We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Midwood Cottage in Alnmouth with garden, parking, bike shed, and tree house. 4 Star Gold rated. Lovely super king size bed with en suite shower room. TV in bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Midwood Cottage in Alnmouth with garden, parking, bike shed, and tree house. 4 Star Gold rated.
Lovely super king size bed with en suite shower room. TV in bedroom.
Patio area in the woodland garden
Midwood Cottage open plan lounge kitchen diner with dish washer and washer drier. Free WIFI
Open plan lounge kitchen diner with dish washer and washer drier. Free WIFI and Netflix
5 minutes walk to Alnmouth beach.
En suite shower room in the Cottage
Large shared garden with tree house
The river Aln - 5 minutes walk to the estuary and beach.
View to Alnmouth from the estuary
The pretty painted houses of Lovaine Terrace in Alnmouth. You can see themfr om the train.
The beach at Alnmouth, paradise!
Alnwick Castle is 10 minutes drive away.
Sun in the garden
Lovely super king size bed with en suite shower room
Sunny patio with tree house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alnmouth, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MissScarl...
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We've just returned from a lovely New Year's break in the cottage and weren't disappointed by our first visit to the area.

We were made to feel welcome before we set off with great communication and recommendations from Christine and Louise. This was reaffirmed by a generous welcome pack and even a Christmas tree when we arrived at the cottage in the evening.

The cottage is in a great location with a very short walk to the village's main road, shops and pubs. The beach is gorgeous and is part of a lovely circular walk past the estuary and back to the cottage. Alnmouth is really well placed for exploring the local area and we felt it had just the right balance of peace, but things to do. We met some really friendly people during our visit and even joined locals in a dip in the sea on New Years Day!

The cottage was really comfortable, modern and had everything we needed during our stay. It very much felt like a home from home. There is a large garden at the back from where you could sit and look towards the estuary and great play facilities for children. The garden is shared, but we both commented on how you couldn't hear the visitors in the adjoining lodge. If there were children in the treehouse they would be able to see into the kitchen, but there are good blinds to ensure privacy and we were out everyday so didn't find this a problem. We'd definitely recommend the cottage to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you do much for your lovely review we really appreciate your kind comments as we try to make it a 'home from home'. It is wonderful to know that you felt that it really was like that. We love Alnmouth and you are the first guests, that we know of, who have taken the New Year dip in the sea. Fantastic news, you are so brave!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
194jc14
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Midwood Cottage is in a great location near to several good eateries and shops and in a lovely village with a superb beach. Unfortunately we found the actual cottage did not live up to expectations. Although the interior decor and layout was good and the cottage was clean, it smelt very musty. When we opened the kitchen window the catch fell off (we mended it!) and the shelf in the fridge door was broken and held together with gaffer tape. Although we knew the garden was shared the website gave no indication that the tree house was directly outside one of our windows and that children could be playing outside our back door resulting in balls hitting our windows and doors. Also guests in the other property (and their visitors) had to walk past the windows of the lounge and bedroom giving no privacy or peace! It wasn't the fault of the other guests (who were lovely people) but the website should have given more information about the possibility of being disturbed. We booked through Sand and Castle who haven't asked for any feedback. Sadly this wasn't the luxury accommodation we had expected but we can see that booking the two cottages together would work well for a larger or extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The outside area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you taking the time to send in your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the location and the pretty village of Alnmouth. We take great pride in Midwood Cottage and we do our best to maintain high standards. We offer our sincere apologies that Midwood Cottage didn’t live up to your expectations.

Unfortunately we were unaware of a possible broken window latch until we read your review today, as none of our guests have mentioned it, and during the school holidays we don’t get a chance to stay in the cottage ourselves. Thank you for letting us know.

We are also sorry that the fridge door shelf which holds milk etc had a temporary repair, unfortunately this was because the previous guests had put too much weight on it. We immediately ordered an exact replacement integrated fridge (as we found that we couldn’t simply order a new door). This took a week to arrive as there were none in stock and it has now been installed and fitted. We had considered taking the shelf off altogether but then decided that it might be more useful for guests to have it in place rather than not at all. In hindsight, this was clearly a mistake.

We are terribly sorry that you were disturbed by the children staying in the Lodge; they had then been staying there for 3 weeks of the summer holidays. The shared garden has been very successful in the past but we are very sorry that on this occasion you did not have peace and privacy whilst staying with us.

Just to reassure you that in the 6 years that we have let the property we have never been told of any problems between the guests in the Lodge and Cottage. We are very sorry that you were disturbed.

We will ensure in future that our guests who book via an agency, (which is a very small number of our bookings) have our full contact details and so hopefully they would feel that they can ring us directly if there are any issues.

Finally, we are very, very sorry that you were disappointed with your holiday and we would be more than happy to discuss making amends for the disappointment you have felt. Please do contact us directly by email if possible and we would be pleased to speak to you. Thank you again and we appreciate your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiddyS71
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little place of luxury!”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A lovely little cottage with everything you need to immediately start your holiday. The welcome pack including milk, wine and homemade cake etc is excellent. The owners were very accomodating to put out a fold up bed for the lodge to also sleep our little
one. Garden with the treehouse, tree swing and games was her favourite. We love Alnmouth and have been many times and would happily return to this cottage,maybe with friends next door next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you Alec, what a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and stay with us again sometime, Louise and Christine and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charliero...
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage and very well appointed”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was the perfect place for us to relax after our long walks. The lodge is in a perfect location, close to the beach and amenities of alnmouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing