We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thanks”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bake House

The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Small but well visited Shhh dont tell anyone, its one of the UKs best secret escapes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Small but well visited
Shhh dont tell anyone, its one of the UKs best secret escapes
The Green in Summer, yards from the door.
The Bakers Shop
Bake house entrance
The Prom and Low Lighthouse in Summer, on the door step.
Lounge area with flat screen tv, sky and WiFi
Kitchen area, fully equiped with electric fan oven.
Master Bedroom with kings size bed
Modern Wet Room with toilet and handbasin.
Utility room with washing machine
View from Harwich stone pier
The Quay and pier
The Quay and Pier
West Street old Harwich
A typical old Harwich street
The Old Bank Old Harwich
Lifeboat museum
Dovercourt Lighthouse
Dovercourt Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harwich, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gary D
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanks”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second visit to this hidden little gem,clean private but very central for visiting the area.we would like to thank Paul the property manager for all his help fitting in with our date and requirements,will visit again later this year thanks again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a little hidden gem in the streets of old Harwich clean and will presented With all the amenities you need for a great stay ,Sky, wifi a great asset plenty of parking and the chips from the chip shop over the road are superb will definitely go back when we go that way again
P.s. Great walks for William our standard poodle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks45
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cute little apartment close to everything in Harwich.”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed our 2 day stay at the Bakehouse before leaving on a cruise. It is in walking distance from the station and all the historic points of interest in the town. It was well appointed and the only disappointment was the fact that the washing machine was broken. It was very good value for the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well appointed cottage and great value, but not really suitable for 3 people due to very uncomfortable sofa bed”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Bake House is very nicely done and absolutely perfect for a couple wanting to stay in Old Harwich. It felt bigger than I expected it to, and had everything we needed, although the washing machine was broken at the time. It really was great value for money and the owner accommodated our rather strange start and finish days which we really appreciated. The roof terrace was a nice surprise and the bedroom was extremely comfortable. My husband and I and our teenage son and dog, were staying for 4 nights while our other son played cricket near Ipswich. The problem was that the sofa bed in the lounge is very old and so uncomfortable that my son only lasted half an hour on it before deciding to sleep on the two seater sofa instead which was rather short for him! We texted the owner (next door) the next morning to ask for a mattress, but didn't receive a reply and there was no answer when we knocked on the door, so he ended up on the sofa for the duration of our stay. The Bake House is located in Old Harwich, near to the harbour and beach, right in the middle of the Maritime Heritage a Trail and it is a fascinating place. There are lots of very traditional pubs in the area as well as a fabulous fish and chip shop over the road, and a great restaurant (Treo's) just behind with a very extensive gluten free menu. There are other restaurants on the harbour front too which looked nice. We really enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend the Bake House for two people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
57David19...
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Bake house was from the rooms space ok, clean & tidy the peace and quiet from the street was good but we were often woken up in morning (0600-0630) from the people that live next door as well as in the evening when we sat down to relax because in the kitchen there is a door to the other house, livingroom is too dark during the daytime so you must turn the light on even by a sunny day and would be better with a larger sofa, the roof patio is a good thing but there is no railing or the like to stop you falling off the patio.

David & Marion

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedroom but no wordrobe
Liked least: the dark living room and the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Thank you for your feedback, Bakehouse is a grade 2 listed building in the center of a conservation area, so many things that we would like to improve like adding more windows and better sound absorbing are just not allow, historic England often say its been adequate for the last 100 years and is a part of the character of the building, but as we know quirky doesn't suit everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing