We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
205
65
14
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
65
14
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private access jacuzzi bath small hotel various levels public terraces junior suite burriana beach upon checkout star property sea view excellent buffet breakfast small pool flights of stairs stayed two nights easy walking distance shower head minute walk into town
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We booked the Special Suite del Mar, what a lovely room it was too, large sofa and side chair, huge TV and a bar fridge. Bathroom with huge Jacuzzi. Sliding doors out on to our own balcony overlooking the beach and see, with a table, two chairs, two sun loungers and an umbrella. Up a spiral staircase to another sun terrace with sunbeds and chairs. I do think some of the furnishings were a little tired and could do with a refurb this did not spoil our holiday at all. All the staff without exception were friendly from the owners to the gardener! Breakfast can be taken on the outside terrace, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, cold meat, pate, cheese, smoked fish, bacon with alternating boiled, fried or scrambled eggs. Tea, coffee, fruit juice. Stairs down to the beach with areas providing sun loungers, chairs and tables and chairs should you want a rest on the way up or a bit of solitude. THANK YOU we'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a sea view!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Stayed 4 nights here . Booked cheapest room- whilst it was a tad noisy as near reception- it was large clean and comfortable and came complete with whirlpool bath and English TV channels so still great value . Staff very helpful and genuinely friendly.Location truly amazing with steep steps to stunning beach with cafes sunbeds water sports in season and within short walk from the town centre Breakfast great good hot and cold selection - taken on large sunny terrace with stunning views over the beach and mountains-bliss ! Lots of terraces with sunbeds and a nice pool for use in the Summer.A real find - we will return and book a sea view suite next time.A place with character where the owners and staff really care about their guests in a stunning location at a great price . Go now !

Room Tip: Book best room you can afford to take advantage of stunning views and location . Avoid rooms near reception -may find the noise intrusive .
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wasdale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We stopped in Nerja thinking we would stay in one of the hotels I'd researched ahead of time - and am very, very glad we decided to stop in here for a look. Here's what's important to consider in a hotel choice in Nerja: the type of beach experience you want, the type of town experience you want, and the type of hotel experience you want.

First of all, the beach just north of the hotel is hands-down the best beach in Nerja: long, sandy, and with tons of on-the-beach cafes, restaurants, bars. (Our first choice, The Perla, is on a rocky, windy beach!) Secondly, this is the only hotel that has terraces from the hotel to the sand - there are so many private little areas with great loungers - you feel luxurious. In fact, the Parador next door (which we also checked out) has an elevator - and no really private areas at all (when their elevator malfunctions, guests are stuck!) We checked out the Parador before finding the Paraiso - it felt like a Big Hotel & the staff seemed distant. The rooms? Very nice - but again - I could have been anywhere in the world. The other hotel we checked out was the MB - maybe great for business but NOT in a good location for a tourist - not close to the beach OR the old pedestrian area.

The town - this hotel is very close to the pedestrian area of the quaint part of town - in the pretty area where you'll love strolling to/from the hotel through the narrow streets finding places for drinks, tapas, dinner, shopping.

The hotel itself: one of the most welcoming staffs I've ever encountered. I wish I could remember the names of the gentleman who ran the hotel, or the woman who was at reception when we arrived - both were charming in a very genuine way, and made us feel more like personal guests than clients. That's a real talent few people in "hospitality" possess. And that held true of every other person we interacted with at this hotel.

The rooms: we got a basic room - but it had a spa bathtub and a very comfortable bed in a pretty little room at the front. Hardly what I would call "basic." (You can pay more for a sea view and I get the appeal - but we were very happy with our choice - spent lots of time in the gardens & terraces as it was!)

Breakfast: outstanding. One day it was poached eggs, another scrambled. Both mornings there was excellent bacon, great selection of cheeses, meats, fruits, breads, pastries, yogurt, even cereal which I didn't try. And while there's coffee & tea & juice - ask and you're brought a fresh individual pot of coffee & steamed milk. Sitting out on the terrace by the pool looking out at the Med, (staggeringly beautiful views) we fell into conversation with other guests both mornings and everyone was very happy with the hotel.

All in all, I'm not one to have tremendous loyalty to a hotel - but this is one I would always pick for Nerja - they do everything right - down to bringing you "beach towels" when they see you're heading out with bathing suits! We weren't surprised to learn that many guests are repeaters - and that at Christmas they had only one room available.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Pros - fabulous view from penthouse, excellent breakfast, great location, lovely staff, good beds.
Cons - furniture in penthouse very shabby, bad smell from both bathrooms, kitchen and utensils in poor shape.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paynesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

I found this hotel on TA and certainly lived up to all its excellent reviews. I was a bit nervous because we usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels, but I certainly wasn't disappointed. The breakfasts were truly amazing, everything you could possibly want and more (the cakes and sweet selection were just amazing). The quality of the food offered was also absolutely excellent ...the melons were sweet and utterly delicious as was all the cold meats on offer. Lots of fruit and fresh bread and pastries. The staff were also excellent, very friendly and helpful at all times. Most have been there forever and are clearly happy in their jobs, which of course is very much down to the owners who's main aim is clearly to make you feel like you are guests on their ' home ' nothing is too much trouble. On our day of departure we were told that although checkout was noon, we were very welcome to use all the facilities of the hotel for as long as we wished or needed and provided us with fresh towels and bathroom facilities on request. The breathtaking views from the hotel over the sea were stunning both morning and evening. Sadly we chose the cheapest rooms which although very pleasant, spacious and well equipped didn't have a sea view....next time we go we will make sure to pay a little extra to get the sea view which is very definitely worth it.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
6  Thank Palmer_et_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews