We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alison M

Safe, great diving

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jun 2023
Our family of 6 - kids 16, 14, 13, 11 - had a fantastic 5 day stay.
Up to two daily boat trips out to the reef to surf kept the teenagers happy.
Thoroughly enjoyed a day trip along the river to a remote village and swim in a pristine waterfall followed by river tubing.
The ultimate winner hands down was the diving - Ciara and Gary headed up the PADI team - their calm and supportive presence and reassuring planning was welcomed by the younger kids (and us parents). Diving is well catered for all levels and ability - and daring. Everyone was thoroughly satisfied. A great diving resort our family will definitely be returning to in the future.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it.

We appreciate your compliments about the staff, resort, facilities and diving - we are proud to be able to deliver memorable and exceptional experiences for all travellers coming to our small Fijian Adventurers paradise. We especially appreciate your comments about your kids having such a great time, as we pride ourselves to deliver great memories, especially for kids.

We are also excited by your response to the land-based excursion up the Navua River and into the beauty of the rainforest with plenty of waterfalls up river. The village visit is super special and is a unique experience being in such a remote village.

Our Dive Team Ciara & Gary, who are exceptional ambassadors to what Waidroka is really all about, with passion for diving and absolute professionalism, always providing great service and paying attention to the variety of divers coming our way will be super happy and thankfull for your great compliments.

Most importantly it seems like you realized our passion, love and pride for what we do, as a small base for exploration, representing Fiji and of course ensuring you are exposed to the natural Fijian friendlyness and being happy, living the moment and enjoying life. We all care very much about what we do here and helping travellers and our guests to get a little taste of this way of life - is a big part of our role.

Thanks for such an amazing review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$1,027
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,027
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
17.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
$346
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $346
  • Priceline
17.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $262
  • Booking.com
    $286
7.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Agoda.com
    $109
  • Vio.com
8.0 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $372
  • Trip.com
12.8 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Agoda.com
27.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $431
  • Booking.com
    $461
18.6 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
$245
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $229
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $231
25.3 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
Free parking
Pool
$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $97
  • Expedia.com
    $115
25.4 km from Waidroka Bay Resort
View more hotels in Korovisilou
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
304
100
17
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
100
17
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shark dive surf guide dive staff great diving diving experience surface interval new managers the reefs open water fish other guests kava night dive shop main building dive days viti levu bottled water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

Our stay at Waidroka Bay Resort was excellent. The staff are warm and welcoming, the resort facilities comfortable, and the diving is outstanding. The shark dive is a ‘must do’ but the rest of the dive sites are equally as interesting, with a great mix of hard and soft corals, wall dives, a local wreck, and varying currents—not to mention the great visibility (June).

The resort is nestled between the Coral Coast barrier reef and the lush rainforest of Viti Levu. It is a world away from the hustle and bustle of Nadi’s tourist strip and provides a genuine escape for those who want to immerse themselves in the area’s pristine scuba diving and reputedly world class surf breaks (diver, not a surfer).

Over the last 19 years, the resort’s owner, Boris, has cultivated a delightful eden amidst the rainforest. The resort blends in beautifully to its surrounds and provides a comfortable and relaxing base for days of adventure. The main building is home to the restaurant, bar and reception, and perches over the pool and relaxing open air bures. The accommodation is a blend of beach front bures dotted amongst the gardens and palm trees with additional rooms available up the hill with panoramic views over the coastline.

The dive shop is a well run, clean and organised affair. Gary and Ciara run a tight ship and are exceptionally professional, experienced and passionate. The rental equipment is in excellent condition (if not brand new) and the dive boat is spacious—quite useful noting most dive days will be 2-3 dives out on the reef with surface intervals done on the boat (or on some occasions, nearby island). Ciara is an excellent instructor, having taken one of us through the PADI Advanced Open Water course, and quickly adapted her style to the student’s capabilities. Gary, also an instructor, was a fantastic and knowledgeable guide. His demeanour underwater is calm and he led the small group at a very balanced pace, regardless of conditions.

The restaurant food is top notch. Fresh, delicious meals with an uncommon attention to presentation. One of the evenings we had the pleasure of having a local fish stew, which was a stand out amongst many great meals.

Room tip: Definitely take the time to do the shark dive. Like everyone’s has said, beach front room is the way to go. Great place to do PADI courses.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MalHam218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 14 July 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it.

We really appreciate your compliments about the staff, resort, facilities and diving - we are proud to be able to deliver memorable and exceptional experiences for all travellers coming to our small Fijian Adventurers paradise.

Thanks especially also about your comments regarding our staff, who work incredibly hard to service and please.

We really appreciate your comment about us providieng a genuine escape from the hustle and bustle and being able to immerse yourself into amazing diving and world class surfing, which is what we are all about. Especially your comments about our gardens and and amenities in the rainforst which took a long time and effort to create as a paradise on the oceans edge.

Our Dive Team Ciara & Gary, who are exceptional ambassadors to what Waidroka is really all about, with passion for diving and absolute professionalism, always providing great service and paying attention to the variety of divers coming our way will be super happy and thankfull for your great compliments.

Finally of course our kitchen will be super happy and proud of having provided a great food experience for you throughout your stay, especially also remembering the local Fijian fish stew prepared always with pride of the countries local cuisine.

Most importantly it seems like you realized our passion, love and pride for what we do, as a small base for exploration, representing Fiji and of course ensuring you are exposed to the natural Fijian friendlyness and being happy, living the moment and enjoying life. We all care very much about what we do here and helping travellers and our guests to get a little taste of this way of life - is a big part of our role.

Thanks for such an amazing review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2023

Quaint resort at the southern edge of the island with scuba dive shop and dive instructors on site. Our group of 24 took up the entire resort for a week of diving which included 13 dives (2-3 per day for 5 days) included 2 shark dives day Beqa Lagoon. The dive shop had rental equipment if you needed and did dive certifications if needed. 3-meals a day were included with made-to-order breakfasts and lunches (unless you ate on dive days - it was packed for the boat) and a 3-course meal for dinner. Staff was very friendly and a local tribe came in 1 evening to perform a Kava ceremony (Sorry but it tasted like dirt water to me). Rooms were sufficient but half of them were way up on a hill requiring you to walk up 62 steps to get there. I was expecting to see surfers based on the website saying it was a surf & dive resort but the surfing is way far out and you had to get there by boat. There weren't big waves in the May timeframe so no surfers.

Room tip: You will need to bring a converter. Hair dryers are in short supply. Verify if your room is on the hill or not.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LL032022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 26 June 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it. Thank you also for giving us a 4 star review !

We appreciate you describing us as a 'Quaint Resort', which I must admit I had t look up on a dictionary as my english language skills did not suffice, but I understand that it means' unusual quality or appearance that is attractive or appealing', which we really appreciate as a comment about our small and intimate resort here in our Fijian paradise, which is not comparable to any other resort experience in Fiji, mainly due to our passionate staff and creating a 'Home-Away-From-Home' Atmosphere.

As you where part of a dive group booking of the whole resort property for an intimate and private group experience of Fiji and more importantly diving Fiji, not much else was going on at the resort and our full focus was on your Dive Experiece.

Beqa Lagoon diving, with its amazing soft coral and of course the world-famous Fiji Shark Dive offered an amazing dive experience for your 5 day-dive special. We of course have so much more to offer with many of our hard coral sites close by and our amazing Deep Water Atoll Cakau Lekaleka, but in your 5-days you managed to get great variety and a taste of what we have to offer.

Our Panormaic Ocean View Rooms are indeed up on the hill top above the resort and offer absolutley spectcular and breathtaking views.

As to surfing during your stay - surfers would for sure have liked to stay with us during the time of your group, but as you booked the whole resort we had to turn them down as there where good waves during your time at Waidroka bay Resort.

Thank you for your great review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2023

What an amazing place and wonderful staff. Really. Besides access to the best surf, it's a crossover crowd with divers from all over the world who make for just a fun and cool interplay. But tying this all together with the highest quality management, their genuine care, the natural beauty, and Fijian friendliness and culture all helped make my stay here a 10 out of 10. Yeah, I ended up extending my stay, which was accommodated with grace and no increase in the rate.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 16 May 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it.

Being rated as the best trip in 20 years coming from a serious traveller is such a big comopliment - Thank You !

Thanks especially also about your comments about our staff, who work incredibly hard to service and please.

We are super happy that you managed to enjoy and rated so highly our atmosphere where being a base for exploration in Fiji, for surfers, divers, adventure travellers etc...is what we are truely all about. We see ourselves as ambassadors for Fiji as a country, it's people and culrure and of course all of the adventures we are able to offer - in and out of the water.

Most importantly it seems like you realized our passion, love and pride for what we do, as a small base for exploration, representing Fiji and of course ensuring you are exposed to the natural Fijian friendlyness and being happy, living the moment and enjoying life. We all care very much about what we do here and helping travellers and our guests to get a little taste of this way of life - is a big part of our role.

Thanks for such an amazing review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2023

The diving was fantastic, well because it is Fiji! But what made our diving experience above and beyond was the dive crew. Sem, Gary, Ciara, and Captains Jaro and Jim were not just skilled but they were funny, friendly, and always happy even when lugging our heavy dive equipment around. And the food! Ample choices for breakfast and lunch and a 3 course dinner every night. We dove, swam, relaxed, had massages, met every evening for a new drink of the day at happy hour and even participated in a Cava ceremony. For the 4 of us it was a dream vacation come true...

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 386ChrisH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 16 May 2023

Thank you so much Chris for your feedback and positive review - we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that you like Fiji and especially Waidroka Diving, which we represent always as one of the best and top dive spots in the world. At Waidroka have have so much variety of diving to offer in terms of the Coral Coast, the world famous Beqa Lagoon and of course the famous shark diving which only takes place in our region in Fiji.

Our dive staff, crew and boat captains are super pleased about your comments as we see our roles not only as dive guides, but as ambassadors of Fiji, its culture and of course Fiji Diving. We are here to super service all guests and divers and are passionate about what we do and enjoy our roles and part of this is havign a happy outlook in live and ensuring our guest enjoy, laugh and have fun.

It is amazing to get your high marks on the food experience here at Waidroka, as we try really hard to have a great menu and food experience - our kitchen is very pround to get such great reviews.

The atmosphere at Waidroka is to be a base for exploration all day from diving to swimming, snorkelling, relaxing or having a massage, whilst meeting in the evenings for Happy Hour end sharing with everyone what your adventures of the days where. The social aspect and atmosphere at the resort is super important to us and we are so pleased that you embrased and enjoed our small paradise. It seems like we really managed to create a 'Home-Away-From-Home' for you.

Managing to create 'Dream Vacations' for our guests is what we always aim for and thanks for honoring us with such a high review.

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2023 via mobile

The dive team was excellent .
It was my 1st open water in the ocean and Gary the dive master was very helpful .
The staff at the resort were very service oriented 😃
Food was excellent and the cabins were roomy and comfortable .I would recommend this to any one who wants to dive in Fiji .
Ps : the shark dive was incredible !

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 16 May 2023

Thank you so much Robert for your feedback and review - we really appreciate it.

We are super happy and honored to be the first to show you Fiji's ocean-diving and Gary our expereineced Dive Operations Manager & Instructor will of course be very pleased about your compliment. Of course for divers we are always very happy we could deliver a great dive experience overall and of course appreciate your comments about the shark dive which is truely an incredible experience and quite unforgettable.

We also really appreciate your comments about our staff, who work very hard at ensuring we are able to service you throughout your stay and make the experience pleasant and memorable.

Our kitchen will also be very happy with your 'excellent' rating of the food experience at Waidroka - we really appreciate it and love that you enjoyed our menu throughout your stay and food overall.

Thanks for your comments about our accommodation, which where refurbished recently with space and comfort in mind.

We so appreciate that you liked our atmosphere at the resort which is all around creating a 'Home-Away-From-Home' for all of our guests and it seems like we managed to do so. Thanks so much for recommending us !

We look forward to having you back and hope to see you soon again.

The Waidroka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews