We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
160 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 160 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Marilyn C
Lavendon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The Retreat is a perfect place to stay, it is quiet secluded very private, and wow the decor all the lovely thought out touches, nothing missed, outside lighting, torches, even high viz jackets if you want to walk to the pub in the dark. Joy has put so much thought into this lovely holiday home, the very welcome breakfast basket, and so much more, toiletries provided, dressing gowns, toilet rolls, kitchen roll, and so it goes on, oh yes we will be back, if not to the retreat, to the new Acorns apartment. Joy congratulation's on the award you won whilst we was at the retreat, well done and well deserved. and its good to know you are fixing the wi fi.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved it all
Liked least: Garden steps to the Retreat, because I have a bad hip.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Nov 2013
Thank you for this lovely review.

Wi Fi is available 24/7 in the main house a few steps away.

We have excellent wi fi/broadband in our Acorns Apartment for couples and Goodlands our family friendly bungalow that sleeps 6.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveC115
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent holiday cottage fitted to the highest standard”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I stumbled across Hedgehog Corner by chance when looking for somewhere to stay in Dorset and now would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone. Upon our arrival we went up the drive to our private entrance and out sprang Joy (apparently from thin air), a very friendly and enthusiastic owner. Joy showed us around the cottage with many an anecdote and all the information we required about how to turn things on and off and how to use the features of this Eco friendly residence. I say residence because it is not your typical holiday let, The Retreat at Hedgehog Corner is a beautifully furnished 1 bedroom apartment but built slightly away from the house for your privacy. The Retreat has everything a normal house would and more. All kinds of kitchenware are provided and Joy's breakfast basket with home made bread is delightful. The bathroom has a huge shower with rain drop shower head and underfloor heating. The whole colour scheme and decoration throughout The Retreat has been very careful chosen and every element matches. A lot of time and effort has clearly been spent on making this holiday home 5 star worthy accommodation.
The Retreat at Hedgehog Corner is ideally located not more than 15 minutes from the main attractions, Lyme Regis beach, Charmouth or Axminster town centre all of which you can find more information on in the guest book that Joy has compiled for residents.
I can whole heatedly recommend staying here and will be looking to return ourselves in the future.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
How very very kind of you to write such a lovely full review for The Retreat short break Cottage with Breakfast Basket.

I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and that your break was such a success!

Readers may be interested to learn that last night Hedgehog Corner won the Gold Award for Guest Accommodation in the Devon Tourism Awards for 2013.

Many thanks indeed.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milesaway...
High Wycombe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed two nights in the self cater Retreat. This is perfect accommodation for two. It is spacious and very well equipped with thoughtful touches. It is hard to fault. Our only request would be for internet access in the cottage. The big plus for us was not having to book it for a whole week. No review would be complete without a special mention for Joy, who is the most unlikely Landlady. It was a real pleasure and yet another award coincided with our visit.

Date of stay: November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne G
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely marvellous !”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This is my third visit to Hedgehog Corner and second stay in The Retreat. So good! The Retreat has been totally refurbished since my last visit and is now very good indeed - light, spacious and beautifully and tastefully fitted out. Joy Raymond is to be warmly congratulated on her well deserved recent award as Best South West B&B in the Taste of the West Award 2013. I shall be returning . . .!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet in a country setting, with excellent food and facilities.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It's so encouraging when guests return again and again.

Delighted the all mod cons Retreat was a treat and thank you for your kind words about my recent award for Hospitality in Tourism - Best Guest Accommodation in the South West 2013.

Looking forward to your return visit next year!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive P
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Excellent,comfortable and relaxing accommodation”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Joy has put together a very immaculate retreat with all the amenities you need for a pleasant stay. Quiet and easily accessible to Lyme Regis and the surrounding areas.
After a three hour drive from London Heathrow airport following an overnight flight from Canada, this place just hit the spot to recuperate. Would certainly recommend it to any couple who want this type of accommodation.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such lovely lines about The Retreat (with Breakfast Basket).

As you were visitors from Canada this is particularly appreciated as I know very high standards of hospitality are found on your side of the world.

I'm so glad we met and I enjoyed our chat - particularly since you were on an "ancestry" tour and met up with various cousins here in the Lyme Regis area.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.