We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total escape from reality!”
other travellers have booked this property
Master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom
Front of property and patio New pavilion for all guests to use in sanctuary area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Master bedroom
Front of property and patio
New pavilion for all guests to use in sanctuary area
View of farm and fields
Front of farm
Dogs welcome
British Lop pigs on site
Undercover BBQ and cooking area
Outside patio area for all guests
Wild ponies on the Long Mynd
Fishing lake available 5 mins walk away
Heather on the Long Mynd - August/September
Rectory Wood in Church Stretton
Long Mynd walking
Hire bikes from Plush Hill Cycles
Visit Bridgnorth
Visit the Ironbridge Museums
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs J
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Total escape from reality!”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I found the website for Middle Farm Cottages back in 2016 and bookmarked it as it looked so beautiful and a total escape from our daily lives. I was lucky enough to persuade my husband to go and we went for a week in October 2017.

Well what can I say! This place is totally amazing. If you are looking for a totally relaxing stay, beautiful surroundings, stunning cottages and a very warm welcome then this is your place.

Located literally in the middle of nowhere, this place is a total escape from the world. Total peace and quiet but only a half mile walk to a smashing local pub (great food, beer and lovely welcome from the landlord and locals alike).

The cottages are spotless and come with everything you need to cook and relax on your stay. Fully equipped kitchen, books, games and a central DVD library for that cozy night in front of a film. The bed was sooo comfy, you just won't want to get up in the morning. The cakes on arrival were much appreciated too!

The farm itself is lovely...I went to see the pigs and piglets every day after all it's not every day you can walk round a corner and get a loads of piglets running over in their pen to greet you! Chickens roam freely and there are rare breed sheep and 4 shire horses too! You can even pick your own veg from Sam's veggie plot!

We did partake in some of their sausages, bacon, belly pork and chops - a definite must for any meat lovers out there! I'm totally in love with the sausages and could eat them every day (and we pretty much did while we were there!)

Out and about Church Stretton has everything you need and a reasonably sized Co-op for supplies. There's so much to do in this area that we're going back to Middle Farm in 2019 for another week! Can't recommend this place and Sam's lovely hospitality enough! You won't be disappointed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
Oh my goodness, blown away. Thank you so much for saying such lovely things. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and am already looking forward to seeing you again in the coming years. Thank you. Thank you. All the best Sam x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bampton Devon
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
What a privilege and pleasure it was to meet you both. Thank you very much for your kind words and I wish you all the best in your own venture going forward. Hope to see you again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chrian
Middleton in Teesdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very comfortable and nicely decorated cottage. Everything you need in the kitchen is there. Very friendly welcome from the owner. Easy parking. Plenty of room for a short stay. Dog friendly. Good location, remote and quiet but only a 10 minute drive to Church Stretton and its amenities. Would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to put it on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and shall hopefully look forward to welcoming you back one day! All the best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnyside...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous quality cottage in a magnificent rural location!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

I stayed at Daisy's place for 3 nights in March. The cottage looked wonderful on the website but it exceeded expectations, it was clean, fresh, beautifully decorated and furnished. The location is stunning, rural with great views. The farm is a delight, chickens clucking about, Shire horses, pigs and lovely grounds with a fishing lake, outside seating area. You can complete splendid walks directly from the cottage, amazing countryside with pubs to stop off at. The surrounding villages and attractions are a treat, Much Wenlock, Clun, Bishops Castle, National Trust properties, Ironbridge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality, cleanliness and decor of the cottage
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are always thrilled to hear when guests have had such a good experience and to know that expectations are exceeded is really wonderful. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve-Dor...
Bairnsdale Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EVEN BETTER THEN WE EXPEXTED”
Reviewed 9 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed at Middle Farm in Daisy's Cottage for one week in August 2011. The cottage was brilliantly setup and there was not one thing we could have added to the cottage that was not already supplied by Sam and Duncan.
We loved the cottage and the great country hospitality from Sam and Duncan and the other guests in other cottages
The location was very peaciful and allowed us to explore the region in around Shrewsbury and Wales.
Sam and Duncan gave us some great tips of what to see in the area including the best restaurants and pubs.
We greatly enjoyed the stay on the farm including watching the draught horses being prepared for shows .
We would highly recommend Middle Farm to others especially from Australia as it gave us the opprtunity to tour a region that most tours miss.
Thanks very much to Sam and Duncan for providing one of the hilites of our 6 week trip

Stephen and Dorothy Mann , Bairnsdale , Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottage and it's location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2011
We are absolutely thrilled to know that you so enjoyed your stay with us at Middle Farm and thank you for your kind words. It makes us very happy to know that guests enjoy not only their accommodation but also the experiences they have whilst visiting this beautiful county. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing