We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
408
211
123
79
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
211
123
79
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdevilled kidneysthe private dining roomthe pubbloody marymr and mrs smithwine listroll top bathcooked breakfastpuddingbeer gardeneggs benedictfish and chipslovely gardenspecial occasionboth nightswaiting stafftea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Visited for lunch with friends from Australia who loved the setting in the Cotswolds.
Extensive lunch menu covering a wide range of dishes. The wine list covers all major international wine regions with some high end bottles.
The staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwillMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

The food and the staff here are absolutely fantastic and well worth a visit for this alone. However, we would probably pass on the accommodation. We stayed in one of the smallest rooms, which had a shower and sink within the room itself rather than a separate bathroom. This was fine for the space on offer on a short break, but the room felt quite tired somehow and not very clean. The curtains were quite dirty, there was a blood stain on the wall. The hessian flooring was pretty rough underfoot, and being rooms above a pub/restaurant it was also not the quietest (though not complaining about that because, er, duh...but be aware). All in all we were a little disappointed by the room, but everything else was great.

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger rooms, the small ones are very small - it's a very old pub, after all
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Time after time I find myself coming back to the Wheatsheaf in Northleach. The suave but rustic decor, the friendly staff, the expansive beer garden, the food and the ambiance.

Had lunch here with a friend mid-week. Pricey, yes, but fantastic produce presented well. We never felt rushed and in fact stayed until the early evening!

This is a quality restaurant/pub in a sleepy Cotswolds village. I'll always find myself coming back here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

What a competent and classy venue!. The muted farrow and ball colour swatch compliments the tasteful paintings and furniture. Browse themarry swanky menu with a smile. A fusion of best of British gastro with sophisticated twists. Add a goodly splattering of middle class folk, some convivial chitter chatter (not too loud - just right) and this is a cracking place to smooch up with your loved one. Service was 1st class - dinner delicious!. Tables were spaced nicely and there's a good view of the elegant bar rammed with Gins and Malts. See you again very soon ie as soon as we've despatched our grown up children to wherever it is they're going.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AntonyCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

My girlfriend and I checked in here yesterday for an overnight stay, location great, staff very attentive and polite. However I think a little overpriced for what it was, the room was more on the 'shabby' side of 'shabby chic' lots of minor details let it down, carpet starting to come up, paintwork needs touching up window blind needed repair! I think its simple little things that have let it down! but when paying good money we expected somewhat slightly better.
For my opinions on the restaurant please see the reviews on that page! again amazing, attentive staff let down by poor planning of the management i.e. running out of food etc.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidlloyd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews