We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
beautiful sunset from infinity pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
San Marcos La Laguna, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Staysha T
1 review
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The house with spectacular with amazing views of the Volcano sunrise and sunset where fabulous they grounds were well taken care of The pool and hot tub where refreshing can't wait to go back. The grounds keeper made our stay seamless!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S
Level 1 Contributor
6 reviews
“Couldn't be more pleased”
Reviewed 28 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This villa is absolutely fabulous, as were the guardians on premises who made everything easy and enjoyable for us during our 5-night stay. The views were astonishing, the villa and furnishings gorgeous, the kayaks, pool and hot tub a treat, the proximity to San Marcos perfect for daily outings, and the staff professional and friendly. While we had visits to make in Panajachel and Santa Lucia on several days, it was no problem to travel across the lake to do so and that experience added considerably to our trip.

As others have mentioned, life in Guatemala is not quiet. That applies to this location as well. With that in mind, and earplugs if you need them, we highly recommend this extraordinary destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationTo...
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Something special”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Let me start out with setting expectations. This isn't a traditional 5-star house rental. It's in the middle of a very poor part of Guatemala. There will be things that will likely happen during your visit whether it is insect invasion, things breaking down or not working the way they are supposed to. If you want to avoid those issues, then go to a very developed country with lots of infrastructure and pay a whole lot more to avoid those inconveniences. The only true downside to its location is that it is backed up against the road so you here the morning traffic beginning generally before 6am. There are also a lot of roosters and barking dogs that will wake you up - but this is what you deal with anywhere on Lake Atitlan. I recommend a sleep mask and a good set of ear plugs. But go to sleep early, wake early and it's no big deal. 

Casa Xelaju has one of the most spectacular views which you will be staring at from the moment you wake up until you go to sleep. We alternated between true R & R days at the house with sampling the towns and activities around the lake. And we used most/all of the features of the house. If you have kids, they will love it. They'll kayak at least once or twice a day, do the same with fishing. The patio above the pool was used for breakfast and lunch. The pool is for afternoon lounging. Take a spa in the evening and sit around the fire next to it. During the day our family would lose each other at times on the property as the grounds are so big as is the house. Lots of places to rest, read and sleep. The house is well stocked to cook and eat while staying there. The staff on the property is top notch and will help you with anything. Edgar is fantastic. Lastly, its less than a 10-minute walk into San Marcos, which is more of a village than a town. But you can pick up basic supplies and there are a few restaurants and coffee shops. Or you have the public water taxi dock to go to any of the other larger towns on the lake. And let me come back to the view one last time. It possibly has the best view anywhere on the lake and one that rivals any view around the world.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review and we are sorry about the spiders! It appears work on the roof broke up some nest we did not know about but rest assured it has been taken care of and the spiders are history.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoppyQuin...
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Serenity at Lake Atitlan”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This property, "'Pasajcap," is the perfect spot to plant yourself for a relaxing getaway at Lake Atitlan. Three high points: (1) The house is equipped with everything you could need for a comfortable vacation. The house itself was so well suited for our group of two couples and two singles, with each room well appointed, super comfortable beds and quality linens/towels, and best of all, spacious bathrooms in each room. No one felt like they got the "lesser" room. We were all happy. We cooked our own meals in the well-stocked kitchen, enjoying fresh limes from the tree in the garden, and we ate at Tul y Sol restaurant twice in San Marcos, used the hot tub, pool, and kayaks too; (2) having visited the Lake before, I can say this was a great location primarily because it offers seclusion yet is just a 5-minute walk away from the village of San Marcos La Laguna. You can easily explore several lakeside towns via Tuk-Tuk (just watch out for driver Luis who will try to over-charge you. Set your price before you get in and stick to your guns upon arrival, NO per-person charge!). (3) Central location: We took the boat to La Casa del Mundo where we had smoothies before taking a short hike over to Santa Cruz, stopping at Isla Verde for beverages. Watch out there at Casa del Mundo, too, where they tried to overcharge us. Nice 25 minute hike with great views. Another day we took the tuk-tuk to the municipal park Volcan San Pedro to hike the very difficult trail to the summit (almost 10,000 ft). This is a great hike for real hikers. Not a casual walk, believe me. No switchbacks but instead lots of steps and steep inclines. Worth it if you are a hiker. Pack two liters of H2O and food (your body will call for it). Don't miss stopping in San Juan (we did this after the hike, when we were too tired, so I recommend you set aside a different day for this town) and enjoyed the demonstration offered at one of the local shops (spinning cotton, dying it with natural colors, etc). We also discovered the coffee cooperative "La Voz" and enjoyed a cup there while my fellow travelers bought lots of burlap coffee bags for decorating needs at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner was extremely helpful providing some suggestions before we went.
Liked least: Unfortunately, I did not feel the point person at Pana offered much value (perhaps I was unclear what his role was). Also, was disappointed with broken coffee maker and inability of this to be resolved while we were there.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle...
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly Beautiful!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the house later in the evening by van transfer. Upon arrival we were greeted by our wonderful grounds keeper Esteban. He took care of all of our luggage and hiked it up all the way up to our bedrooms. Quickly were were settled in this overwhelmingly big and beautiful house and had ourselves a cozy fire and hot tub. The next morning was something else!! The view of the Volcano's at sun rise from your bed was out of this world! We spent most of our mornings sunbathing by the heated pool and enjoying the sun and view! By the afternoon we would spend our days touring around to different villages around the lake. Our friends used the great Kayaks and I brought my SUP board from home. The lake was a blast to swim in and an easy paddle to the 25' clliff jump. This house has easy access to San Marcos (5 min walk) and San Pablo (30min walk). Tuk Tuk's are always around offering you a ride into town. We all felt extremely safe everywhere we went. Do not look any further and book this place!! We will be back! Thank you for sharing your home with us it was a dream!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing