We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming tastefully furnished apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lemon Tree

Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Two al fresco dining areas Large kitchen with feature arch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Two al fresco dining areas
Large kitchen with feature arch
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Lounge
Lounging Area leading to Kitchen
Lounging Area
Catering sized oven & hob
Bathroom with walk in Shower
Sun relaxation Area
Large rustic barbecue
Al fresco dining by the pool
Fresh water lakes a 40 minute drive away
The beautiful Santa Maria square a stroll away
Castle at the end of our road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GlynisJay
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming tastefully furnished apartment”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a delightful well-equipped apartment set within easy walking distance of Antequera with it's many shops, bars and restaurants. Rupert and Melanie, who live close by, provided us with lots of useful information and could not have been more helpful. The only downside was that we were only there for one week - we would have happily stayed for a month!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vali18654...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish Home - The Lemon Tree”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Lemon Tree is authentic, quiet Spanish living in a lovely country town. You really are living in amongst the locals with plenty choice of some lovely restaurants and shops, prices were also very reasonable. Our hosts were very welcoming and provided us with a lovely home and garden - they also were very helpful for any advice/assistance if you choose to plan a day away etc. If you want a real feel for Spain try the Lemon Tree - Antequera - you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: High standard in accommodation and location
Liked least: Dog barking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Spain in a quiet, relaxing and beautiful apartment.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Antequera as it was only an hour or so drive from Seville/Cordoba/Granada and 1/2 hour from Malaga. But, as we discovered, there are so many other reasons to pick Antequera! The town itself is in a very rural location so you feel like you are away from huge packs of tourists and are immersed in authentic Spain. However, the town has enough bars, restaurants, things to see and do so you don't have to drive everywhere. Lemon Tree was the perfect base for this holiday- a 10/15 minute walk into the centre but a couple of little shops nearby. The apartment was much larger than we expected, so nice and airy. The best thing about it is the courtyard out the back. You are not overlooked at all, and have sole use of the pool/sunloungers/ BBQ. It is a real sun trap and a lovely place to while away the midday hours underneath the shade of the lemon tree. Melanie and Rupert were very informative and had some great recommendations for Antequera. Very hospitable, but not at all intrusive!

Thank you very much for our stay- we have already recommended it to friends and family!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnBee1973
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was much more than we expected. Spotlessly clean and with everything you could need.The highlight is the outside space with the plunge pool. Perfect for sunbathing during the day and so relaxing with a nice cold drink in the evening.
Antequera is a beautiful town and all of the bars and restaurants are in walking distance. It is also well placed for exploring the region (the Alhambra and Cordoba only an hour away)
If you're looking for a truly unspolit Spanish experience this is the place to come to. Rupert and melanie were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison W
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A real taste of spain - totally exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a Spanish holiday that felt totally Spanish as the tourist resorts tend to be a bit similar and to be honest you often don't really know where you are as it can be so geared up for the English. We chose Andalucía because it looked so pretty and booked a fortnight at Lemon Tree in Antequera.

We knew nothing about the town but wow it is stunning. Historical, beautiful and really friendly. We can't speak Spanish and virtually nobody speaks English there but it didn't matter, we got by and learnt a bit (food mostly!) while there and as the people are so friendly we did not feel intimidated.

Lemon Tree is a great base, up near the castle in the old part of town it was a lovely walk into town with fantastic views. The apartment has great amenities with a full kitchen should you wish to cook etc but close enough to walk to town where were are plenty of places to eat, drink and shop. It's hilly however so it did take us a couple of days to get used to it but we came back fitter! Rupert and Mel are a lovely couple, we so envy them living here!! They respect your privacy but are there if you need them. We were totally gutted to leave and have been in a slight state of depression since !!

The nearby El Escribano is in a stunning location by the Santa Maria. You must try the prawns here with Ali Oli (garlic mayonnaise)!! Maria there looked after us so well (and our sunglasses when we left them there one tipsy night after drinking one too many Alhambra beers ( very nice it is too!).

Another stand out restaurant for us was Mercado Andaluz, on Calle Najera, they have fresh fish and seafood (bought daily from Malaga). They have chairs outside in the square which is a lovely place to eat. They had only been open two months so we really hope they do ok as more established restaurants who have outside chairs opposite tend to get all the customers.

Would go back in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing