We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Big Beautiful Lake for boating & swimming & fishing!

Wonderful State Park! Has a big beautiful Lake . Must be a good fishing lake becuase there were... read more

Reviewed 16 May 2021
Cheryl677
,
Crown Point, Indiana
Wonderful Lake!

Absolutely beautiful. The water is wonderful for swimming. Highly recommended! Also camped, and it... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2020
heidilore1976
,
Prattsville, Arkansas
via mobile
Read all 221 reviews
  
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
157
51
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
157
51
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit visitor center wonderful lodge marina camping eagles picnic rv shoreline kayak campers grill woods
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2021

Wonderful State Park! Has a big beautiful Lake . Must be a good fishing lake becuase there were many fishing boats out the day we were there. they have a nice beach for swimming and you can rent a boat if you like. we saw three baby fox the day we were there. the lodge is beautiful and the rooms are getting remodeled.
they have a few short trails and if you play golf you can here. they have a nice campground too. Many nice places for a lake side picnic, with great views.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Cheryl677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful. The water is wonderful for swimming. Highly recommended! Also camped, and it was great.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank heidilore1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2020 via mobile

We saw this park 2 years ago driving through AR and added it to our must visit list. So glad we came back even with COVID concerns we had a delightful stay.

The state parks are taking face mask requirements seriously, which we appreciate.

RV SITE:
Our RV site had W/E, picnic table, fire pit/grill, bbq grill the slab itself was concrete (bring levelers you’ll need them) and each site had a gravel area too. Many sites were multilevel like shown in the picture with the picnic/grill area separate from the RV. We appreciated the tree canopy during the heat wave. Due to COVID we stayed self contained so we cant speak to the condition of the restrooms. There is a small gift shop at the Visitor Center where you check in.

LODGE:
Empty due to COVID but the restaurant is open now. We walked through and enjoyed the view from the massive windows. They have outdoor seating to allow guest to enjoy the water views. There is a small gift shop in the lobby.

GOLF:
Spectacularly well kept course, we only got to play the front 9 due to maintenance. Due to COVID they have limited tee times so book your spot if its a must do for your stay. We were impressed they were sanitizing each cart and used a PVC pipe to prevent the ball from dropping into the hole. We paid $22 a person for 9 holes with cart. There are snacks available at the pro shop.

BEACH:
What’s a visit to the lake without a swim? The beach areas are open but have limited parking as they are trying have people social distance from one another. The day we went there were about 40 people there so we were able to safely enjoy the shoreline. They provide picnic tables and the parking is very close to the water’s edge.

Date of experience: July 2020
1  Thank hopalongrving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2020

This State Park has everything! There are 4 campground sections, 2 beaches for swimming & 3 boat launches, a marina, a lodge (with restaurant), golf, horseback riding . . . the list goes on & on. The only downside is that our specific campsite was not as nice as we had hoped. We booked online & chose a site specified as level, but learned when we arrived that it was not. It was totally workable, but it took us a few tries & we never gave up before getting it exactly right. We always travel with extra supplies, & thought we were prepared, but would have been in a jam had the campers before us not left some extra pieces of wood. Also, the water spigot at our campsite was on the passenger's side of the RV, while the connection to the RV itself is on the driver's side. Our hose was not long enough. In driving around, we noticed that most other campsites were just like ours. This isn't really a complaint, but other campers should be aware & come prepared with extra chocks, extra pieces of wood or leveling blocks, & an extra-long hose, just in case. The trails are absolutely lovely, with just enough variation in height & direction to be interesting without being difficult. The staff at the Lodge & the Visitor Center were friendly & very helpful, & the owner of the horse stable couldn't have been nicer. Note: in Campground A, we had no TV reception or WiFi. I highly recommend this park, & can say absolutely, without a doubt, we WILL go back.

Date of experience: July 2020
1  Thank Kates9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2020

The staff was very nice and helpful, the restroom we extremely clean and the lady check them several times a day to make sure. Love the park,,,but.... we camped on Site 39. Unlevel, our tires on the left side didn't even touch the pad and the steps were awful at least 2 foot from the ground to the first step to the RV. Very hard for us to get into the RV considering we are 65 and older. I would not recommend this site to anyone. Very dangerous.

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank nathanjY1233ZP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews