We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I want to move here.”
other travellers have booked this property
Gort na gCapall Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gort na gCapall Cottage
Fully equippedKitchen Window seat with kitchen table and chairs in open plan kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Gort na gCapall Cottage
Fully equippedKitchen
Window seat with kitchen table and chairs in open plan kitchen
Cream kitchen complete with Induction hob, fridge freezer and dishwasher.
Open plan living room with open fire with firewood provided
King size bed complete with en suite (downstairs)
King size bed tastefully decorated. (Downstairs)
Cream furniture in downstairs king size double bedroom
Twin beds in soft pink room complete with dressing table, stool and wardrobe
High quality cream furniture throughout the bedrooms
Master bedroom upstairs complete with walk in wardrobe, en suite and black out blinds.
Utility complete with Washer, Dryer, Microwave & Storage Units
Spacious hallway
Upstairs lounge with 50' flat screen TV complete with DVD and books library
Hallway
Main Bathroom with Marble floor tiles
6 foot pool table with flat screen TV
Patio complete with table/chairs/BBQ
Pony & Trap
Picturesque view of countryside from rear of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Nenagh, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
desommer
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I want to move here.”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

If you want to take a trip to Ireland and relax and/or tour the country this is the place to rent . The host here are wonderful and the house had everything you could ask for. Located on a working dairy farm the house and grounds are truly relaxing . If you want to explore, most of Ireland is reachable without much effort by car. If your staying put the town of Nenagh has some great butcher shops and a fish monger to get great fresh ingredients for dinner. Truly a 4 star rental.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
Donald, thank you very much for your kind words and it was our pleasure to have you as guests. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again in Gort na gCapall cottage. Kindest regards Jeanette & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenJen227
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AMAZING! Luxury Cottage! Great Value!”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My mom, sister, and I spent two weeks at Gort na gCapall and had an AWESOME vacation! Jeanette and Stephen were amazing hosts! Their luxury cottage had everything we needed! We felt at home and we had plenty of room to spread out. Jeanette gave us many suggestions of the things to do in the area that we loved! She was just a text away with answers to our questions. Stephen was kind enough to show us around their dairy farm where we watched milking at the milking parlour and it was great to see the pen of calves. Everywhere we went the locals knew us and referred to us as the "new girls" at the Seymour house! We booked their cottage a year and a half before our vacation based on the beautiful pictures and Jeanette's great communication. The cottage was even better that we expected! It was centrally located for our day trips to Kilkenny, Cliffs of Moher, Rock of Cashel, Adare, Ballina, Galway, Kildare. Portumna, Lough Derg, and the many castles. We would not hesitate to come back because we were treated like family! Thank you for opening your amazing home to our family!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Girls it was our pleasure having you as guests recently. Thank you all so much for your wonderful review of not alone the cottage but of the local area. I hope that we will meet again some day to recap our chats about a dog, a horse and of course Peter!!!
You were also so kind to leave both Stephen and I gifts which we will cherish. Kindest regards Jeanette x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
1 review
“Short stay”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great house, really good facilities and close to Nenagh and Lough Derg. Plenty of space and really comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boggerdon
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house close to Lough Derg.”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked Gort na Gcapall for Christmas as we needed a house that would accommodate a family group of six in four bedrooms with two bathrooms at least. This house was ideal.
On the ground floor there were three bedrooms. One double ensuite.  One double and one twin with a large shared bathroom and upstairs a large double ensuite.
The house was well equipped with everything you needed to cater for up to eight people at Christmas. Plenty of pots,pans,crockery etc.

When we arrived we were delighted to find a cosy turf fire to greet us and Jeanette had the house beautifully decorated complete with a Christmas tree.
We had no problems with the Internet connection and used Chromecast to watch movies.
The downstairs sitting room had Saorview and the massive upstairs lounge had all free view channels.
There was also a TV in the games room.

Gort na Gcapall is a beautiful and comfortable house close to all the amenities of Nenagh but in a quiet rural setting. Lough Derg is on your doorstep with all of its attractions. There are numerous walks in the area and lots of water sports facilities.

A drive around the lakeshore will bring you to lots of charming villages. Dromineer,  Garrykennedy,  Terryglass, Killaloe etc.
There are numerous good places to eat. Larkings in Garrykennedy being a favourite, and Paddy's and the Derg Inn in Terryglass.

We can thoroughly recommend Gort na Gcapall .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Brendan thank you so much for your kind words and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope that our paths cross again someday when you are in the Lough Derg area. Kind regards Jeanette & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning place - beautiful”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here as a base for visiting family not far from here. The cottage is just stunning, beautifully decorated, spacious, immaculately clean. The owner Jeanette has equipped the place so well, there were even plenty of books and dvd's in the upstairs lounge - great for a lazy afternoons - fleecy blankets too to keep you cozy on the huge sofa!! Jeanette has gone to the trouble of providing a really helpful folder on tips and guides to the local area, including places to eat, we went to a few places based on this advice and we weren't disappointed. Jeanette the owner is really helpful, came to check on us during our stay, this was a really lovely touch, not too intrusive either. Wi fi provided is really great, never had any issues with this, even with several devices being used.
I would 100 per cent recommend anyone to stay here, you won't be disappointed. I will definitely return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Nothing not to like !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you so much Lesley for such positive feedback. It was pleasure having you and you went to all rounds before vacating the cottage-makes my life so much easier.
We hope to see you back in Gort na gCapall cottage real soon. Kindest regards Jeanette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing