We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$159
eDreamsUS$151
Agoda.comUS$159
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
172
18
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
172
18
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wet room my other half veggie options homemade marmalade seafood buffet fluffy white towels a real treat friendly welcome fantastic meal oysters dover sole full english for sunday lunch two nights pub helen ales
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2021

Visited Harwich on the off-chance and decided to try the Alma Inn. Not too imposing from the outside but we had a super welcome and were offered the chance to sit as a family outside in the courtyard.
We chose the seafood buffet which included a large lobster, oysters, prawns, herring - rhingrave we hoped for.
The buffet ws more tah enough for 3 people and was excellent.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank clifford16thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Top of our list for places to visit once we were allowed to stay away from home, we couldn’t wait to get back to the Alma.

We’ve stayed quite a few times now & we got the most wonderful welcome. They’re sticking to all the rules but they’ve managed to keep the special atmosphere & buzz very much alive.

It was so nice to see the place packed on Friday night and even with every seat in the house taken the service was excellent. My other half had the best oysters he’s ever had followed by Dover Sole with jersey Royals and asparagus & I had Skate wing served with remoulade, kimchi & really good chips. All delicious but sadly no room for pudding.

Make sure you bring your appetite with you - portions are large - but not at the expense of quality.

If you’re staying you can expect spotless, and genuinely different rooms & bathrooms. We had a super comfy bed, crisp white bedding & fluffy white towels. Also a damn fine full English breakfast & if you’re lucky enough to stay when there are supplies of Helen’s homemade marmalade as we were, it feels like you won the breakfast lottery!

The family (who introduced us to the Alma) joined us for lunch and loved the food, the welcome & the service plus I got to have pudding - the almond tart - which was yummy.

The Alma offers all round quality & value for money all wrapped up in a bit of a unique package, delivered by a team of very special people. We can’t recommend it highly enough.

After a tough year for the hospitality business it was sooo good to see people rushing back to enjoy the delights of this very special place. We can’t wait for our next visit.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lbp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2020 via mobile

Love this place - sneaked away for a cheeky lunch before lockdown, food amazing and cosy inside or out, with a huge warm welcome, in very odd times.
Thanks for some normal guys - keep going and we will see you soon thank you !

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank 695mels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

Totally loved our Saturday night stay here with our little dog , had an amazing meal “ beef in red wine pie sooo delicious. We loved it that much we brought rest of family back the next day for Sunday lunch , again the food was enjoyed by all of us.
Wonderful friendly service always smiling despite being very busy, we will definitely be back before Christmas.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank HayleyGirardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

Just enjoyed a a great overnight stay at the Alma. As usual the food was delicious, a real treat. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room was beautiful. I may not need any lunch though after that tasty breakfast! They are handling social distancing and hygiene really well and we felt completely safe at all times. Can't wait to visit again. Thank you to all at the Alma

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Z1656OOrachels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews