We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Brad J

Great Surf Great Yoga

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Dec 2023
What a place. Really enjoyed the surf trips and yoga sessions. Tim was the best surf guide and got many into plenty of awesome waves. Very knowledgeable re what break will be working and when (and is also great fun on the beers!). And Justine's Yoga after surfing kept my body ready for the next day.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$1,030
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,030
  • Priceline
17.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $322
  • Priceline
17.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $206
  • Agoda.com
18.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $217
  • Expedia.com
    $254
7.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$194
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
8.0 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $385
  • Priceline
12.8 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $85
  • Agoda.com
27.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • Trip.com
  • Destinia.com
14.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Korovisilou
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
303
100
17
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
303
100
17
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shark dive surf guide dive staff great diving diving experience surface interval new managers the reefs open water fish other guests kava night dive shop main building dive days viti levu bottled water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2023

We chose Waidroka because we knew the two dive center managers, Gary and Ciara, from an earlier occasion and we wanted to dive with them again. Getting there from the airport is quite a ride, however, we enjoyed our time at the resort a lot. Everybody was so friendly and kind and it almost felt like a little family that you become part of during your stay. Participating in the weekly Kava ceremony was an experience we won't forget. We met a lot of lovely other guests there and it felt very relaxing to be so far away from everything.
Our bure was close to the ocean and was very spacious and comfortable. We had everything we needed.
The team including the resort managers, Debbie and Rod, was very engaged when somebody needed anything and tried everything to find solutions and give support where needed.
The diving was exceptional and well organized with great service. Both Ciara and Gary proved their excellence and professionalism on several occasions. Of course the shark dive is another extraordinary experience. Very well worth it! We loved staying with the Waidroka team. Bula!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 276karini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2023

I chose Waidroka because I was traveling with my two sons and they wanted to surf and fish as well as dive. Well, on arrival we were notified that the swell was huge and surfing was not an option( Tim, the surf guide was very honest and nice about it and by the amount of surfers there I doubt he wanted to mess around with two teenagers)
My son kept asking about fishing, or just to get a fishing pole for something to do. The manager blew him off completely.
We did go diving one day, and we ended up Diving the same site twice? Weird. Kinda sucked that they made no attempt to TRY and find maybe a smaller break, or a fishing rod, or anything?
The room was what you would expect from a surf/dive resort. Basic, sheets stained with sunscreen, none of the doors would close because they were so swollen. They did have a working A/C!
Be aware there is no beach, not even close by. At low tide you can walk out to the mangroves and find mudskippers that are pretty cute. Give your kids something to do!
The yoga room is lovely, great option for an activity.
They must have recently changed chefs, because the food was barely tolerable. Maybe they were having a few bad days? I feel terrible saying that because the staff (other than the manager) was lovely. The locals made the smallest glimmer of hope for this poorly managed resort.
I didn’t write this review to slam anyone, just to forewarn other perspective guests. There are other resorts that have a better location, that are cheaper, and follow through with the activities they advertise. I would be fine if it was like $50 a night but for the price, it is sorely lacking. I spent months planning this trip and if I would have read this review, I would have booked somewhere else.
We left early because there was nothing to do but hang out at the pool on our phones( there is SUP and kayaks but the dive instructor advised us not to go out, the tide was too strong) Obviously not their fault.
Would have been nice to be reimbursed. Or an apology.
Manager was like “Don’t hit your ass on your way out!”

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sns646
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 11 December 2023

Thank you for your feedback and review - we appreciate it.

We appreciate your nice comments about our local staff, the Yoga Room and some of the activities we could still arrange for you - even though we where effected by a major cyclone at the time.

Unfortunatley during the time of your stay we have had challenging weather and definitley unsafe sea-conditions, due to a cyclone which had just passed. As such all of our water based actitivies where limited, which we briefed you about right upon arrival. As both your sons where highlighted to us as beginner surfers we did not think it would be safe for them to surf with such a large swell and unsafe conditions. If any other resort would have taken you out during these wind weather and sea conditions it would have been irresponsible and unsafe, which standards we hold high.

On your dive day you where taken to the only local mooring which was safe in terms of sea conditions at the time and although you did not go to a different mooring on your seond dive - you definitley did not dive the same site, as we have 3 different dive sites of this mooring of which you dived 2 different ones.

We apologize that you did not find Waidroka to be your kind of resort and even though it is outside of our control feel bad about your weather experience. We unfortunatley do not reimburse due to weather and still tried our hardest to make the best out of the conditions for you.

We look forward to having you back and if you ever decide to return shall definitley try to make it up to you both in price and of course your stay. We are very sorry for your experience at Waidroka.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2023 via mobile

Very friendly staff and other guests remote location but lots of activities, including diving and surfing and snorkeling. Food from the resort is pricy so recommend buying some snacks to skip some meals if on a budget. Room I stayed was basic but had everything I needed and was spacious there was a mini fridge in room to keep my snacks. Pool is good, though I didn’t go he diving sounded great and has been highly recommended.

Room tip: Very remote location taxi or booking ride with resort is best
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank alexfp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Waidroka is both a great place to stay and has some truly magnificent scuba diving. Positives include the friendliness of EVERYONE associated with the resort, the dive team ( Gary & Kiera) who were not only totally professional but went the extra mile to make sure we had magnificent dives, and the general way things went. A minor negative is that Fiji is at the end of a really long supply chain, and occasionally, things can take a little time to be fixed. I must say, though, that the important things, the dive & surfing gear, and the boats were really well maintained.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

We came here for a quick 2 days diving. The resort is well positioned for Beqa Lagoon which has some great diving. It also has some really nice house reef with good fish life. Both the resort staff and the dive operators are excellent - responsive, friendly and accommodating.

Big thumbs up to the Garry and Kiera for the diving.

The resort is basic but comfortable and clean.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank O633OWdavidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews