We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, well-located place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gilder's Green

Gilders Green (in colour)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gilders Green (in colour)
4* Rating from Visit Scotland Bright and airy south facing lounge with dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Gilders Green (in colour)
4* Rating from Visit Scotland
Bright and airy south facing lounge with dining area
Lounge with Berwick Law through the window
Dining area for 6 people
Dining area ready for a fabulous holiday meal
Fireplace and welcome tray in the lounge
'The Library' complete with books and wide selection of board games in the lounge
Bright kitchen fully equipped for your holiday needs
Bright kitchen, fully equipped for your holiday
Spacious king bedroom with full length window and Berwick Law views
King bed to rest your tired legs after a walk along the beach or a game of golf
'Relax' in the bath after a hard day on the golf course!
Spacious twin bedroom
Bathroom lighthouse
Nautical bathroom
Welcoming hallway
Quality towels and linen provided
Guest Information
Entrance driveway to Gilder's Green
Private rear garden with views to Craigleith Island and the sea
Fabulous views of Berwick Law to the front of the property
Which way to the beach??
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
bregs
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, well-located place to stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Gilder's Green is an excellent little cottage/flat and it felt like home away from home. We have two little boys (20 months and almost 4) and they had a blast, and it was great that there was a high-chair and a nice travel cot (with an extra mattress) already there. It's a short walk from the train station and a short walk into town, and Lynne can tell you how to get to the gorgeous park nearby. We'd stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and coziness of the place
Liked least: We wished they'd had plastic plates and bowls for our kids
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments - we have taken note of your comments regarding providing plastic plates and bowls for kids and it's a great suggestion - we will ensure they are in the property soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gilder's Green sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcromie
2 reviews
“Awsome”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This cottage is a home from home,from the services to the welcome basket,this is a must for every holiday maker......the whole family loved it we will b bk......so much information provided to help us find our way in a new town......x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for your comments - we are glad the whole family had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and standard of furnishing
Liked least: no negative comments
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. We do hope to welcome you back to Gilder's Green in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chrisk186...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Gilder's Green cottage is the perfect place to stay as it is contemporary and spacious, but very cosy and comfy too. The interior has been beautifully designed and it is very well equipped, as well as having the added bonus of a garden, patio and parking. The beds and settees were very comfortable which is quite rare in a holiday let! It is only a few minutes walk to the sea and the shops so was perfect for our stay. North Berwick is a very nice town too with plenty to do and with easy access to Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable superking bed.
Liked least: The only thing I can think of is somewhere to hang coats for when it's been raining.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments - we are glad the refurb to the property has been so well received by our lovely guests. We appreciate you leaving the property in such pristine condition on your departure and we look forward to welcoming you to Gilder's Green in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet!
Liked least: The uphill walk back from the beach (a minor inconvenience though)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are glad you found everything you needed in the apartment and we look forward to welcoming you and your lovely family back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing