We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
145
355
280
111
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
355
280
111
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view rooftop pool main building second building sea front minute walk bed and breakfast basis balcon de europa cleaning staff short break small fridge evening meal plenty of choice fresh towels cleaned every day bars and restaurants cleaned daily
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Stayed here on a four night mini break booked through Jet 2. We were greeted on arrival by the most unhelpful male receptionist who just asked for our name & voucher, when we reminded him we had pre booked & paid extra for sea view room he said that there none available, we had been given room in rear block across road, I told him we were unhappy he just shrugged his shoulders & said come back in morning to change rooms. He offered no information about hotel at all, indeed we did not know there was a connecting tunnel under road between blocks till second day, it took until well into afternoon of second day hanging around to swap rooms, as we were only there for four nights this was a bit annoying. To the hotel's credit when we got the new room it was a roof top terrace with own sun loungers and overall very comfortable, it was nice to get what we had paid for and the situation handled very well by a different male member of reception staff who gave a much better impression of the hotel than the first gentleman.

As we have been to Nerja and Monica hotel several times we only booked bed & breakfast at this hotel so we could go out in evenings to restaurants, there are plenty round corner next to Monica Hotel, or any amount a bit further into town centre, Little Italy right out of hotel & around corner was our favourite. We were glad we booked bed & breakfast because judging what breakfast was like we would hate to have paid for evening meal, I am the most unfussy of eaters but even I struggled to find something decent to eat, resorting to toast & coffee most mornings, as has previously been mentioned the yogurts are warm. On our last day we were up early for our flight & were one of the first ones in & thought I might get a cold yogurt as they would be fresh, but no they were still warm!. The seating arrangements are very strange as well, long tables like an army mess hall, no privacy at all, being forced to sit next to strangers and people getting up and down all the time.

Despite the one rude uninterested male receptionist who let the team down badly & poor quality breakfast the hotel is clean & tidy with a nice quiet location on the western edge of Nerja towards Torrox and within easy walking distance of central Nerja. If you are on a tight budget & can put up with the breakfast then its a decent hotel for the price you pay.

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank Mark328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We were assigned this hotel with a weeks notice due to our selected hotel not having completed its renovation work. We were not disappointed as a very clean and comfortable hotel.
We were situated in the annexe building across the road accessible to main building by connecting underground walkway. The room was very roomy, plenty of sockets for our gadgets and bathroom was excellent, with a very strong power shower !! The balcony was a sun trap and whilst we did not have a sea view we did not mind at all as we didn't spend that much time in the room.
The only disappointment was the food. We don't usually like to eat our meals at a hotel as we enjoy variety and Nerja is abound with good eating places. One evening though the weather was not great so we decided to eat in, what a mistake. The food was cold and quite frankly uninviting, the only food we actually enjoyed was the dessert and fresh fruit.
So I would recommend this hotel on just a board basis as its in a great location but don't eat there as you will be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jacksc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Good clean room on the front with excellent sea views. However after we had settled in we called at reception on our way out to ask for 2 extra pillows; the receptionist went into the room behind him and came out with said pillows which he proceeded to hand to us but as we were on our way out to dinner we thought we would find them in our room on our return. But no we had to collect them and walk through the hotel carrying our pillows! Haven't they heard of room service?
Regarding the breakfasts we stayed here 4 years ago and they haven't improved. Also we agree with other comments about the dining room and the layout of tables etc. A canteen comes to mind!!
Some small improvements would make this a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jenne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Our experience of the Perla Marina was generally very good, but one or two things need improving. Firstly , breakfast was totally disorganised and the "hot" food was cold every day. We were on the top floor of the annexe which was fine with good sea views, the beds were very hard in spite of mattress toppers provided on request, also the shower was very poor, just a trickle at best. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout. It's a great position, a quiet location right on the beachfront, but within easy reach of local restaurants and bars and only 10 mins walk from the town centre. We will certainly try this hotel again, hopefully they will have rectified these problems.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank chicodubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The hotel is located in a quiet area at the southern end of Nerja; approximately 10/15 minutes walk along the promenade from the town centre. It offers fantastic views of the bay and is literally just a “stones throw” from the beach.

We booked a room with a sea-view which was well worth the extra cost. The hotel complex comprises of two buildings; these are situated both side of the Merida and are linked by an internal underpass. Our room was in the most landward building but as you can see from the photo it still offered an unrestricted view of the sea and there was actually very little traffic on the Merida.

Our room was clean, well appointed and functional with a nice sized balcony complete with a table and two chairs. The bedroom incorporated an air conditioning unit but we did not use it during our stay. The bathroom was clean and well maintained with an usually large array of complementary toiletries.

We did not bother with half board since there is a vast selection of restaurants in Nerja serving every type of meal imaginable at very competitive prices (we also read previous reviews concerning issues with hotel evening meals). Breakfast was varied with a good selection of hot and cold dishes but in our opinion the food was rather bland.

The hotel staff were friendly and in most instances very helpful, but like all establishments there was one notable exception on reception when checking out. We were however able to leave our suitcases in a secure room whilst we took in a final stroll along the seafront before leaving the resort.

We found a fantastic restaurant during our stay called the “Restaurante De Vinci” in the Plaza Fabrico de los Cangresjos; also for a snack the “Anahi” cafeteria just off the Balcon de Europa is well worth a visit (great croissants, cakes and coffee). If your budget is tight try the paella from the beach café at the northern end of Playa Burrina beach (€7.5 for as much paella as you can eat).

Room Tip: In my opinion, a sea- view room is a must in this hotel; we were allocated room 457 which was ideal and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gwilym F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews