We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alexp
Christchurch, New Zealand

Relaxing accommodation plenty of activities

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2023via mobile
Very friendly staff and other guests remote location but lots of activities, including diving and surfing and snorkeling. Food from the resort is pricy so recommend buying some snacks to skip some meals if on a budget. Room I stayed was basic but had everything I needed and was spacious there was a mini fridge in room to keep my snacks. Pool is good, though I didn’t go he diving sounded great and has been highly recommended.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Very remote location taxi or booking ride with resort is best
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$1,025
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $923
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
17.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
$325
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $346
  • Agoda.com
    $245
  • Booking.com
    $287
17.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
$346
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $291
  • Agoda.com
    $273
  • Hotels.com
    $312
7.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
$125
  • Expedia.com
    $156
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Vio.com
    $125
8.0 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
$365
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
12.8 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$101
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
    $105
  • Agoda.com
27.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
$467
  • Priceline
    $547
  • ZenHotels.com
    $427
  • Expedia.com
    $531
18.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
$244
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $231
25.3 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $97
  • Expedia.com
    $115
25.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
View more hotels in Korovisilou
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
303
100
17
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
303
100
17
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shark dive surf guide dive staff great diving diving experience surface interval new managers the reefs open water fish other guests kava night dive shop main building dive days viti levu bottled water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Waidroka is both a great place to stay and has some truly magnificent scuba diving. Positives include the friendliness of EVERYONE associated with the resort, the dive team ( Gary & Kiera) who were not only totally professional but went the extra mile to make sure we had magnificent dives, and the general way things went. A minor negative is that Fiji is at the end of a really long supply chain, and occasionally, things can take a little time to be fixed. I must say, though, that the important things, the dive & surfing gear, and the boats were really well maintained.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

We came here for a quick 2 days diving. The resort is well positioned for Beqa Lagoon which has some great diving. It also has some really nice house reef with good fish life. Both the resort staff and the dive operators are excellent - responsive, friendly and accommodating.

Big thumbs up to the Garry and Kiera for the diving.

The resort is basic but comfortable and clean.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank O633OWdavidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2023

Our family of 6 - kids 16, 14, 13, 11 - had a fantastic 5 day stay.
Up to two daily boat trips out to the reef to surf kept the teenagers happy.
Thoroughly enjoyed a day trip along the river to a remote village and swim in a pristine waterfall followed by river tubing.
The ultimate winner hands down was the diving - Ciara and Gary headed up the PADI team - their calm and supportive presence and reassuring planning was welcomed by the younger kids (and us parents). Diving is well catered for all levels and ability - and daring. Everyone was thoroughly satisfied. A great diving resort our family will definitely be returning to in the future.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 11 December 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it.

We appreciate your compliments about the staff, resort, facilities and diving - we are proud to be able to deliver memorable and exceptional experiences for all travellers coming to our small Fijian Adventurers paradise. We especially appreciate your comments about your kids having such a great time, as we pride ourselves to deliver great memories, especially for kids.

We are also excited by your response to the land-based excursion up the Navua River and into the beauty of the rainforest with plenty of waterfalls up river. The village visit is super special and is a unique experience being in such a remote village.

Our Dive Team Ciara & Gary, who are exceptional ambassadors to what Waidroka is really all about, with passion for diving and absolute professionalism, always providing great service and paying attention to the variety of divers coming our way will be super happy and thankfull for your great compliments.

Most importantly it seems like you realized our passion, love and pride for what we do, as a small base for exploration, representing Fiji and of course ensuring you are exposed to the natural Fijian friendlyness and being happy, living the moment and enjoying life. We all care very much about what we do here and helping travellers and our guests to get a little taste of this way of life - is a big part of our role.

Thanks for such an amazing review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

Our stay at Waidroka Bay Resort was excellent. The staff are warm and welcoming, the resort facilities comfortable, and the diving is outstanding. The shark dive is a ‘must do’ but the rest of the dive sites are equally as interesting, with a great mix of hard and soft corals, wall dives, a local wreck, and varying currents—not to mention the great visibility (June).

The resort is nestled between the Coral Coast barrier reef and the lush rainforest of Viti Levu. It is a world away from the hustle and bustle of Nadi’s tourist strip and provides a genuine escape for those who want to immerse themselves in the area’s pristine scuba diving and reputedly world class surf breaks (diver, not a surfer).

Over the last 19 years, the resort’s owner, Boris, has cultivated a delightful eden amidst the rainforest. The resort blends in beautifully to its surrounds and provides a comfortable and relaxing base for days of adventure. The main building is home to the restaurant, bar and reception, and perches over the pool and relaxing open air bures. The accommodation is a blend of beach front bures dotted amongst the gardens and palm trees with additional rooms available up the hill with panoramic views over the coastline.

The dive shop is a well run, clean and organised affair. Gary and Ciara run a tight ship and are exceptionally professional, experienced and passionate. The rental equipment is in excellent condition (if not brand new) and the dive boat is spacious—quite useful noting most dive days will be 2-3 dives out on the reef with surface intervals done on the boat (or on some occasions, nearby island). Ciara is an excellent instructor, having taken one of us through the PADI Advanced Open Water course, and quickly adapted her style to the student’s capabilities. Gary, also an instructor, was a fantastic and knowledgeable guide. His demeanour underwater is calm and he led the small group at a very balanced pace, regardless of conditions.

The restaurant food is top notch. Fresh, delicious meals with an uncommon attention to presentation. One of the evenings we had the pleasure of having a local fish stew, which was a stand out amongst many great meals.

Room tip: Definitely take the time to do the shark dive. Like everyone’s has said, beach front room is the way to go. Great place to do PADI courses.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MalHam218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 14 July 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it.

We really appreciate your compliments about the staff, resort, facilities and diving - we are proud to be able to deliver memorable and exceptional experiences for all travellers coming to our small Fijian Adventurers paradise.

Thanks especially also about your comments regarding our staff, who work incredibly hard to service and please.

We really appreciate your comment about us providieng a genuine escape from the hustle and bustle and being able to immerse yourself into amazing diving and world class surfing, which is what we are all about. Especially your comments about our gardens and and amenities in the rainforst which took a long time and effort to create as a paradise on the oceans edge.

Our Dive Team Ciara & Gary, who are exceptional ambassadors to what Waidroka is really all about, with passion for diving and absolute professionalism, always providing great service and paying attention to the variety of divers coming our way will be super happy and thankfull for your great compliments.

Finally of course our kitchen will be super happy and proud of having provided a great food experience for you throughout your stay, especially also remembering the local Fijian fish stew prepared always with pride of the countries local cuisine.

Most importantly it seems like you realized our passion, love and pride for what we do, as a small base for exploration, representing Fiji and of course ensuring you are exposed to the natural Fijian friendlyness and being happy, living the moment and enjoying life. We all care very much about what we do here and helping travellers and our guests to get a little taste of this way of life - is a big part of our role.

Thanks for such an amazing review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2023

Quaint resort at the southern edge of the island with scuba dive shop and dive instructors on site. Our group of 24 took up the entire resort for a week of diving which included 13 dives (2-3 per day for 5 days) included 2 shark dives day Beqa Lagoon. The dive shop had rental equipment if you needed and did dive certifications if needed. 3-meals a day were included with made-to-order breakfasts and lunches (unless you ate on dive days - it was packed for the boat) and a 3-course meal for dinner. Staff was very friendly and a local tribe came in 1 evening to perform a Kava ceremony (Sorry but it tasted like dirt water to me). Rooms were sufficient but half of them were way up on a hill requiring you to walk up 62 steps to get there. I was expecting to see surfers based on the website saying it was a surf & dive resort but the surfing is way far out and you had to get there by boat. There weren't big waves in the May timeframe so no surfers.

Room tip: You will need to bring a converter. Hair dryers are in short supply. Verify if your room is on the hill or not.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LL032022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 26 June 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it. Thank you also for giving us a 4 star review !

We appreciate you describing us as a 'Quaint Resort', which I must admit I had t look up on a dictionary as my english language skills did not suffice, but I understand that it means' unusual quality or appearance that is attractive or appealing', which we really appreciate as a comment about our small and intimate resort here in our Fijian paradise, which is not comparable to any other resort experience in Fiji, mainly due to our passionate staff and creating a 'Home-Away-From-Home' Atmosphere.

As you where part of a dive group booking of the whole resort property for an intimate and private group experience of Fiji and more importantly diving Fiji, not much else was going on at the resort and our full focus was on your Dive Experiece.

Beqa Lagoon diving, with its amazing soft coral and of course the world-famous Fiji Shark Dive offered an amazing dive experience for your 5 day-dive special. We of course have so much more to offer with many of our hard coral sites close by and our amazing Deep Water Atoll Cakau Lekaleka, but in your 5-days you managed to get great variety and a taste of what we have to offer.

Our Panormaic Ocean View Rooms are indeed up on the hill top above the resort and offer absolutley spectcular and breathtaking views.

As to surfing during your stay - surfers would for sure have liked to stay with us during the time of your group, but as you booked the whole resort we had to turn them down as there where good waves during your time at Waidroka bay Resort.

Thank you for your great review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews