We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lyme Cottage

The kitchen has been carefully designed to ensure everything you need is at your fingertips
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The kitchen has been carefully designed to ensure everything you need is at your fingertips
The open plan kitchen ensures that cooking a meal can be a social occasion for everyone The living room space ends in a bright conservatory and opens out onto the decking and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The kitchen has been carefully designed to ensure everything you need is at your fingertips
The open plan kitchen ensures that cooking a meal can be a social occasion for everyone
The living room space ends in a bright conservatory and opens out onto the decking and garden
The open plan living area gives a relaxed feeling of space
The bright double bedroom windows look out towards the sea and the Cobb
The custom built superking bed in the second bedroom can be unlocked/unzipped to form 2 single beds
The living room can be closed both ends when the sofabed is in use - making a gorgeous third bedroom
Downstairs bathroom with WC, shower and bath.
The upstairs bathroom with WC and shower.
The back stairs offer a second means of access to the house.
The garden path is made up of local 200 million year old blue lias stone.
The Lyme Cottage website shows the latest availability, pricing and booking form.
The patio in the rain.
The gorgeous inside-outside back patio is perfect for a quiet evening drink.
Big stripy beach towels provided!
Scottish Fine sea kelp hand soap and moisturiser.
Lyme Cottage is the perfect base for exploring the fantastic Jurassic coastline.
Whatever the season, Lyme Bay offers dramatic scenery.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GaynorM17
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I had a great week staying at Lyme Cottage at the beginning of June — in spite of very variable weather! The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard (internet TV, wi-fi, wide range of appliances, good quality toaster/kettle etc) while maintaining original features. Comfortable beds and great white bedding/towels. Very comfortable. Great location just up from the Cobb. Lovely garden (herbs very useful) with outdoor deck to enjoy the sun, and the view (partial of the sea but no problem with that), plus there's a nice small enclosed patio at the back which catches the evening sun — ideal for an aperitif. Two minutes from the Cobb and about 10 minutes along the sea front from the town. Worth paying the extra for reserved parking two minutes away. For eating we enjoyed The Harbour Inn (good fish, friendly service) and Tierra Kitchen (inspired vegetarian food). We'll be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandK14
Malawi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could need!”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well designed and exceptionally well equipped cottage, situated three minutes walk from the Cobb with great views across Lyme Bay. We parked at the top of the hill, reasonably priced car park, and good for our fitness!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Many thanks for your comments - and for your house gifts... very much appreciated! I can't wait to try the tea! Yes, the car park at the top of the hill is very good value (it's where I usually park!) but with a bit of notice we can always organise a reserved spot in the car park next to the cottage if you're feeling less energetic when you next come to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooly870
Stow, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in Lyme Regis and the cottage was super. Really modern, clean and well equipped! I especially liked having a washing machine. It is easy walking distance to the town center (museums, shops, etc...) and very close to the beach. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and overall condition of the property, it was very nice
Liked least: wi-fi did not work and we had a small problem getting our deposit back.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your kind words - I'm glad you had a good stay!

My sincere apologies about the security deposit issue - as you know, we used a service called TransferWise to minimise international bank transfer fees, but unfortunately this didn't prove as smooth a process as usual. Annoyingly, HolidayLettings don't provide owners with a way to re-credit guest credit cards so I am left trying to find the next best possible solution to this for international transfers. I was relieved that we got there in the end!

I was also sorry to read in your review that the WiFi wasn't working for you - I wasn't aware of this and have arranged for someone to look into it today. That must have been frustrating... WiFi is a lifeline for me when I'm staying at the cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel R
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning cottage”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Wonderful cottage, lovely decor, beautifully clean, gorgeous comfortable beds, location couldn't be more convenient for the beach and restaurants. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments... very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CazerandC...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable, well-equipped and well-located cottage perfect for a sunny few days on the beach.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely few days here. The cottage is well designed as a holiday let with some great features like the decking area and kitchen space. The rooms are light, spacious and well thought out and everything was clean and appealing. Lovely character in the fireplaces, wooden floors etc. Only thing to improve it would be its own parking. You can park a few minutes away, but it would be nice not to have to think about the car at all! Easy process to book and contact was excellent.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$251
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing