We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place”
other travellers have booked this property
'Cygnus' is purpose built in the style of a wooden railway carriage. Well equipped for a comfortable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Cygnus' is purpose built in the style of a wooden railway carriage. Well equipped for a comfortable
Private and lit sunny deck for outside dining  and relaxing and watching sunsets Access to deck from 2 sets of patio doors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
'Cygnus' is purpose built in the style of a wooden railway carriage. Well equipped for a comfortable
Private and lit sunny deck for outside dining  and relaxing and watching sunsets
Access to deck from 2 sets of patio doors
Fabulous open views
Cabins have own private parking
Open plan dining, lounge kitchen area
Well equipped kitchen
Comfortable double bedroom
Toilet with sink and shower
Cosy bunk room for 2
Alongside the L.W.R Steam Railway
Our next door neighbours, the LWR Steam Railway, run by enthusiasts
Trains run t the next village on set days and for special events
Set in lovely open countryside
From the A16, follow the brown railway sign, direction Fulstow
Just before the level crossing, turn right alongside the cream Station House
Through the big white gate, the cabin is 2nd on the right, with its parking alongside
Through big white gate, on left. 1st cabin is 'Audrey', 2nd is 'Cygnus', parking n its right
Audrey, Cygnus's sister cabin alongside
Same layout, slightly different furnishing
Lovely award winning Louth, with its excellent shops, bars and restaurants.
Waltham Windmill experience with shops and restaurant
The beach at Cleethorpes with its traditional British fun
Donkey rides
Unspoilt nature reserves
From late Autumn, visit our local seal sanctuary, Donna Nook - nature at it's most fascinating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Louth, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a great place to stay. Lovely cabin certainly felt railway style with the quirky surroundings. Peaceful place I would have loved to have stayed longer. Clean, comfortable with special touches that made it perfect such as a breakfast tray and some essentials. The owner was very helpful and friendly. Would recommend highly. I loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and style
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you for those kind words. Glad our effort to provide a pleasant stay have succeeded!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gishers
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value - clean and friendly”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The host was very friendly - nice to have some breakfast items and milk provided. A nice, well equipped cabin in an unusual setting - we enjoyed walking along the railway platform even though its only open a few times and year - it was interesting. We would like to come back when it was open.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Many thanks. Glad you enjoyed it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy is so right”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We wanted a short break for the 2 of us and our 17 and 11 year old to stay. By chance we found this cabin near Louth. What a lovely spot! The cabin is in a beautifully kept area right next to the Lincolnshire Wolds Railway. It means the kitchen window looks out over old railway carriages but no hardship there. It is in a private part of the station yard, with only 3 or 4 other similar properties. The cabin looks quite small in photos but there was plenty of room for the 4 of us. It is very clean and well looked after. The living area was really lovely. We all said we felt so at home and comfy there.
We have been in many self catering places with welcome packs which are really nice. However, here we had the ideal one with everything necessary for breakfast for us including a loaf, butter, milk, jam, crumpets etc. What a good idea!. There were lovely flowers too.
Some people may miss a washing machine. However, I washed a couple of things and the towel rail in the shower room had them dry in no time!
The owners live next door so would be handy if needed. They did not make you feel as though they were keeping an eye on you though, which we have come across before.
We will definitely visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just felt so comfortable and clean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves in the cabin. We aim to make it a home-from-home and it sounds as if it has succeeded! It was lovely meeting you all and hoe to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiddlywin...
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Cygnets sister carriage Audrey. Greeted by Jenny and Wayne the owners who were exceptional friendly as were all the other people on this small but idyllic site.
Booked to stay over Easter weekend as there was a gala event at the Lincolnshire Wolds Steam Railway next door. It didn't disappoint, the nostalgia of steam and the friendly staff was second to none. Our 2 boys were in seventh heaven with all the goings on and the ride on the steam train.
The holiday carriage was clean,comfortable and well presented and the BIG bonus of being a stones throw from the railway. Would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here. Thank you so much to Jenny and Wayne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overlooking the railway
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you so much. We are delighted you had such a good time and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jenny and Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helminato
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem ”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a pleasant surprise to find this hidden gem tucked away in such a unique and pretty environment.

Following a warm welcome from the owner it was nice to find a well presented accommodation with everything one needs for a self catering break away and at such a bargain price.

Located half way between Grimsby and Louth with the local shops and pubs just a mile or two up the road the carriage 'Cygnus' was and is wonderful.

Recommended to all, business or pleasure for a trip to the area at a bargain price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you so much. It was lovely to meet you and you are more than welcome back here any time!
Kind regards, Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing