We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what was needed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lahney Cottage

The lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge
The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The lounge
The wood burner
Through to the kitchen
Compact, but with everything you need!
The king-size bed
Degas
The bathroom
The High Street at night
A beautiful view of Staithes
Staithes harbour
Walking the dogs at the top of the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela H
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what was needed”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage by the sea.
Quaint well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a short break.
Very comfortable bed for a good nights sleep following the perfect walks we had with the dogs.
1 minute walk from a great pub 'Cod & Lobster' with good food at reasonable price and good Yorkshire beer. Equally nice pub 2 minutes walk down the cobble street 'The George', all dog friendly for well behaved dogs like mine!
I loved this place so much, having spent 2 nights here with a very dear friend I drove straight back again to spend a further 3 nights with my Boyfriend!
I would recommend Lahney Cottage as a wonderful, relaxing place to escape the stresses of every day life. I will most definately be back.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review Angela, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lahney Cottage. I hope you will come back and visit again soon!
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have nothing but positives!

Such a quaint cosy cottage looking out along the cliffs, in the oldy-wordly village setting. The pubs and restaurants were lovely and the locals are so friendly. It truly is somewhere to get away and forget about life for a bit. I would recommend it and have recommended to to all my family and friends. I highly suggest you enquire!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
I am so pleased you like our cottage Katie, thank you so much for your lovely review, and I hope we will see you back again soon :-)
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Relaxing Long Weekend”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I really needed to get away from it all and Lahney Cottage gave us everything we needed. A comfortable bed, a kitchen with everything you need, a nice sitting room, WiFi and wood burning fire to boot!

The cottage is a few short strides from the harbour and beach. The dogs loved walking there.

The village of Staithes has two lovely pubs near the cottage which serve great food.

Staithes is a great place to use as a base to visit nearby Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and other places along the coast and inland.

We will definitely visit Staithes and Lahney Cottage again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words Graham , I am so glad you like the cottage, and I hope we will see you back again soon!
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor201...
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend in Staithes”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant service from Eva giving accurate and detailed instructions on parking and how to find the cottage. Eva arranged the parking for us. We found the cottage easily. Excellent in every way - cosy and warm; comfy sofas and very comfy bed with pretty bedlinen. Cottage has been sympathetically decorated. Fantastic wood-burning stove. Well-equipped kitchen. Everything in fact you might need for a relaxing break!
The cottage is 2 minutes walk from the Cod and Lobster at the harbour which serves great food and beer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I m so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!
Best wishes
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing