We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
30
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
8
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2016

The rooms at Gringo on the Beach are very spacious, comfortable, and definitely secure. Take time to appreciate the impressive landscaping on the property, especially the main driveway, which is lined by palm trees on both sides.

The food in general was consistently some of the best I have had in South America. Breakfasts come with fresh bread baked in house as well as plenty of fresh fruit from Dan's nearby property in the Pacoche. The hamburgers are made with very high quality fresh beef and were always cooked in a safe manner for those that may be worried.

Dan, the owner, is very friendly and always willing to help or just chat. It was a pleasure to get to know him. San Lorenzo itself is a very small fishing village but even without a car it is never a problem to access nearby areas. Buses pass approximately every hour going south along La Ruta del Sol and there are always inexpensive colectivos to Manta. Dan can also arrange fairly priced transportation when he has enough of a notice.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ach307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

My brother, daughter and I stopped in for lunch on our way back to Manta after spending a night in Porto Lopez. What a beautiful spot. The menu is small but good. They specialise in BBQ burgers. Danny, the owner operator, is very friendly and welcoming, as is his dog Halle Barry. The hotel itself looks very nice but we only experienced the food and grounds. The beach is gorgeous with good surf. I definitely recommend this spot.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank stickymission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

After a bustling 2 days in Quito, Gringo on the Beach was the perfect setting to start our 15 day Ecuador holiday. Daniel & 'Halle Barry' his friendly dog, welcomed us to their clean and safe B&B property. Enjoy the amazing beach and sunsets, or relax poolside with a cerveza. He's a wealth of information on things to do and places to see. We spent three nights and now are recharged for those long bus drives through the countryside. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank excelfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

A group of us had rented a nearby house for three weeks and visited gringos daily for wi fi and a choice of a few sandwiches and salads and beers. Owner is great. The pool and grounds are lush and well maintained. Did not visit hotel rooms but expect them to be of same calibre.
Cabo san lorenzo is a remote fishing village. Swimming is dangerous although there are surfers. Worth a visit and stay at gringos.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank pjd223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

This is not the depressed san lorenzo in esmeraldas in the north of ecuador, but is a tranquil village on the central coast. GOTB is the best landscaped property in town. Filled with palm trees, hibiscus, banana, frangipani, neem and other trees and plants, it is easy to unwind and relax at this place, play a little football on the small screened in pitch, walk or run the beach which is usually deserted, surf, swim in the ocean or in the good sized pool or take a short hike up the hill on the point to enjoy the great views from the lighthouse. kick back and refresh with some cool pilsener ($1.75) from the bar restaurant or maybe a coconut right off the tree (50 cents). most rooms are suites which have well equipped kitchens and there is a limited menu of burgers, fries, hot dogs, empanadas and ice cream from the restaurant but occasional menus of the day. this is not a party place but fun can be had at the bar until 9:30 during the week and later on weekends. we enjoyed the mixed clientele of foreigners and ecuadorean families. Dan, the owner aims to please, and does a great job. we loved this little slice of paradise he has created, and the tranquil vibe of the beach and san lorenzo and we hope to return. ps. Though they weren't allowed on the beach when we were there (to protect the turtle nests) Dan has 2 beautiful horses which can be ridden on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews