We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
sns646
Crystal Bay, NV

Honest opinion of Resort

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Nov 2023
I chose Waidroka because I was traveling with my two sons and they wanted to surf and fish as well as dive. Well, on arrival we were notified that the swell was huge and surfing was not an option( Tim, the surf guide was very honest and nice about it and by the amount of surfers there I doubt he wanted to mess around with two teenagers)
My son kept asking about fishing, or just to get a fishing pole for something to do. The manager blew him off completely.
We did go diving one day, and we ended up Diving the same site twice? Weird. Kinda sucked that they made no attempt to TRY and find maybe a smaller break, or a fishing rod, or anything?
The room was what you would expect from a surf/dive resort. Basic, sheets stained with sunscreen, none of the doors would close because they were so swollen. They did have a working A/C!
Be aware there is no beach, not even close by. At low tide you can walk out to the mangroves and find mudskippers that are pretty cute. Give your kids something to do!
The yoga room is lovely, great option for an activity.
They must have recently changed chefs, because the food was barely tolerable. Maybe they were having a few bad days? I feel terrible saying that because the staff (other than the manager) was lovely. The locals made the smallest glimmer of hope for this poorly managed resort.
I didn’t write this review to slam anyone, just to forewarn other perspective guests. There are other resorts that have a better location, that are cheaper, and follow through with the activities they advertise. I would be fine if it was like $50 a night but for the price, it is sorely lacking. I spent months planning this trip and if I would have read this review, I would have booked somewhere else.
We left early because there was nothing to do but hang out at the pool on our phones( there is SUP and kayaks but the dive instructor advised us not to go out, the tide was too strong) Obviously not their fault.
Would have been nice to be reimbursed. Or an apology.
Manager was like “Don’t hit your ass on your way out!”
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Thank you for your feedback and review - we appreciate it.

We appreciate your nice comments about our local staff, the Yoga Room and some of the activities we could still arrange for you - even though we where effected by a major cyclone at the time.

Unfortunatley during the time of your stay we have had challenging weather and definitley unsafe sea-conditions, due to a cyclone which had just passed. As such all of our water based actitivies where limited, which we briefed you about right upon arrival. As both your sons where highlighted to us as beginner surfers we did not think it would be safe for them to surf with such a large swell and unsafe conditions. If any other resort would have taken you out during these wind weather and sea conditions it would have been irresponsible and unsafe, which standards we hold high.

On your dive day you where taken to the only local mooring which was safe in terms of sea conditions at the time and although you did not go to a different mooring on your seond dive - you definitley did not dive the same site, as we have 3 different dive sites of this mooring of which you dived 2 different ones.

We apologize that you did not find Waidroka to be your kind of resort and even though it is outside of our control feel bad about your weather experience. We unfortunatley do not reimburse due to weather and still tried our hardest to make the best out of the conditions for you.

We look forward to having you back and if you ever decide to return shall definitley try to make it up to you both in price and of course your stay. We are very sorry for your experience at Waidroka.

The Waidroka Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$929
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $929
  • Tripadvisor
    $929
  • Priceline
17.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Booking.com
$279
  • travelup.com
    $380
  • Agoda.com
    $239
  • Expedia.com
    $280
17.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Beqa Adv Divers boat leaving the dock
Agoda.com
$207
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
  • Lol.travel
18.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$206
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Agoda.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
    $207
18.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Booking.com
$253
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $255
  • Vio.com
    $253
  • Hotels.com
    $255
7.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$133
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $97
  • Hotels.com
    $149
8.0 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$76
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $100
  • Hotels.com
    $78
  • Agoda.com
    $76
27.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $127
14.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
View more hotels in Korovisilou
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
303
100
17
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
303
100
17
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shark dive surf guide dive staff great diving diving experience surface interval new managers the reefs open water fish other guests kava night dive shop main building dive days viti levu bottled water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2023 via mobile

Very friendly staff and other guests remote location but lots of activities, including diving and surfing and snorkeling. Food from the resort is pricy so recommend buying some snacks to skip some meals if on a budget. Room I stayed was basic but had everything I needed and was spacious there was a mini fridge in room to keep my snacks. Pool is good, though I didn’t go he diving sounded great and has been highly recommended.

Room tip: Very remote location taxi or booking ride with resort is best
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank alexfp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Waidroka is both a great place to stay and has some truly magnificent scuba diving. Positives include the friendliness of EVERYONE associated with the resort, the dive team ( Gary & Kiera) who were not only totally professional but went the extra mile to make sure we had magnificent dives, and the general way things went. A minor negative is that Fiji is at the end of a really long supply chain, and occasionally, things can take a little time to be fixed. I must say, though, that the important things, the dive & surfing gear, and the boats were really well maintained.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

We came here for a quick 2 days diving. The resort is well positioned for Beqa Lagoon which has some great diving. It also has some really nice house reef with good fish life. Both the resort staff and the dive operators are excellent - responsive, friendly and accommodating.

Big thumbs up to the Garry and Kiera for the diving.

The resort is basic but comfortable and clean.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank O633OWdavidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2023

Our family of 6 - kids 16, 14, 13, 11 - had a fantastic 5 day stay.
Up to two daily boat trips out to the reef to surf kept the teenagers happy.
Thoroughly enjoyed a day trip along the river to a remote village and swim in a pristine waterfall followed by river tubing.
The ultimate winner hands down was the diving - Ciara and Gary headed up the PADI team - their calm and supportive presence and reassuring planning was welcomed by the younger kids (and us parents). Diving is well catered for all levels and ability - and daring. Everyone was thoroughly satisfied. A great diving resort our family will definitely be returning to in the future.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 11 December 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it.

We appreciate your compliments about the staff, resort, facilities and diving - we are proud to be able to deliver memorable and exceptional experiences for all travellers coming to our small Fijian Adventurers paradise. We especially appreciate your comments about your kids having such a great time, as we pride ourselves to deliver great memories, especially for kids.

We are also excited by your response to the land-based excursion up the Navua River and into the beauty of the rainforest with plenty of waterfalls up river. The village visit is super special and is a unique experience being in such a remote village.

Our Dive Team Ciara & Gary, who are exceptional ambassadors to what Waidroka is really all about, with passion for diving and absolute professionalism, always providing great service and paying attention to the variety of divers coming our way will be super happy and thankfull for your great compliments.

Most importantly it seems like you realized our passion, love and pride for what we do, as a small base for exploration, representing Fiji and of course ensuring you are exposed to the natural Fijian friendlyness and being happy, living the moment and enjoying life. We all care very much about what we do here and helping travellers and our guests to get a little taste of this way of life - is a big part of our role.

Thanks for such an amazing review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

Our stay at Waidroka Bay Resort was excellent. The staff are warm and welcoming, the resort facilities comfortable, and the diving is outstanding. The shark dive is a ‘must do’ but the rest of the dive sites are equally as interesting, with a great mix of hard and soft corals, wall dives, a local wreck, and varying currents—not to mention the great visibility (June).

The resort is nestled between the Coral Coast barrier reef and the lush rainforest of Viti Levu. It is a world away from the hustle and bustle of Nadi’s tourist strip and provides a genuine escape for those who want to immerse themselves in the area’s pristine scuba diving and reputedly world class surf breaks (diver, not a surfer).

Over the last 19 years, the resort’s owner, Boris, has cultivated a delightful eden amidst the rainforest. The resort blends in beautifully to its surrounds and provides a comfortable and relaxing base for days of adventure. The main building is home to the restaurant, bar and reception, and perches over the pool and relaxing open air bures. The accommodation is a blend of beach front bures dotted amongst the gardens and palm trees with additional rooms available up the hill with panoramic views over the coastline.

The dive shop is a well run, clean and organised affair. Gary and Ciara run a tight ship and are exceptionally professional, experienced and passionate. The rental equipment is in excellent condition (if not brand new) and the dive boat is spacious—quite useful noting most dive days will be 2-3 dives out on the reef with surface intervals done on the boat (or on some occasions, nearby island). Ciara is an excellent instructor, having taken one of us through the PADI Advanced Open Water course, and quickly adapted her style to the student’s capabilities. Gary, also an instructor, was a fantastic and knowledgeable guide. His demeanour underwater is calm and he led the small group at a very balanced pace, regardless of conditions.

The restaurant food is top notch. Fresh, delicious meals with an uncommon attention to presentation. One of the evenings we had the pleasure of having a local fish stew, which was a stand out amongst many great meals.

Room tip: Definitely take the time to do the shark dive. Like everyone’s has said, beach front room is the way to go. Great place to do PADI courses.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MalHam218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 14 July 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it.

We really appreciate your compliments about the staff, resort, facilities and diving - we are proud to be able to deliver memorable and exceptional experiences for all travellers coming to our small Fijian Adventurers paradise.

Thanks especially also about your comments regarding our staff, who work incredibly hard to service and please.

We really appreciate your comment about us providieng a genuine escape from the hustle and bustle and being able to immerse yourself into amazing diving and world class surfing, which is what we are all about. Especially your comments about our gardens and and amenities in the rainforst which took a long time and effort to create as a paradise on the oceans edge.

Our Dive Team Ciara & Gary, who are exceptional ambassadors to what Waidroka is really all about, with passion for diving and absolute professionalism, always providing great service and paying attention to the variety of divers coming our way will be super happy and thankfull for your great compliments.

Finally of course our kitchen will be super happy and proud of having provided a great food experience for you throughout your stay, especially also remembering the local Fijian fish stew prepared always with pride of the countries local cuisine.

Most importantly it seems like you realized our passion, love and pride for what we do, as a small base for exploration, representing Fiji and of course ensuring you are exposed to the natural Fijian friendlyness and being happy, living the moment and enjoying life. We all care very much about what we do here and helping travellers and our guests to get a little taste of this way of life - is a big part of our role.

Thanks for such an amazing review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews