We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Wagtail Lodge is one of 8 fully-accessible, lakeside lodges on a small family-run holiday complex.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wagtail Lodge is one of 8 fully-accessible, lakeside lodges on a small family-run holiday complex.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside Lodges all have covered porches for storing bikes, fishing kit, surfboards and mobility equipment.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Wagtail Lodge is one of 8 fully-accessible, lakeside lodges on a small family-run holiday complex.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
Lodges all have covered porches for storing bikes, fishing kit, surfboards and mobility equipment.
The 11m x 5m indoor heated swimming pool (open April-October) and has South-facing sunbathing deck
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
Our self-catering kitchens have all you need to cook during your stay.
Wagtail living room is light and modern with lake views from the large patio doors to the balcony.
The king-sized bed has crisp white Egyptian cotton linen.
Wagtail Lodge is detached.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Minnieke...
1 review
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blagdon Farm. The hosts were very friendly, the facilities is good and the area has plenty to do if you are willing to drive a few miles. The pool was especially popular with our children and made the days the weather was not great, also fun! We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil F
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very relaxing, rural location. Facilities for children very good.”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Blagdon Farm. Although it is quite remote, it was readily accessible to the wider area of North Devon, once you got used to the narrow access roads. The Cottage was ideal, with good facilities for children; the games room being our 9 years old son's favourite attraction! Sarah and Barry were very helpful. We didn't spend a huge amount of time on site, as we were sightseeing and visiting friends, but there is plenty to do for those looking to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games room and pool, as well as tranquil location
Liked least: Sofa bed would benefit from upgrading.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony M
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A peaceful,relaxing break”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our short break commenced with a very friendly welcome from our host.
the accommodation (wagtail) was very well presented, clean and homely with fantastic views across the large lake. The 'welcome' manual provided was very informative and a great deal of thought had gone into it, which shows the devotion our hosts have to ensure their guests have a trouble free stay.
The area is remote, but this adds to the tranquility of the venue, however there are
two towns within seven miles and the on-site facilities are more than sufficient. There are also plenty of good country walks through stunning scenery.
The most memorably part of our stay was the peace and tranquility, there is nothing 'not to like' about this venue, we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility, friendly and professional hosts
Liked least: poor mobile signal in area but this added to the peace and quiet!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet L
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent place to stay for all.We are coming back next year at Spring bank and bringing our extended family of four generations.The fishing was great and facilities in general were lovely.A most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and excellent fishing
Liked least: very slow internet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing