery and great walks, pubs and local shops nearby.If you are thinking about booking you won't be disappointed. Bea's Cottage is just as lovely as in the photos.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie d
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Bea's cottage is lovely, very well equipped and in a perfect location for exploring the surrounding Shropshire hills and Carding mill valley with numerous picturesque lovely walks from the doorstep. The cottage had everything we needed, it was cosy and comfortable and Sally was very welcoming and had thought of everything including a lovely welcome basket. The corner bath was very welcome after walking the hills. Our only small disappointment was the gardener had not been and the paved patio area was full of weeds and we do like sitting outside especially with the dog (whom was also made welcome with treats). We went to The Kings Arms across the road to sample the real ale and The Bucks Head where we had a lovely Sunday dinner. We also had two lovely meals in The Green Dragon in Little Stretton, these pubs are all dog friendly. We visited Ludlow and Shrewsbury, both charming historical nearby towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and cottage immaculate and very well equiped
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing