We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern cottage in peaceful setting, very well...”

Review of The Byre Cottage

The Byre Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre Cottage
The Byre Cottage Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Byre Cottage
The Byre Cottage
Sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Sittingroom
Hall
Bedroom 1
Sittingroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Scenery
Bathroom
Has underfloor heating, electric towel heaters and separate shower.
Exterior
Hallway
Sitting room detail
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cb1969
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern cottage in peaceful setting, very well positioned for our golfing holiday.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Close to train station and only 20mins from Edinburgh. Well positioned for great golf courses in Gullane and Longniddry!
Very enjoyable stay with some nice eating places!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUL D
Troon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My family and I really enjoyed our week in the Byre Cottage. It is comfortable and spacious and in a lovely courtyard setting. The cottage is well placed for visiting the many local attractions and beaches, and within easy reach of Edinburgh (get the train!) as it is only minutes from Drem station. We also ventured a bit further afield into the Scottish Borders and North Northumberland is only an hour away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimH28201...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, beautiful scenery and great location”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time here with our two young children. Cottage was comfortable, warm, well equipped, spacious and so on. The location was perfect for Edinburgh, surrounding towns and villages and the beaches. We struggled to get everything done in a week, there is so much to do nearby. The owners are kind and very helpful. Loved it so much we're already planning a return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod C
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect! What more can I say.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The property is set in a beautiful peaceful location. A great base to explore the local and surrounding areas; Gullane, Dirleton, North Berwick, Haddington, Dunbar ... and further afield. The local train station is within walking distance.
Lots to do and see; beaches, castles, museums, leisure centres, fishing harbours, golf, etc.
The property has everything you need for a relaxing, comfortable, homely stay; log burning stove, underfloor heated bathroom, big comfortable beds, even a selection of toys and books for the children.
A safe environment for my 6 year old son who has various allergies including dogs and house dust mites; a clean and pet free property.
The owners are very friendly and welcoming.
I would definitely recommend this property and would love to return for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, clean, spacious, comfortable living.
Liked least: Cannot fault the property.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylv123
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage handy for both Edinburgh and the seaside.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This cottage exceeded all our expectations. Beautifully decked out, all the extras were there that make a difference- dishwasher tablets, soap, washing powder fot that unplanned load of washing and books and toys for the kids. And with edinburgh just 25 mins away on a direct train and a beautiful coastline with castles and seabirds nearby i can't fault it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing