We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
226
159
57
33
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
159
57
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adnams pub pub with rooms monday night bar area north norfolk lovely pub superior room one night stay pub food walk in shower fish pie following morning evening meal high standard fabulous location large bathroom high street
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Visited the White Horse on Boxing day for a one night stay. It was easy to find and location was good being a stones throw from the Quay. The car park was full so we had to park down the road and walk up the hill. Not so much a problem for us, but could be for the more mature customer.

First impressions were good and the premises looked modern and welcoming. We were shown to our room which was equipped with everything we needed. We asked about the restaurant times and were given a Boxing day menu which looked appetising.

After reading through the menu as we settled in, we decided to stay in the hotel for dinner and booked a table for our evening meal at the opening time of the restaurant. We ordered 2 Turkey roast dinners from the specific Boxing day menu but were told this was no longer available.

This left us very disappointed - it wasn't as if we had booked a late table? this was the first seating for dinner at 6pm. In fact it turned out that most of the meals on the menu were no longer available so we were left with a choice of Steak and one other for main. Running out of Turkey on Boxing day when your Boxing day menu hinges on it seemed a very basic mistake. People want roasts on Boxing day and there was no alternative.

Despite our disappointment, the mains we were given were enjoyable (even if expensive) but we had already been looking forward to the roast. We had desserts too which were ok. The waitress was pleasant and attentive throughout.

We had a good night's sleep in our quiet room and were happy with the comfort of the bed. On closer inspection, the room was very dusty and needed a deep clean but I guess is relative to what the room rates are.

We misread the breakfast times and arrived for breakfast 10 minutes late (my fault) but was severely disappointed when we were refused our order. The attitude was very sharp and abrupt and left us quietly embarrassed and angry. We were given a pot of tea and my partner managed half a bowl of warm cereal, but it felt like a big kick in the teeth and left a massive sour taste. Especially after giving the in-house restaurant our 3 course business the night before.

On the whole, it looks a nice place and the rooms are good value but the lack of hospitality was a major factor in our experience. To not accommodate us for a breakfast (which was already paid for) because of a genuine 10 minute oversight left us insulted. Any quality establishment with a focus on customer service would have been far more accommodating and delivered the service that was expected.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cambridge_Incognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

My sincere apologies you were left disappointed on Boxing Day evening. We tend to only offer a roast option during our lunch service, changing our specials in the evening to run alongside our full menu.

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your main and thank you for your kind words regarding your waitress.

Also, my apologies regarding breakfast. I do ensure you that we strive to give the highest level of customer service, on this occasion we fell short.

We do hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the White Horse for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year and had a very enjoyable and comfortable time. Our room (5) was spacious with a sofa, and a small window overlooking a courtyard. The bathroom was small by comparison to the bedroom but clean and everything worked as expected. The decor is typically 'Adnams seaside' - muted colours and nautical themes. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided with fresh milk available from the bar. New bottles of still and sparkling water were provided in the room each day. Breakfast was good with all hot food cooked to order, including smoked haddock and kippers from Cley, the next village along the coast. We thought the price on £114 per night b&b was good value considering the time of year and the popularity of the north Norfolk coast. Would happily stay again. BTW, we had one meal in the restaurant during our stay which was fine with good service.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for coming to stay with us over the festive break. It's lovely to hear such nice feedback and do hope you will come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Very nice place to stay in a great little village. Superb location, no problem with teh parking, service, very comfortable room, tasty food and good beer. Overall an excellent place to stay in a very scenic spot. And it doesn't charge the silly prices of many other places in the area - some are really over the top in north Norfolk these days.
Small negatives: The wifi should be over a secure connection to be usable, especially with no mobile reception this is essential. The bar/conservatory decor could be a bit 'warmer'.
But overall I would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank STS_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for such a kind review, we will pass on your comments regarding the wifi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

A quick visit to Norfolk and the need for a one nights stay. We had room 2 which was very small and no way is that a kings size bed in that room ! Cleanliness in the bathroom could be improved, there was a thick layer of dust on the chrome radiator.
Very quiet, good parking and excellent location for North Norfolk.
Staff very friendly and polite and a warm welcome. Breakfast was delicious a good choice on the menu.
Would consider going again but asking for a different room.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hartfamily2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review, and do hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We called here for lunch while out walking. The pub is nicely decorated, the food good. The staff were polite and efficient, though not effusively welcoming - but not unfriendly as some reviewers seem to feel. We would certainly return

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eatraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews